Home > NEWS > PPP will not ‘beg’ gov’t to share power – Jagdeo
Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo during a press conference on Wednesday at Freedom House

PPP will not ‘beg’ gov’t to share power – Jagdeo

OPPOSITION Leader Bharrat Jagdeo Wednesday said the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is not opposed to working along with the APNU+AFC coalition government, but will not “beg” to be part of the government. Mr Jagdeo was at the time responding to a report of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) on Democracy, Human Rights, and Governance of Guyana. The agency said that the PPP had “refused the offer to form a government of national unity.”
According to the Opposition Leader, “there has been no formal proposal to the PPP for power- sharing” and his party will not “beg to be part of this government.”
However, Mr Jagdeo said his party and the coalition government can “work together for the people of Guyana,” but that this has to be done on clear principles.
“We’re not anxious or begging to be in any form within the executive,” he stated.
The former President noted that the PPP has made clear areas of concern and has indicated to the government that when it is “done with campaigning” talks can begin.
“They are still in campaign mode…they are busy trying to destroy reputations,” said Jagdeo.
Chairman of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), Basil Williams, last week said he believed the opposition party will eventually join the coalition government. He said while the PPP is an opposition party, persons need not be “carried away by what they are doing.”
The PNCR is the largest party in the coalition bloc that unseated the PPP from the seat of government in the general elections of May, 2015.
Williams, who is also Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, noted that the coalition government remains committed to democracy and is open to talks with the PPP on issues of national importance.
“…we have always been inclusive as a party; the branches of our Palm Tree have always included all the ethnicities and all people of this country.
“We are the ones that always strove to have inclusive governance and we brought those parties to APNU and we were able to bring in the AFC into the realm.
“And we believe that the PPP [are] going to come…they’re going to come and we don’t want them to come kicking and screaming – they must come of their own volition when they see the benefits of inclusiveness,” said the PNCR Chairman.
Minister of State Joseph Harmon had been reported as saying back in June, 2015 that the PPP was invited to thrash out the terms of reference under which both sides would operate, but the PPP claimed that it received a letter from APNU and not from the government.

The PNC claiming to be an inclusive party is just as ridiculous as when the PPP makes such claims.  Both are riddled by corruption, incompetence, cronyism and ethnic exclusion.  They both like the "friends and family" program.  They both are happy to act as the humble servants of the oligarchs.

In fact a big problem that the PPP might have is that the PNC comes" cheaper" than the PPP did, and is just as interested in rendering services to support the needs of these business elites.  BK can talk all about that.

The PNC claiming to be an inclusive party is just as ridiculous as when the PPP makes such claims.  Both are riddled by corruption, incompetence, cronyism and ethnic exclusion.  They both like the "friends and family" program.  They both are happy to act as the humble servants of the oligarchs.

I hope the PPPites here see how fair you are. It would be hard to change their unreasonable perception of you, but they should at least have the decency to acknowledge your statement above in good faith.

Minister of State Joseph Harmon had been reported as saying back in June, 2015 that the PPP was invited to thrash out the terms of reference under which both sides would operate, but the PPP claimed that it received a letter from APNU and not from the government.

Perhaps, the PNC-2015 is of the firm position/views that the party-PNC is paramount and superior to government just like the days of Forbes Burnham from 1964.

I hope the PPPites here see how fair you are. It would be hard to change their unreasonable perception of you, but they should at least have the decency to acknowledge your statement above in good faith.

Funny how the PNC gang are speaking out of two sides of their mouth now.  A year ago you all were screaming that the PNC is god's gift to mankind. 

More like eating with their asses and shitting with their mouths!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No they will not.  The fact that I describe the PNC being as racist as I consider the PPP to be is in their eyes racist.

Nothing other then agreeing that Indians are saints and that blacks are lazy criminals who are a  curse in Guyana will be acceptable to them.

.  A year ago you all were screaming that the PNC is god's gift to mankind. 

