Leguan gets asphalt roads

GINA, GUYANA, Monday, October 31, 2016

Leguan, Region Three residents, are benefitting from asphaltic roads.

Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson said the road works are about 60 percent completed.

Ongoing road works in Leguan

“I have my mobile asphalt plant up there, and a full team of workers, and we should be completed within a week or two. We’re doing as much as possible hopefully, the entire Leguan…” the Minister explained.

Meanwhile, Minister within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Annette Ferguson told the Government Information Agency (GINA) that despite the many challenges experienced, work is moving apace on the roads. Minister Ferguson said that during the execution of works, the mobile asphalt plant had stopped generating asphalt for a few days, disrupting the pace of work.

“… we were able to have that rectified, so it’s currently up and running and the team from the Special Projects Unit within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, is continuing all the necessary works,” Minister Ferguson said.

Minister Patterson expressed pleasure that his ministry is bringing relief to the residents of the agricultural community.

The Ministry of Public Infrastructure has been constructing, rehabilitating, and maintaining roads and bridges in Regions 1 to 6 and 10.

In the 2015 budget, $509M and $570M were awarded under the miscellaneous and urban roads programmes, respectively.  All works are expected to be completed in the second half of 2016.

For 2016, $1.4B was allocated for miscellaneous roads and $1.1B for urban roads

Just look at that, the PPP left Guyana in such a good state that the hapless PNC can continue to build out to the further reaches.  When the PPP took over, the streets of GT and the airport roads had to be rebuild!

Mr.T posted:

Where is the water run off area? Without them, the rain is going to destroy that asphalt in next to no time.

What a stupid comment, shows you don't know Guyana, you are a fake Guyanese.  Leguan is an Island in the Essequibo river. Being surrounded by water, the water will run off it the river...not so?

I am baffled to learn that this is the first asphalt road in Leguan's history. Why did the PPP regime neglect that stronghold island during it 23-year governance? The islanders will surely be happy as vehicles will travel faster to the stelling and other points. On the downside, look out for more traffic accidents.

The island of Leguan depends  on farming , they had burnt brick roads which was maintained over the years. On those roads you have dredges, bulldozers , combines, tractors, buses, cars etc., traveling on a daily basis . So the tar roads is just a waste of money, they will not last, the roads are narrow only one lane traffic, when vehicles over taking each other they will have to use the edges, thus the start of ruining the road. Over the many years ,the burnt clay roads became compressed and feels like concrete.

I am baffled to learn that this is the first asphalt road in Leguan's history. Why did the PPP regime neglect that stronghold island during it 23-year governance? The islanders will surely be happy as vehicles will travel faster to the stelling and other points. On the downside, look out for more traffic accidents.

Oh learned one, why not ask yourself "why did the PNC regime neglected them for 28 years"? Five years longer than the PPP.

HAHAHA Nice come back and this one make more sense.

Oh learned one, why not ask yourself "why did the PNC regime neglect them for 28 years"? Five years longer than the PPP.

Blackman ah tek kare ah dem own. You know the PPP took care of Linden. Maybe Leguan has more blackman now.

Oh learned one, why not ask yourself "why did the PNC regime neglect them for 28 years"? Five years longer than the PPP.

Blackman ah tek kare ah dem own. You know the PPP took care of Linden. Maybe Leguan has more blackman now.

Leguan had some prominent black families. Scarce. Ambrose. JOF Haynes. And others. Descendants of the first two married coolies. Winston Murray was from Leguan.

So Pointblank is busy building aspalt roads now in Leguan?  Why did he not board that Air India flight to India to celebrate Diwali with the Hindus that he hates?

Gyal, wah you tell abie resident mullah fuh do? He must be doing community service in Leguan. Cut him some slack.

ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

Where is the water run off area? Without them, the rain is going to destroy that asphalt in next to no time.

What a stupid comment, shows you don't know Guyana, you are a fake Guyanese.  Leguan is an Island in the Essequibo river. Being surrounded by water, the water will run off it the river...not so?

Look at how the run is below the grassy area. So the water will be concentrated on the asphalt instead of flowing into the trenches at either side of the road. The water logged asphalt will break up. Just wait  whne the rainy season starts and you'll see what I mean.

Mr.T posted:
ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

Look at how the run is below the grassy area. So the water will be concentrated on the asphalt instead of flowing into the trenches at either side of the road. The water logged asphalt will break up. Just wait  whne the rainy season starts and you'll see what I mean.

Go tell you stupid PNC family this. Tell them to grow a brain and stop creating jobs for their supporters.

ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

Leguan is a flat as a bake, so the water will settle on the side of the road, and then gradually undermine the road bed.

