Tony Joseph (photo from Muscatine Journal)

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo says his son-in-law is helping to find potential investors in the financially crippled state-owned Guyana Sugar Corporation (Guysuco) but he scoffed at suggestions of political favouritism.

Although a Guyana government statement days ago named Guyana-born American Tony Joseph, Director of Sunrise Investing LLC, as one of three investors who were expected to meet with him after touring the estates, Nagamootoo said “none, as far as I am aware” when asked what role he was playing.

“As far as I am aware he is a credible and successful businessman who is not investor. He is, I understand here, as a finder to introduce investors to help Guyana at no cost to the government or people,” he told Demerara Waves Online News.

Pressed on Joseph’s role, the Prime Minister said “I am not aware that he has any role. Why don’t you ask him.”

Joseph- known for his freight forwarding business in Muscatine, Idaho- is married to the Prime Minister’s daughter, Angela.

The Prime Minister reacted sharply when it was suggested that Joseph’s involvement was similar to the highly criticized friendship of former President Bharrat Jagdeo and Managing Director of New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation (New GPC), Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop. “I am not aware of any what you are saying and your inference is unacceptable so don’t button-hole me on things…Stick to the police,” he said shortly after delivering the feature address at the opening of the Guyana Police Force’s 2017 Officers’ Conference.

FLASH BACK: Prime Minister accompanied by his eldest daughter Mrs. Angela Nagamootoo-Joseph, her husband Tony Joseph and their two children at Emancipation Day activities in the National Park on August 1, 2016 (GINA photo)

While in opposition, Nagamootoo’s Alliance For Change (AFC) and A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) had stridently criticized the multi-million dollar sale of New GPC drugs to the public health sector. New GPC had been a prequalified supplier.

President of Integrated Casetech Consultants PV T. LTD, Mr. Rajesh Kumar Agarwal and Managing Director of Sunrise Holdings, Mr. Tony Joseph,  visited major sugar estates, prior to having meetings with the Government. Joseph is listed in Iowa’s corporate registry as a director of Sunrise Holdings but of another named Sunrise Investing LLC.

Integrated Casetech Consultants has supplied sugar production equipment to several countries including Zimbabwe. In 2014, that company had been named as source of engineers  to run the problem-plagued US$150 million Skeldon Sugar Factory.

Srinath Ispat Limited manufactures steel casings for use in a variety of industries including Hydro Power, Steel, Thermal Power, Sugar, Cement, Mining and Heavy Engineering industry sectors.

Joseph heads a freight forwarding company, Joseph Pack-n-Ship in Muscatine, Iowa. His Guyanese wife, Angela Nagamootoo-Joseph, worked in the marketing department of the Mirror newspaper, a publication aligned to the opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP).  Back in October 8, 2015, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo participated in a ribbon-cutting ceremony for the Greater Muscatine Chamber of Commerce and Industry at Joseph Pack-N-Ship.

Sunrise Investing. Joseph Industries and Joseph Pack-N-Ship share the same physical address.

Tony Joseph has reportedly stated that he migrated from Guyana in the 1970s to the British Virgin Islands with his father to take up a teaching job there.  He learned the freight forwarding business in Canada and worked at a freight forwarding company in Chicago before returning to Muscatine where he set up his own shipping company.

He recalled having to leave Guyana in 1977 because of the political conditions then during the rule of the then People’s National Congress (PNC).  “When I was young in Guyana, there was an election, and the military collected the ballot boxes at gunpoint and kept the dictator in power. My dad decided it was time to get out. He had an opportunity in 1977 to teach in Tortola. In 1980, my mother had an opportunity to become a nanny in Philadelphia, and we immigrated to America. My parents knew a missionary pastor from Muscatine who invited us to Muscatine. He helped us find a place to stay and get our first car. Muscatine has been really good to my family. I have nothing negative about Muscatine.” he was quoted as saying in the Muscatine Journal.

PRESIDENT: Moses, how come your son-in-law teaming up with Indian businessmen to invest in our sugar industry?

PRIME MINISTER: David, how come your son-in-law is Minister of Business with his hands on every businessman's business?