You still scream that Jagdeo is a Saint even after WikiLeaks emails revealed that he had very strong ties to criminals and in fact blocked attempts by the USA to apprehend them.

No one is speaking "out of two sides of their mouth." Ralph Ramkarran said the Jagdeo-Ramotar PPP ran the most corrupt government in Guyana's history. APNU+AFC promised change. We accepted their promise in good faith. After 15 months in government, APNU+AFC is doing some things just like the PPP did. We are honest enough to point out the coalition's errors and misdeeds. Since last year I personally stepped down from full support to critical support of APNU+AFC. I never screamed that the coalition is "god's gift to mankind." I don't have the authority to speak for mankind.

No they will not.  The fact that I describe the PNC being as racist as I consider the PPP to be is in their eyes racist.

Nothing other then agreeing that Indians are saints and that blacks are lazy criminals who are a  curse in Guyana will be acceptable to them.

Nonsense!!!.  You all are with your backs against the wall now.  So go and scream Hail to the PNC like you were doing all along. 

These FOOLS think people stupid. They are what they ARE!!!  Dogs like them cant stop sucking eggs!!!! The entire PNc GNI Gang are beyond stupid, shameless and brainless!!!

Bibi, poor hysterical Bibi.  Is there some hormonal imbalance which has impaired your ability to function normally?

Check my posts.  I was HIGHLY critical of APNU and of the AFC BEFORE the election and IMMEDIATELY after the election.  In fact much of what is happening I forecast.  My attitude towards Burnham is well known.

You on the other hand worship a man who the rest of the world sees as a criminal.  The fact that Bouterse, a convicted drug dealer, enjoys good relations with Jagdeo, says loads.

You cannot offer one iota of criticism for the PPP.  Nothing man made is perfect, and yet you think that the PPP and Jagdeo are.

The good Imam can read but he cannot comprehend!  How does the header of the thread relate to the content of the article.

The Queens fullah posse cannot wait to bury non- fullah Indians, even when its only in their wicked minds!!

What a bunch!!

.  You are either for or against.  If not, Or you stay out.

Yes that simplistic thinking is what I can expect from a PPP supporter. We all know that FreeDUMB House is like Animal Farm and that you are one of the brainwashed sheep.

No one is speaking "out of two sides of their mouth." Ralph Ramkarran said the Jagdeo-Ramotar PPP ran the most corrupt government in Guyana's history. APNU+AFC promised change. We accepted their promise in good faith. After 15 months in government, APNU+AFC is doing some things just like the PPP did. We are honest enough to point out the coalition's errors and misdeeds. Since last year I personally stepped down from full support to critical support of APNU+AFC. I never screamed that the coalition is "god's gift to mankind." I don't have the authority to speak for mankind.

Anyone who thought he PNC will go and be pristine, alyuh prapa naive.  The PNC boys were waiting to get their hands on that cookie jar, and it was filled with cookies for those PNC crookies.  Do you think they intend to work and retire in a hammock or easing chair outside Buxton?  The PNC want to get rich and when they lose, head to Brooklyn and invest in rental properties  

Awww shut da hell up lady! You are being schooled yet again. Most if not all here who backed the Coalition speak out when errors are made by them, it is called morals, something the PPP have yet to learn. Speaking out against a wrong is something you nor the others here who back the PPP ever do, so again shut da hell up lady.

ba$eman posted:

Anyone who thought he PNC will go and be pristine, alyuh prapa naive.  The PNC boys were waiting to get their hands on that cookie jar, and it was filled with cookies for those PNC crookies.  Do you think they intend to work and retire in a hammock or easing chair outside Buxton?  The PNC want to get rich and when they lose, head to Brooklyn and invest in rental properties  

But they said the cookie jar was empty and then we hear Joe Wong Ping cannot for $5 mil(USD). Wey deh get all dis munny fram? Takers bai, Takers..coolie sweat.

ba$eman posted:

Anyone who thought he PNC will go and be pristine, alyuh prapa naive.  

No one hear considers themselves to be a PNC supporter.  Just about every one who supported the coalition last year now criticizes them.