. You know the PPP took care of Linden. Maybe Leguan has more blackman now.

Aside from driving thousands into unemployment and poverty what exactly did the PPP do for Linden. Any new industries?

No Lindeners had to roam all over to find ways of sustaining themselves, often hundreds of miles away from Linden.

ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

Leguan is a flat as a bake, so the water will settle on the side of the road, and then gradually undermine the road bed.

On the side of the road there are drains,all they have to do is slope the embankment towards the drains.

Good observation Carib none of Guyana Islands are mountainous.

ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

You fellows certainly appoint yourselves the definitive authority as to who is an authentic Guyanese or not. The man is right. The asphalt is sunken and below the curb layer which by the way looks like clay and not gravel. It will collapse given the firmer asphalt will distribute force from traffic into the adjoining canals. This should be at least four inches thick of top layer over an additional eleven inches of gravel stones of various sizes. This is sunken so it matters not where the river is. They will become conduits for water collection and run off

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

You fellows certainly appoint yourselves the definitive authority as to who is an authentic Guyanese or not. The man is right. The asphalt is sunken and below the curb layer which by the way looks like clay and not gravel. It will collapse given the firmer asphalt will distribute force from traffic into the adjoining canals. This should be at least four inches thick of top layer over an additional eleven inches of gravel stones of various sizes. This is sunken so it matters not where the river is. They will become conduits for water collection and run off

Another slapshot job by your PNC crooks. Just like the stands at Durban park that were slapped together for the 50th anniversary.  What do you know about road building anyway, are you a civil engineer? You derived all this from just looking at a photo that does not clearly show the angle of the slope away from the road. 

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

Another slapshot job by your PNC crooks. Just like the stands at Durban park that were slapped together for the 50th anniversary.  What do you know about road building anyway, are you a civil engineer? You derived all this from just looking at a photo that does not clearly show the angle of the slope away from the road. 

Yes...unlike you I know have a conceptual understanding of the science of forces and yes I have taken the time to look at what it take to be a sound foundation for a road.  I give that road six months to split down the middle and buckle.

ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

Bai, why alyuh gat fuh ansa everything.  I was just joking around with Mr butT-head!!  I visited the place, though long time ago, and understand the need for proper drainage so the roads don't get undermined.

And I see what T is saying.  The road seem to be counter-sunk which will flood.  I would expect it to be built up then paved so water could run off.

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:
Mr.T posted:

I'm not an engineer, but it looks slop-shod and counter-sunk.  They probably rush to show and cannot get the material (sand and gravel) to the site to do a proper job.  That sh1t will last two rainy seasons!

Pointblank posted:

Leguan gets asphalt roads

GINA, GUYANA, Monday, October 31, 2016

Leguan, Region Three residents, are benefitting from asphaltic roads.

Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson said the road works are about 60 percent completed.

“I have my mobile asphalt plant up there, and a full team of workers, and we should be completed within a week or two. We’re doing as much as possible hopefully, the entire Leguan…” the Minister explained.

Meanwhile, Minister within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Annette Ferguson told the Government Information Agency (GINA) that despite the many challenges experienced, work is moving apace on the roads. Minister Ferguson said that during the execution of works, the mobile asphalt plant had stopped generating asphalt for a few days, disrupting the pace of work.

“… we were able to have that rectified, so it’s currently up and running and the team from the Special Projects Unit within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, is continuing all the necessary works,” Minister Ferguson said.

Minister Patterson expressed pleasure that his ministry is bringing relief to the residents of the agricultural community.

The Ministry of Public Infrastructure has been constructing, rehabilitating, and maintaining roads and bridges in Regions 1 to 6 and 10.

In the 2015 budget, $509M and $570M were awarded under the miscellaneous and urban roads programmes, respectively.  All works are expected to be completed in the second half of 2016.

For 2016, $1.4B was allocated for miscellaneous roads and $1.1B for urban roads

BIG up Uncle Moses.  PPP neva do that.  NICE!  I man happy.

EH EH Minista own mobile asphalt plant so sudden?

JACKASS Patterson - is is awee asphalt plant.  Is awee money buy um?  

The mud on the side walk will wash on the road... there will be pools of water on this road. The community will then get blame in destroying the road in a few months... 

Poor infrastructure continues... 

The island of Leguan depends  on farming , they had burnt brick roads which was maintained over the years. On those roads you have dredges, bulldozers , combines, tractors, buses, cars etc., traveling on a daily basis . So the tar roads is just a waste of money, they will not last, the roads are narrow only one lane traffic, when vehicles over taking each other they will have to use the edges, thus the start of ruining the road. Over the many years ,the burnt clay roads became compressed and feels like concrete.

Agree!