PRESIDENT: My son-in-law was a gemologist which is a business to make jewelry. He has experience. What kinda experience your son-in-law has in sugar?

PRIME MINISTER: Nearly 20 years' experience as my daughter's Sugar Daddy.

Canecutters are not known for their ability to find investors in sugar. I have no problem with anyone willing to take on the job to find investors, as long as they are actually doing the job instead of just getting paid for doing nothing.

PRESIDENT: Moses, how come your son-in-law teaming up with Indian businessmen to invest in our sugar industry?

PRIME MINISTER: David, how come your son-in-law is Minister of Business with his hands on every businessman's business?

PRESIDENT: My son-in-law was a gemologist which is a business to make jewelry. He has experience. What kinda experience your son-in-law has in sugar?

PRIME MINISTER: Nearly 20 years' experience as my daughter's Sugar Daddy.

Gil

The AFC used to criticize the PPP when family members were involved with the government but the AFC/PNC has out done the PPP in this area and with the exception of yourself, it now seems ok with AFC/PNC supporters/members to have their sons-in-law in high profile positions.

I remember Mitwah calling it friends and family business, why are they quiet now ?

Double standards anyone ?

The Afc should be run out out of every East Indian area in Guyana 

They have already been terminated as a party, they hid under Granger's skirt during local elections. There are only a few cockroaches left.

You are right Yuj.  Many cockroaches have fled the AFC.  The ones who are benefitting from the soup pot still remain. 

Bibi Haniffa posted: You are right Yuj.  Many cockroaches have fled the AFC.  The ones who are benefitting from the soup pot still remain. 

Only night before last I watched Bharrat Jagdeo's latest press briefing on YouTube. He reiterated that the PPP is ready and willing to welcome discontented AFC and APNU supporters. While that statement is encouraging, it is doubtful that people will move towards the PPP knowing they are regarded as "cockroaches". 

You are right Yuj.  Many cockroaches have fled the AFC.  The ones who are benefitting from the soup pot still remain. 

They are drinking soup with sena pod. The back flow will commence as soon as Karma takes it's course.

I remember one cockroach beating up his chest condemning corruption and condemning so called family and friends doing business with their own.

Describing them as cockroaches is paying them a compliment.

It is no secret that the CRABDAAG, NAMAKARAM is only concern with HIS POCKET. THese are the kink of PARASITES this World must spit on!!!!!!!!!

Bhai,

They are no better than cockroaches.

Bibi Haniffa posted: You are right Yuj.  Many cockroaches have fled the AFC.  The ones who are benefitting from the soup pot still remain. 

Only night before last I watched Bharrat Jagdeo's latest press briefing on YouTube. He reiterated that the PPP is ready and willing to welcome discontented AFC and APNU supporters. While that statement is encouraging, it is doubtful that people will move towards the PPP knowing they are regarded as "cockroaches". 

Gil

The cockroaches are the ones drinking sena pod soup.

Those who left the AFC are not cockroaches. They are decent folks who were conned and are bold enough to acknowledge as such.

Change means more corruption.  The Guyanese people have been duped.

That's right, Billy. "Duped" is the correct word to describe those of us who supported APNU+AFC which had promised a lot of good things in their joint Manifesto. Luckily we have recognized our mistake and many of us have openly admitted as much. 

Those PPP supporters here who call us "cockroaches" are not helping but harming the PPP. I hope they pause and reflect. Neither Jagdeo nor Ramotar nor Rohee will go on record and call us cockroaches.

Gil

The cockroaches are the ones drinking sena pod soup.

Those who left the AFC are not cockroaches. They are decent folks who were conned and are bold enough to acknowledge as such.

I accept your statement in good faith. Thanks for clarification.

Paging PNC boy Django. What about Moses and Granger's son-in-law ?

You missed the first thread where i comment,you can't find that fella big business.

If i declare the name of my small pocu pocu business it pops up on Google first page,consumers just type Electronic Service in CT and my business is on the first page of Google.

Well i does manage my Website and Internet listing and good at it.

That's right, Billy. "Duped" is the correct word to describe those of us who supported APNU+AFC which had promised a lot of good things in their joint Manifesto. Luckily we have recognized our mistake and many of us have openly admitted as much. 