Contrast this with the attitudes of most of the PPP supporters.  They don't want any discussion about PPP rule and cannot discuss how the PPP benefitted Guyana. Yet they blindly cheer every chirp out of Jagdeo's mouth.

? Takers bai, Takers..coolie sweat.

Next time you howl when I call you an Indo KKK just remember this.  Now you don't think that this statement is racist, and that is what makes you just like the real KKK.

Awww shut da hell up lady! You are being schooled yet again. Most if not all here who backed the Coalition speak out when errors are made by them, it is called morals, something the PPP have yet to learn. Speaking out against a wrong is something you nor the others here who back the PPP ever do, so again shut da hell up lady.

I thought this thread was merely regurgitation of old trash. then I stumbled on this piece by Cain.

Most if not all here who backed the Coalition speak out when errors are made by them, it is called morals, something the PPP have yet to learn. Speaking out against a wrong is something you nor the others here who back the PPP ever do,

Look at all these PNC goons running to the thread that the evil IMAM is proganding, but the same goons are hiding under the carpet on the Norton scandal thread.

Here Bibi.......here's what I posted on the Prak thread relating to Norton...in case you missed it.

Prak is digging a hole for himself and the Cabinet. Norton did the same thing. And do you need the Prime Minister and the highest ranking officials outside of the President for an investigative Committee? Something smells.

Granger, Trump-like, is not a politician. He's a decent, educated man with unfounded charges of blood on his hands in the 1973 election hijacking. He is however part of the military that was deep in the logistics. I do know though that being in the same boat does not taint you with the brush of others who are culpable.

You would think that the experienced AFC guys - Moses and Prak - would bring their governing experiences to bear, but who knows the inside political and where one's powers extend. Remember that in Guyana the line between party and government is extremely blurred.

However much one may want the previous Administration ousted because of corruption, violence and a lack of structural changes to move Guyana to a next level of an economic entity, you have to say that this Coalition government has not done much to provide comfort. 

Only a people's movement can change the culture, as in 40 years from now Guyana will be exporting rice and timber and gold (and maybe oil) and importing everything else, including water, sugar and chicken. My goodness - what a future!!!

Kari posted:

I thought this thread was merely regurgitation of old trash. then I stumbled on this piece by Cain.

Most if not all here who backed the Coalition speak out when errors are made by them, it is called morals, something the PPP have yet to learn. Speaking out against a wrong is something you nor the others here who back the PPP ever do,

HAHAHA Listen to these SHAMELESS PARASITES. Even now after the China fiasco, the Drug Facility, the crime situation, the salary increase, should I go on like the energizer Bunny, Al Yuh still gat the PNC in Al Yuh Bossoms. SHIT HEAD Cain is too STUPID to know the shit he writes!!!!

You still scream that Jagdeo is a Saint even after WikiLeaks emails revealed that he had very strong ties to criminals and in fact blocked attempts by the USA to apprehend them.

If Jagdeo can block the US attempts at apprehension, then hats off to him.  Because not even Putin and Maduro can do that!!!  This must be the reason why they call him Saint Jagdeo. 

Bibi, sometimes when you read the SHIT these FOOLS write you have to wonder how shit got into their heads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Moses and Prak are the ones holding the balance of Power in Guyana. Will they exert their influence in ending corruption ? 

At this stage, Moses seems quite comfortable to back the PNC corruption. Prak has recently been making excuses with his latest statement on the storage fraud.

Guyana is screwed.

Bring back Jagdeo and let the economy take off again because these AFC/PNC clowns are taking Guyana to hell economically. In just over a year, the economy collapsed and there is no attempt to transform the economy because the clown in charge of doing so appears clueless.

Granger is not a transformational President, he is stuck with the old school Military Style over bloated government. His administration is top heavy with a bunch of dunces and idiots.

It is like the blind leading the blind and the rush is on to fill their pockets before the treasury runs dry.

PNC part TWO is worse than PNC part One.

