Guyana records economic decline

Guyana’s economy  will record a 2.6 percent growth  in 2016 due to a decline in some prices and lower growth in several sectors, Finance Minister Winston Jordan announced on Monday.

Delivering the 2017 National Budget, he told the House that the economy contracted from a projected 4.4 percent to a mid-year 2 percent and a further overall decline to 2.6 percent.

Jordan said that was due to a drop in rice and sugar production and a 3.2 percent  construction largely to a fall in housing construction and a slow public sector investment programme (PSIP).

The Finance Minister said the downsizing of Barama Company Limited, Demerara Timbers Limited and structural changes in the sugar industry all conspired to register a slump in economic production.

There was a 5.1 percent and 18.1 percent reduced production in poultry and sugar respectively.

For dunces and FOOLS not to mention FILTH HEADS.  Here wah yuh does do, yuh does look aat the 2 previous years , first yuh have to know at least 1 to 10( It is obvious some are lacking this basic skill) compare the numbers and get the answer.

I can hear the next question from FILTH HEADS, " Well how yuh gun know which # bigger. FILTH HEADS are plenty on GNI!!!!

Since when did growth of 2.6% suggest economic decline?

I suggest that you look at ALL of our neighbors, Brazil , Suriname, Trinidad, and Venezuela, where their economies are actually declining.

With a commodity based economy, its a wonder that Guyana isn't suffering the same fate.

We not talkin' Brazil, Trinidad and the rest. We Talkin' Guyana and the promises your PNC made. Please don't pivot away and take the attention from your ko ko beh PNC.

Ignorant man.  YOUR PPP had 23 years to move Guyana from being a commodity producer.  They did NOT and they destroyed Guysuco, and didn't help the rice industry to become competitive.

The fact that Guyana continues to grow is indeed a miracle given softer commodity prices and the fact that Guyana is uncompetitive.

And don't embarrass yourself by demanding APNU to achieve in 1 1/2 years what YOUR PPP couldn't do in 23!   And yes the ENTIRE 23 years was under free enterprise, thanks to the Hoyte reforms.

Not surprising, the que que crew are in charge and everything they touch turns to shyte. They have the midass touch. Led by chief witch doctor Granger, they took a thriving economy in 2015 and turned it Haiti in just 1 1/2 years. 

They have now increased the taxes on the businesses, many of which supported them. Their first order of business was to shake down businesses to build the monstrosity Durban Park. Then the continued with voodoo economics and mismanaging. No PPP jailed, contrary to what was promised. No new development, only recycling of PPP plans. 

The economy left by the previous government.

http://country.eiu.com/article...my&subtopic=Fo_8

December 1st 2015

GDP growth slowed sharply in the first half of 2015

Event

The latest data from the Bank of Guyana (the central bank) points to a slowing in economic activity through mid-2015, due mainly to lower mining output. However, banks have responded to rising household incomes by boosting their lending. Inflationary pressures are minimal.

Analysis

The central bank noted that real economic growth slowed to 0.7% in the first half of 2015, down from 4.8% in the corresponding period of 2014. The slowing is largely due to a 17.4% contraction in the mining and quarrying sector, with lower prices for bauxite and gold (and falls in production of 14.8% and 16.2% respectively). The agricultural sector grew by 4% as a fall in output of forestry and fishing was more than offset by expansion elsewhere: rice production, for instance, was nearly 360,000 tonnes, or 15.3% higher than it had been in the first six months of 2014.

PNC Ko Ko Beah is spreading and it is now stinking. Guyana is now competing for Filth just like Haiti under these Ko Ko Beah PNC crab dawgs.

They (AFC/PNC) are not even fit for cleaning toilets.

They cannot even run a cake shop, how can this Que Que crew run a country ?

Remember that the AFC/PNC Ko Ko Beah crew have destroyed Guyana in 1-1/2 years.

The central bank noted that real economic growth slowed to 0.7% in the first half of 2015, down from 4.8% in the corresponding period of 2014. The slowing is largely due to a 17.4% contraction in the mining and quarrying sector, with lower prices for bauxite and gold (and falls in production of 14.8% and 16.2% respectively). The agricultural sector grew by 4% as a fall in output of forestry and fishing was more than offset by expansion elsewhere: rice production, for instance, was nearly 360,000 tonnes, or 15.3% higher than it had been in the first six months of 2014.

