Gov’t abandons 1000-homes project…Providence lands will now be used for duplexes, condos

The government is redeploying land previously identified for the ‘1000 homes’ project, to the construction of apartment buildings, duplexes and condominiums.

Valerie Patterson, Minister within the Ministry of Communities, with responsibility for housing.

When questioned about the decision to discontinue the 1000 homes project, Minister within the Ministry of Communities with responsibility for housing, Valerie Adams-Patterson, said that a major contributory factor to the decision is the number of applicants and the fact that there are no available house lots.
“We have recognized that one family per house lot with approximately 23,000 applications within the system is not possible for the government, not even in the next five years. … so we have decided that with the land that we have, we can accommodate more families if we provide housing units instead of a house lot, especially given that only about fifty-five percent of lots allocated has been occupied,” Patterson told the Government Information Agency (GINA), recently.
“This Government is not going to continue that 1000 homes project in its current form. In our refocusing, we are looking at apartment buildings, duplexes, condominiums, three and four levels. From our design, the condo will have eight apartments on each floor, so we do two bedrooms and three bedrooms,” the minister said.
The ‘1000 homes’ project, also known as the turnkey project, was officially launched by former President Donald Ramotar at Providence, East Bank Demerara in 2014.
However, despite being allocated, several of the almost 50 completed houses remain unoccupied because of poor construction and finishing coupled with structural faults.

Infrastructure development at Providence, East Bank Demerara.

“The first phase was (for) 200. One hundred and forty one are currently under construction. The 59 that are already occupied, they currently have problems with curb wall cracked, windows dislocated and, in some cases you have verandas moving away from the building,” Patterson said.
The housing authority has since hired a new project manager, Kennard Dazzell, who to date has visited the housing development, analysed the situation and made recommendations on the steps necessary to correct the defects.
“On September 1, we hired a project manager specifically for that project. Works have begun on the homes, and six of the houses have already been completed and handed over to the owners. The remaining 141 houses which are currently under construction will be completed by December 15,” Patterson said.
A condominium is one of a group of housing units where each home-owner owns his individual unit space, and all the dwellers share ownership of areas of common use. A duplex house is a dwelling having apartments with separate entrances for two households. This includes two-storey houses having a complete apartment on each floor and also side-by-side apartments on a single lot that share a common wall.

Gov’t abandons 1000-homes project…Providence lands will now be used for duplexes, condos

“We have recognized that one family per house lot with approximately 23,000 applications within the system is not possible for the government, not even in the next five years. … so we have decided that with the land that we have, we can accommodate more families if we provide housing units instead of a house lot, especially given that only about fifty-five percent of lots allocated has been occupied,” Patterson told the Government Information Agency (GINA), recently.

While condominiums and duplexes have their benefits and advantages, individuals generally seek their private lots and houses to have as their property ... something the PNC/AFC government seems to totally forget.

DG has an excellent point, how many of the 23,000 applicants are interested in living in apartments? They might as well stay where they are rather than move from one apartment to another. Most Guyanese dream of having their own place of abode, not an apartment. More dumb pnc qwe qwe logic. 

The same is occuring in N.A?  There is enough land for 1000 homes but apartments,condos,townhouses are built to accomodate more than it would with the 1000 homes. It is a sign of the times.

Apparently you know little of Guyana. There are more than adequate amount of lands, in fact less than 1 % of Guyana is inhabited. These dumbos you put in office are idiots.

You ARE indeed a DOPE HEAD, SHIT HEAD.  Guyana has more empty Land than is necessary. Sometimes I wonder of the effect of such a deadly combination in your head of DOPE and SHIT

Maybe that boy smoke some dry cow shyte. It has caused permanent brain damage.

This Apartment, Condo and Town Houses will be good for them lazies. No place to plant green/provisions/fruit, rear animals/poultry. No repairs to worry about, no fence, front step and grass and drains to weed and clean. Good for the producers of these items. Yuh get meh drift.

DG has an excellent point, how many of the 23,000 applicants are interested in living in apartments? They might as well stay where they are rather than move from one apartment to another. Most Guyanese dream of having their own place of abode, not an apartment. More dumb pnc qwe qwe logic. 

These AFC/PNC Qwe Qwe Clowns will create Housing Slums like a few in the USA.

These idiots have now clue as to what they are doing.

You people love to spread your puke, read Randolph's post. I'm not always in agreement with him but this time, yes.

Why don't you people tell those who are condo owners they are all shitheads..fkin idiots I tell ya.

Apparently you know little of Guyana. There are more than adequate amount of lands, in fact less than 1 % of Guyana is inhabited. These dumbos you put in office are idiots.

Yes send Guyanese to live at the top of Mount Ayanganna, hundreds of miles from where the jobs are.

Good druggie thinking.

The PPP wants to flatten the country and turn every square yard into housing plots. No wonder the PPP run down Skeldon and the rice industry. A lot of land in the rice and sugar cane fields that the PPP would like to turn into housing plots. Loads of Chinese want to move to Guyana, whilst loads of Indo Guyanese want to be part of Venezuela.

You people love to spread your puke, read Randolph's post. I'm not always in agreement with him but this time, yes.

Why don't you people tell those who are condo owners they are all shitheads..fkin idiots I tell ya.

Randolph hit the nail on the head. Condo and Town Houses will be good for them lazies..fits right in as to what the PPP boys are saying.
I remember at Scottsburg when Forbes built home for his people. A few years later, most of the boards were missing. They used them for cooking. The windows and doors were all replaced with jute bags. What does that tell you? They abandoned the area and the coolies rebuilt it during the PPP admin.

Yes send Guyanese to live at the top of Mount Ayanganna, hundreds of miles from where the jobs are.

Good druggie thinking.

Nonsense, dummy, do a google map view of Guyana and see all the vacant land along the coast. Why you idiotically talking about Ayanganna?