Those PPP supporters here who call us "cockroaches" are not helping but harming the PPP. I hope they pause and reflect. Neither Jagdeo nor Ramotar nor Rohee will go on record and call us cockroaches.

The leaders of the PPP will welcome you with open arms I am sure.  Us GNI posters are regarded as Don Quixote fighting windmills in the sand so no one cares if we call people cockroaches or any other name.  Up to this day, Mitsy boi still calling me Kwame and it doesn't bother me one bit.   I have huge respect for the Kwamster, BTW, he is a fabulous writer and has shown loyalty more than any cockroach can.

This Nagga son-in-law left guyana as a lil boy with he muma woking as nanny and some pasta help them. What the hell he knows about about producing Sugar, doing absolute nothing and getting a finders fee., maybe on retainer. The NON Indian Nagga been asleep ,then suddenly he creating kick back for his family. This is corruption at its highest level.

What friggin get me mad is this same CRABDAAG, NEEMAKARAM PARASITE was  hollering like the worst GAUMONT HO about corruption, transparency, Fairness, Govt spending. REMEMBER THIS DAAG APPROVED 1 DOLLAR FOR GINA HOLLERING DAILY LIKE A SANGAM HO ABOUT GOVT HAS NO BUSINESS IN MEDIA. WHAT HAPPEN NOW YUH NEEMAKARAM CRABDAAG?????????????????

I have my beef with the PPP too.  I've always maintained that corruption was a problem in the PPP government.  Another issue that I believe led to the breakup of the party and ultimately the fall of the government was the method that were used in determining its presidential candidate.  Moses, Ralph, Rohee, Texiera, and others submitted letters of intent stating their desire to run for the party's nomination. Apparently, someone or a group overruled the idea of the party members voting to make such determination.  This triggered off a crisis in the party  and led to resignations and defections.  The party entered the 2011 and 2015 elections carelessly and paid a price.  

In this day and age aren't there more efficient ways of searching for investors rather than slolicitin via a freight forwarder?  Whatever happened to online advertisement, newspapers, magazines etc?

The PM is sounding like Donald Trump by the day.

The Moron who had all the answers before the election and want to jail all PPP members, is now saying that selling the sugar industry will fix the problem.

I have my beef with the PPP too.  I've always maintained that corruption was a problem in the PPP government.  Another issue that I believe led to the breakup of the party and ultimately the fall of the government was the method that were used in determining its presidential candidate.  Moses, Ralph, Rohee, Texiera, and others submitted letters of intent stating their desire to run for the party's nomination. Apparently, someone or a group overruled the idea of the party members voting to make such determination.  This triggered off a crisis in the party  and led to resignations and defections.  The party entered the 2011 and 2015 elections carelessly and paid a price.  

The PPP has admitted to making mistakes and yes, some of them behaved as if they were greater than god. They have learnt their lesson.

Look at what they were replaced by ? A old bunch of clueless, corrupt, dictators and thugs. 

The million dollar question is whether the next election will be rigged ? Grainjaw  seems to be headed in that direction since that is part of his DNA learnt and inherited from his Papa Burnham.

Jagan always warned to never throw out the baby with the bath water. 

In this day and age aren't there more efficient ways of searching for investors rather than slolicitin via a freight forwarder?  Whatever happened to online advertisement, newspapers, magazines etc?

Whatever happened to their Go Invest conference at the Harvard Club?  They were bragging how many investors were going back to Guyana.  The Ministers dem including Granger son-in-law were staying at fancy hotels in NYC and spending taxpayer money at the Sheraton.

Bibi

They came to Canada too. Mitwah was in attendance as an unpaid PNC advisor.

The very fact that they hired Moses son-in-law is a testimony to the fact that these AFC/PNC clowns are clueless. A very smart investor will take them for a ride and loot them lot, stock and barrel.

Mr.T posted:

Canecutters are not known for their ability to find investors in sugar. I have no problem with anyone willing to take on the job to find investors, as long as they are actually doing the job instead of just getting paid for doing nothing.

