You are the idiot,  how is jackass Clive cutting overhead cost?

Shutting down a failing estate.

I suggest that you tell Yesu Persaud to stop making premium rums and just sell his 2 year old rot gut to Europe, where they repackage it. 

He wants to increase yield. Clearly you don't know anything about business so you cannot understand this concept.

Do you know why most airlines have business class, and some even charge more for coach seats which are near the doors?

I suggest that you tell Yesu Persaud to stop making premium rums and just sell his 2 year old rot gut to Europe, where they repackage it. 

He wants to increase yield. Clearly you don't know anything about business so you cannot understand this concept.

Do you know why most airlines have business class, and some even charge more for coach seats which are near the doors?

Many of the other island nations still continue their rum industry dummy even though their govt divest from the sugar industry. This is the kind of que que logic that the PNC follow. Apparently you didn't receive a full paycheck this week, hence your weak rebuttal. 

Can you for once get off your stupid racist platform and address an issue clearly for once? Que Que is like bajans, repetitious, didactic and serious; your ignorance of what they are notwithstanding.

If the islands decide to specialize in rum that is their choice given they get no advantage in economies of scale by producing large quantities of sugar. We can. We will have a nascent petro industry and a 10 percent or more ethanol blend as in the US will go a long way to our aims of a green economy. Then there are a long list of other products we can take place on the pipeline.

Danyael posted:

Can you for once get off your stupid racist platform and address an issue clearly for once? Que Que is like bajans, repetitious, didactic and serious; your ignorance of what they are notwithstanding.

If the islands decide to specialize in rum that is their choice given they get no advantage in economies of scale by producing large quantities of sugar. We can. We will have a nascent petro industry and a 10 percent or more ethanol blend as in the US will go a long way to our aims of a green economy. Then there are a long list of other products we can take place on the pipeline.

Now I have to solve the sugar issue?   Your Granger is in charge now, let him solve the issues. You folks said you had all the answers while in opposition. Now it looks like you backpeddling on these promises. The mantra now seems to be blame the ppp when you fail.

You are commenting on issues that you know so little about.

Try to engage the brain before you keystroke.

Vish M

Many of the other island nations still continue their rum industry dummy even though their govt divest from the sugar industry.

Here is the issue that the PNC has. Yes they wish that they could shut down Guysuco, but you know full well that if they do so, you and every Indian will be jumping up and down outside of the UN building screaming Indo genocide. Raving that this is a plan to ensure that Indians die of starvation.

The PPP had the political space to do so, and yet didn't, even as they sold Guymine.

So why don't you tell your Jagdeo that he needs to stop screaming that APNU should expand sugar and keep Wales open?

Vish M posted:

You are commenting on issues that you know so little about.

Try to engage the brain before you keystroke.

In fact were you so intelligent you would have a solution. But you would rather taxpayers being forced to endlessly bail out GuySICKO with US$ 90 million year in and year out.

Now how sustainable is this?  Is it fair to Guyanese who don't work in sugar, and whose jobs depend on how well, or how poorly their employers are doing? With no expectation that their jobs will be endlessly subsidized!

So here is my solution. Give GuySICKO 12 months to begin serious negotiations with a buyer, or shut down this sick animal!

Vish M posted:

Privatization is a viable option 

It is no longer on the table. That 12 months is only to show that the government has good faith.

Given the realities of sugar and the fact that Guyana's production costs are more than double world prices, it has an intractable trade union, and the fact that GuySICKO is tremendously indebted, who in their right mind will buy GuySICKO. The most they will buy will be the lands, with DDL probably buying enough cane land, and factories to guarantee a supply of molasses for their rum operations.

When Guysuco was in better shape it could have been privatized, but of any one thinks that a private owner will not do to sugar workers what the private owners of bauxite did to bauxite workers they merely fool themselves. Sugar in Demerara is finished.

Many of the other island nations still continue their rum industry dummy even though their govt divest from the sugar industry.