Those who defend them (AFC/PNC) have a no brain left.  They need greenheart sunglasses and a brain scan.

Yuji, yet these shameless Mud Heads are trying to tell us that the coalition and more so their KFC STOOGES and HOUSE SLAVES are true to their promises. If these fools could read and understand I CHALLENGE them to back and read what the Fry Chicken people promised the bloody Guyanese people and what the Neemakaram, Crabdaag Parasites are doing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Bring back Jagdeo and let the economy take off again."

Did this chap run his term,what sort of Democracy is this for Guyana??

Sounds more like commies.

Jagdeo time is up as President BUT the PPP, the only Party proven to bring PROSPERITY and PROGRESS to Guyana is alive and well!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by Nehru

The only thing that is holding up the Guyana economy right now is the price of gold.  If that dips the way oil did, it's game over for the whole country.  I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020, but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti.  Reality is stepping in.   People are fearful, including those in the PNC camp.

The only thing that is holding up the Guyana economy right now is the price of gold.  If that dips the way oil did, it's game over for the whole country.  I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020,but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti.  Reality is stepping in.   People are fearful, including those in the PNC camp.

Are you for real is that Democracy??

By the way Guyana is just above Haiti,your hero didn't pull it farther away with all the smarts,imagine imports are in the country which can be produced locally.

The only thing that is holding up the Guyana economy right now is the price of gold.  If that dips the way oil did, it's game over for the whole country.  I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020,but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti.  Reality is stepping in.   People are fearful, including those in the PNC camp.

By the way Guyana is just above Haiti,your hero didn't pull it farther away with all the smarts,imagine imports are in the country which can be produced locally.

Why did you not highlight the part where I said the PPP should have a fresh new candidate??

Because he is a PNC Mud Head!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bibi, sometimes when you read the SHIT these FOOLS write you have to wonder how shit got into their heads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pavi, Bibi is making light of the very factual and serious repudiation by President Jagdeo of the NYPD and the London Metropolitan Police to assist with the unprecedented (in quantum and execution-style) violence that afflicted the country under his watch for years following the Mash jail break in 2002. It was "thanks, but no thanks....we'll take care of business".

So Pavi, you're basically responding to something that was above your head. Now allow mw to emulate you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Moses and Prak are the ones holding the balance of Power in Guyana. Will they exert their influence in ending corruption ? 

At this stage, Moses seems quite comfortable to back the PNC corruption. Prak has recently been making excuses with his latest statement on the storage fraud.

Guyana is screwed.

Bring back Jagdeo and let the economy take off again because these AFC/PNC clowns are taking Guyana to hell economically. In just over a year, the economy collapsed and there is no attempt to transform the economy because the clown in charge of doing so appears clueless.

Granger is not a transformational President, he is stuck with the old school Military Style over bloated government. His administration is top heavy with a bunch of dunces and idiots.

It is like the blind leading the blind and the rush is on to fill their pockets before the treasury runs dry.

PNC part TWO is worse than PNC part One.

Those who defend them (AFC/PNC) have a no brain left.  They need greenheart sunglasses and a brain scan.

Yuji, We don not know the Agreement between the two major parties of the Coalition, and what Prak and Moses can and cannot do. For instance, can they threaten to withhold their 10 seats and call a vote of no confidence? Maybe not. what leverage do they have? CARIBNY had some very prescient observations on the power equilibrium of the Coalition Agreement. You'd be wise to engage him on that.

Bringing back Jagdeo is similar to pre-May 2015 as he has not demonstrated a democratization in the PPP or a vision to encourage foreign private investment and educate the workers to the level of manufacturing that would ensue from technology transfers, instead of relying on money-laundered real estate construction and primary products subjects to the vicissitudes of the international markets. 

I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020.

,but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti. 

Highlighted,question who is the current Candidate??

Why Jagdeo is the only person can run the country,he had his stint which is tainted,Minister killed under his watch,drugs running allowed to flow freely and the list goes on...