Mars, it look like them PNC bais feed you ko ko beah juice straight from the que que hut.  According to Harmon the PNC projected 4.4% and only delivered 2.6%, far from the 4.1% you blame on the PPP.  You have to drink the anti ko ko beah serum to return to good senses. 

Delivering the 2017 National Budget, he told the House that the economy contracted from a projected 4.4 percent to a mid-year 2 percent and a further overall decline to 2.6 percent.

Mars, it look like them PNC bais feed you ko ko beah juice straight from the que que hut.  According to Harmon the PNC projected 4.4% and only delivered 2.6%, far from the 4.1% you blame on the PPP.  You have to drink the anti ko ko beah serum to return to good senses. 

You stated that the current government "they took a thriving economy in 2015 and turned it Haiti in just 1 1/2 years." In the first half of 2015, the GDP growth was at 0.7% under the PPP and it is now 2.6%. You're obviously not the sharpest tool in the shed.

The inflection seen in early 2015 was election uncertainty effect.

ba$eman posted:

The inflection seen in early 2015 was election uncertainty effect.

There are many excuses for any numbers you can find. The 2.6% was severely affected by the El Nino drought contracting the agri sector. It is what it is. I'll take 2.6% growth any day over 0.7%.

Not surprising, the que que crew are in charge and everything they touch turns to shyte. .

What about the Bollywood crew.  Destroyed GuySICKO and now want to blame others for this.

23 years they had to reduce Guyana's extreme dependency on raw commodity exports.  

Please name new industries established by the PPP to the point where Guyana is not vulnerable to reduced prices 

Also describe what the PPP did to ensure that its commodities can survive based on global market prices.

They had from 1992 to 2015.

Druggie is hallucinating on some illicit substance. Take care that the cops don't catch driving while black. Not being white, though he sincerely thinks that he is, he will face instant arrest for having these substances on his person.

Not surprising, the que que crew are in charge and everything they touch turns to shyte. .

What about the Bollywood crew.  Destroyed GuySICKO and now want to blame others for this.

23 years they had to reduce Guyana's extreme dependency on raw commodity exports.  

Please name new industries established by the PPP to the point where Guyana is not vulnerable to reduced prices 

Also describe what the PPP did to ensure that its commodities can survive based on global market prices.

They had from 1992 to 2015.

How can one destroy an already dead industry? Guysuco was already dead when the EU announced the end of subsidies.  But the PNC stated that they would return it to profitability. The PPP handed them over a fully functioning Skeldon plant and in less that 1 1/2 years those jackasses fired all the competent personnel and destroyed the factory. 

How can one destroy an already dead industry? Guysuco was already dead when the EU announced the end of subsidies.

So why is the PPP crying daily that APNU is trying to kill sugar while they run around screaming "black man a starve ahbe"?

Now I know that literacy isn't your thing as you only attended school in August but the trials of Skeldon are too well documented for you to try to fool yourself that all was well until last year.

Danyael posted:

You folks lie with a straight face like Trump. The factory was never fully up to par. The PPP also sold its only worthy functioning asset, its co gen plant 14 days before the elections. The APNU are still trying to untangle that give away.

You lie like a skunk, why only now the pnc complain about Skeldon and had to have forensic audit to find deterioration due to lack of maintenance? Its like driving a car and never changing the oil. The jackasses in power destroyed skeldon. 

How can one destroy an already dead industry? Guysuco was already dead when the EU announced the end of subsidies.

So why is the PPP crying daily that APNU is trying to kill sugar while they run around screaming "black man a starve ahbe"?

Now I know that literacy isn't your thing as you only attended school in August but the trials of Skeldon are too well documented for you to try to fool yourself that all was well until last year.

The PPP are holding the APNU to the promise they made while in opposition.  These idiots claimed that the PPP were mismanaging sugar and they could bring it back to profitability. Now they crying that it bleeding the budget.