Here is the issue that the PNC has. Yes they wish that they could shut down Guysuco, but you know full well that if they do so, you and every Indian will be jumping up and down outside of the UN building screaming Indo genocide. Raving that this is a plan to ensure that Indians die of starvation.

The PPP had the political space to do so, and yet didn't, even as they sold Guymine.

So why don't you tell your Jagdeo that he needs to stop screaming that APNU should expand sugar and keep Wales open?

I am personally giving you permission to shut down the sugar industry on behalf of all Indians. The Indians will feel pain for a while but they will pick themselves up and move on to bigger and better things. Like welfare is to Blacks, cane cutting to Indians is a crutch.

So chat with Jagdeo, and tell him that if Granger shuts down Guysuco he will promise not to scream Indo Holocaust and scream that Granger is Hitler. 

I can see him already in Richmond Hill with Baseman, yuji and the rest of the Indo KKK in full battle screams.

So chat with Jagdeo, and tell him that if Granger shuts down Guysuco he will promise not to scream Indo Holocaust and scream that Granger is Hitler. 

I can see him already in Richmond Hill with Baseman, yuji and the rest of the Indo KKK in full battle screams.

Jagdeo is irrelevant, he and the PPP can do nothing to stop the PNC from shutting down the sugar industry. The PNC has the majority in parliament but they lack the will the pull the trigger. 

Vish M posted:

They will have to pay someone to buy that industry.  Exactly what would the value proposition be?  The GoG will have to provide significant subsidies to make it viable.  Truth is, the GoG is stuck with Guysuco.  Guysuco is not a victim of either the PPP or PNC, but  victim of the politics of the PPP and PNC collectively.

Actually, no.  The sugar industry is a national issue, not PPP or PNC.  The blame sits with all yet with no one in particular.

ba$eman posted:
Vish M posted:

They will have to pay someone to buy that industry.  Exactly what would the value proposition be?  The GoG will have to provide significant subsidies to make it viable.  Truth is, the GoG is stuck with Guysuco.  Guysuco is not a victim of either the PPP or PNC, but  victim of the politics of the PPP and PNC collectively.

What political action took down Sugar? Who failed to file the requisite papers to retain EU subsidy and who accepted that crap of a mill without a guarantee of usability and why did they let a group who never built a plant build one when another firm that built plants as their business was let go?

Jagdeo is irrelevant, he and the PPP can do nothing to stop the PNC from shutting down the sugar industry. The PNC has the majority in parliament but they lack the will the pull the trigger. 

They want to shut down Wales and Indians are running screaming "Burnham".  Imagine if they shut down all the sugar estates. 1964 again?

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:
Vish M posted:

What political action took down Sugar? Who failed to file the requisite papers to retain EU subsidy and who accepted that crap of a mill without a guarantee of usability and why did they let a group who never built a plant build one when another firm that built plants as their business was let go?

The fact that baseman doesn't blame the PNC exclusively is progress. Soon he will admit that this was all of Jagdeo's fault.

They want to shut down Wales and Indians are running screaming "Burnham".  Imagine if they shut down all the sugar estates. 1964 again?

Why should this bother a party with the majority of seats in parliament with the power to take the correct action? Are these idiots in office more concerned with the screams of the opposition or rather what is good for the nation? If they lack the will to make the hard decisions to govern then they should get out of the way and let other do the governing. 

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:
Vish M posted:

There was no perpetuity for EU subsidies. In fact the subsidy was a crutch, intended to perpetuate the inefficient production of sugar and hence the ultimate demise of the industry. Why didn't the rest of the Caribbean file the requisite papers to retain EU subsidies? Why did they chose to exit the industry? Liar de liar strikes again. 

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:
Vish M posted:

The fact that baseman doesn't blame the PNC exclusively is progress. Soon he will admit that this was all of Jagdeo's fault.

No, it was not.  The end of the EU subsidies were a major blow.  Truth of the matter, back in the 70's when sugar was king and prices were good, the PNC never invested to expand and add critical mass.  The PNC instead squandered the money on national "wants", not needs.