I tried to contact Dangote. He already have some sugar mills in operation. Considering, he is seeking new investments in Africa, Guyana is just on the otherside of the Kali-pani. Is not easy to link up with Billionaires, unless it is President Trump. Dangote probably gets tons of crazy e-mails from people wishing for his investments, he would do well for Guyana.  

The very fact that they hired Moses son-in-law is a testimony to the fact that these AFC/PNC clowns are clueless. A very smart investor will take them for a ride and loot them lot, stock and barrel.

A freight forwarder deals with barrels, not so? I notice you mention 'barrel' and 'loot' in the same sentence. 

Apparently there were no takers despite Mitwah and others bragging about big turnout at these conferences. People like CaribJ, django and gilly left Granger in a tough spot as they were not willing to bet their 401k on the crooks they supported to office. 

A freight forwarder deals with barrels, not so? I notice you mention 'barrel' and 'loot' in the same sentence. 

He meant to say "thief man ah hide in dem barrels".

Moses and Ramjattan are the biggest scumbags.

They were fighting to get in for their own self interest.

My observation is that Granger will keep throwing scraps at them to make them happy and have Trotman take over the AFC. The AFC will then be morphed in the PNC.

This was Granger's master plan all along.

The election will be rigged with Granger denying any rigging and putting forward his "coalition" to justify his rigged victory.

Scraps will continue to flow in Moses direction, he is like a stray dog who just cannot resist scraps. Defining Moses as a Chammar is paying him a very big compliment.

Jalil must be turning in his grave.

Bitter people, these BIBIs and Deokies.  At least those of us who supported the AFC and have now told that corrupt AFC party leaders like Ramjattan to haul his azz because we remain true to our conscience.  We did not wrong to the people, it was Ramjattan who has sold out all his principles for some of Granger SENNA POD.

I am grateful that we are not drinking Granger senna pod juice because our system is well intact for the next good battle.

As a former supporters of that now politically dead party the AFC, we know our identity is intact and built on our record of commitment to the people. After it is all about the people, not the political leader, who are all a bunch of tiefs on both sides.

Look at Moses Nagas and his son-in-law?  What make him different from Hydar Ally and his son who was unqualified for the world bank job but was forced into he position by a corrupt father?  PPP, PNC, same thing.  All bandits.

KishanB posted:

Bitter people, these BIBIs and Deokies.  At least those of us who supported the AFC and have now told that corrupt AFC party leaders like Ramjattan to haul his azz because we remain true to our conscience.  We did not wrong to the people, it was Ramjattan who has sold out all his principles for some of Granger SENNA POD.

I am grateful that we are not drinking Granger senna pod juice because our system is well intact for the next good battle.

As a former supporters of that now politically dead party the AFC, we know our identity is intact and built on our record of commitment to the people. After it is all about the people, not the political leader, who are all a bunch of tiefs on both sides.

Look at Moses Nagas and his son-in-law?  What make him different from Hydar Ally and his son who was unqualified for the world bank job but was forced into he position by a corrupt father?  PPP, PNC, same thing.  All bandits.

Don't blame the AFC, blame yourself for supporting them. Any dummy would know that you don't make deals with the devil. The AFC chose to get in bed with the PNC old guards from Burnham days and expected a different result. Once in power they became "yes men", cowering to the PNC every demand, not speaking out when Indians were victimized.  Now you come here claiming to be impartial and a person of honor. Get real, even a small child would have predicted that the AFC would be absorbed into the corrupt ideals of the PNC.  

BJ and his top guys need to have a serious discussion with these supporters who could be harming the party like Priya did when she cussed out the Ambassador.  

KishanB posted:

Don't blame the AFC, blame yourself for supporting them. Any dummy would know that you don't make deals with the devil. The AFC chose to get in bed with the PNC old guards from Burnham days and expected a different result. Once in power they became "yes men", cowering to the PNC every demand, not speaking out when Indians were victimized.  Now you come here claiming to be impartial and a person of honor. Get real, even a small child would have predicted that the AFC would be absorbed into the corrupt ideals of the PNC.  

Gyam lash pun he rass. I wonder if Brian Teekah, Georgie or Rambo will come to his rescue.

KishanB posted:

Skelly.

Thank you for your comments.  What the leadership of the AFC did is not my responsibility.  But your comment is duly noted.