The PNC lived lavishly, spent heavily on the military and other non-productive activities.  They deprived the sugar workers of their rights and pay resulting in the 1977 big strike which crippled the industry.  That window was lost to ramp-up sugar and prices began to come down. As the economy began it's downward spiral, it was virtually impossible to now dedicate the dwindling reserves to invest in sugar.

Now, who the cap fit..........

Why should this bother a party with the majority of seats in parliament with the power to take the correct action? Are these idiots in office more concerned with the screams of the opposition or rather what is good for the nation? If they lack the will to make the hard decisions to govern then they should get out of the way and let other do the governing. 

Interesting that you think that the party, which represents 49% of the population, ought to be ignored.

Don't you know that when a government ignores the opposition, especially when that opposition won 49% of the votes, and has only one seat less in parliament, that is a dictatorship.

Druggie this is the trap that your lack of intelligence allows you to fall into.

Druggie in a democratic society the Leader of the Opposition should play a critical role. Just because the PPP operated as a dictatorship and ignored the opposition, even when the opposition had MORE seats, doesn't mean that Granger should do the same.

So if you want GuySICKO closed down then chat with your buddy Jagdeo about this. Urge him not to  run around like a manic mad woman if APNU closes it down. Tell him not to come to RH screaming that there is a war on Indians and the plan is to ensure their annihilation through starvation.

One estate and Jagdeo became a lunatic with his screams. Imagine tens pf thousands treated like the people of Linden when Jagdeo sold Guymine and then abandoned Linden because he hated who lived there.

Interesting that you think that the party, which represents 49% of the population, ought to be ignored.

Don't you know that when a government ignores the opposition, especially when that opposition won 49% of the votes, and has only one seat less in parliament, that is a dictatorship.

Druggie this is the trap that your lack of intelligence allows you to fall into.

Druggie in a democratic society the Leader of the Opposition should play a critical role. Just because the PPP operated as a dictatorship and ignored the opposition, even when the opposition had MORE seats, doesn't mean that Granger should do the same.

So if you want GuySICKO closed down then chat with your buddy Jagdeo about this. Urge him not to  run around like a manic mad woman if APNU closes it down. Tell him not to come to RH screaming that there is a war on Indians and the plan is to ensure their annihilation through starvation.

One estate and Jagdeo became a lunatic with his screams. Imagine tens pf thousands treated like the people of Linden when Jagdeo sold Guymine and then abandoned Linden because he hated who lived there.

Hogwash, you are using Jagdeo as an excuse for incompetence and indecision by your beloved mo fiah slow fiah crew, the PNC. They are only good at wine down and bacchanal, burning and killing.  When it comes to nation building, their true colors show.  They put the idiot Clive Thomas, a book worm, in charge of a dying industry and all he can come it with value added to compensate for inefficient production methods.  Theorists are not always the best persons for implementing the practical. 

Who is responsible for the inefficient growing methods. You think that the PPP is not to blame when they appointed their incompetent and corrupt friends to run GuySICKO.

Why do you expect APNU in just over a year to repair  the 15 years of damage that Jagdeo/Ramotar did to GuySICKO?

I will note while you wriggle out of PPP incompetence by pretending as if Granger succeeded Hoyte and 23 years of PPP control of GuySICKO didn't occur.

Who is responsible for the inefficient growing methods. You think that the PPP is not to blame when they appointed their incompetent and corrupt friends to run GuySICKO.

Why do you expect APNU in just over a year to repair  the 15 years of damage that Jagdeo/Ramotar did to GuySICKO?

I will note while you wriggle out of PPP incompetence by pretending as if Granger succeeded Hoyte and 23 years of PPP control of GuySICKO didn't occur.

The PPP's mistake was to follow Booker Tate's recommendation to invest further in the sugar industry while the rest of the Caribbean exited. Now the PNC is in charge, let them deal with it and stop with the excuses. You keep looking back at the past to justify the present, a sure sign of incompetence from the current leadership.  We no longer want to hear about what the PPP did, let us hear what the PNC is doing about it now that they are in power.