Crime spree was “drug war”; Sash Sawh family lobbying govt for “justice”

Late Agriculture Minister, Satyadeow 'Sash' Sawh.

President David Granger on Monday insisted that the violent crime spree between 2002 and 2010 was part of a “drug war,” and said that he has been asked by the family of slain Agriculture Minister, Satyadeow Sawh to ensure that there is justice.

“We were faced with a drug war. We were faced with people who were shooting and killing to expand a drug empire,” Granger, a retired Guyana Defence Force (GDF) Brigadier, told the closing session of an Orientation Workshop for newly-appointed diplomats.

He said when he was in Toronto, relatives of Sawh, who was gunned down at his La Bonne Intention (LBI) village in April, 2006, “are approaching me to get justice so it’s not something we can forget.”

Asked after the end of the formal proceedings whether there would be an inquiry into the killing of Sawh, his brother and sister by a gang that waylaid them shortly after they had arrived home late that night, the President restated that there would be a probe of all deaths during that crime spree but he declined to give a time frame.  He said a lot of work first has to be done. “I haven’t set a timeline but we are dealing with other issues…We have to do some preliminary work on the evidence before we set up a formal Commission of Inquiry,” he said.

One theory that has been bandied about was that gang members had been hired to kill Sawh because, as the then minister responsible for forestry, he had objected to Kaow Island being possessed by Aurelius Inc; a company whose principal had been now convicted drug lord, Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan.

The gang had been blamed for massacres in Lusignan and Bartica as well as the gunning down of numerous policemen in the line of duty.

The crime wave began in February 2002 when five dangerous criminals escaped from the Georgetown Prison and almost immediately sought refuge in the East Coast Demerara village of Buxton. Quickly , the gang, armed with assault rifles,  had grown and continued almost daily murders, kidnappings and robberies.

Stretching the period back to 2000, the President linked today’s crimes to what had transpired then. “Much of the crime you see taking place in Guyana now came about because many of the children who were four and five years old in 2000 are now 20 and 22 years old. It is the secondary impact of that intense violence that was taking place and that violence was drug-driven and we need to make our country safe and secure again,” he said.

Then opposition activists and one of the escapees, Andrew Douglas, had labeled some gang members “freedom fighters.” Khan, who was subsequently caught in neighbouring Suriname and convicted in New York for cocaine trafficking, had been held with high powered weapons and sophisticated mobile tapping and triangulation location equipment by a Guyana Defence Force (GDF) patrol. Evidence later presented by the manufacturer in a New York court had shown that then Minister of Health, Dr. Leslie Ramsammy had authorised the purchase of such triangulation equipment.

Khan had been named in a United States International Narcotics Control Strategy Report as someone who had had access to a large forestry concession at Kaow Island, Essequibo River- that the Americans had regarded as outpost for drug trafficking. While he had been on the run, Khan had issued several statements in a local newspaper claiming credit for preventing a coup against the then People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) administration.

The President and his APNU+AFC coalition, which had campaigned heavily that it would make Guyana safe again, cited the need to seal off Guyana’s borders from contraband, drugs and guns. “We need to make this country secure by securing our borders from transnational crime. You can’t wink at back-tracking and nod at contraband smuggling and expect to be safe,” he said.

Among those who had been kidnapped and subsequently released after huge ransoms had been paid had been a number of Trinidadians who had been working on a  potable water supply improvement project and then US Embassy Regional Security Officer, Stephen Lesniak while he had been playing golf at the Lusignan Golf Course.

SOURCE

He should tell us who killed Rodney and Father Bernard Darke. 

PPP top members... Former House of Israel Thugs ....

Jagdeo & Ramotar got Them running Freedom House Now

Jalil posted:

Angry, ignorant, and have not a shred of evidence to support your wild and irresponsible statements.

Justice should be served to Sash Sawh and his family.  If Roger Khan is responsible, then why didn't this come out in his trial?  He is in jail now, but not for this.

Granger and others think we forgot about the strong public support they gave to criminals based in Buxton. They kidnapped, robbed, and murdered Indo-Guyanese. Eusi Kwayana condemned the violence against Indians. During operation Plaster Paris the Army sided with the criminals instead of quarantining the neighborhood they used as their base.  The Phantoms rose to the occasion though controversial and stemmed the tide of murder, rape, and destruction. 

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Justice should be served to Sash Sawh and his family.  If Roger Khan is responsible, then why didn't this come out in his trial?  He is in jail now, but not for this.

Granger and others think we forgot about the strong public support they gave to criminals based in Buxton. They kidnapped, robbed, and murdered Indo-Guyanese. Eusi Kwayana condemned the violence against Indians. During operation Plaster Paris the Army sided with the criminals instead of quarantining the neighborhood they used as their base.  The Phantoms rose to the occasion though controversial and stemmed the tide of murder, rape, and destruction. 

Bhai, how many times I must expose the PNc GNI supporters as DUMB, STUPID, SHEEPISH, GOAT BRAINS. One goat cross the road while big Truck coming, the rest follow.  Goat meat for all.

Bare-faced people.

Old story.  Rodney was an enemy.

Whats more interesting is that the PPP is so bloodthirsty that they would even kill a minister, who was along standing PPP member.  Drugs and greed made the PPP eat its own.  That's like a mother killing a child of theirs.

The US jailed him for offences which he committed in the USA. What he did in Guyana wasn't his concern.

If his jail sentence comes to an end during the Granger era he is going to start singing to save another jail sentence, this time in Guyana.

So now you use Eusi. Why don't you accept the fact that he considered the PPP an extremely racist party, hostile to blacks, so he left. He also stated that race violence began in 1961 when the PPP killed a black man, and when the PPP victory motorcade drove down ECD, screaming racial epithets as they drove through black villages.

Why didn't the PPP arrest Granger if he was guilty of assisting criminals?

Cut him lil slack.  He mad because Granger kick his boy Naga under the carpet.

Sawh's family is blaming Jagdeo and wants Granger to bring justice.  They did NOT get this under the PPP. Why?

Why did the Granger government recently FIRED Sattie Sawh?? the wife of Sash Sawh.

Sawh family is going to Granger for help.  They aren't going to Jagdeo.  That is all you need to worry your little head about.

Maybe they think that losing a job is less bad than being MURDERED as they think that a PPP ally did to that family.

Sawh family is going to Granger for help.  They aren't going to Jagdeo.  That is all you need to worry your little head about.

Maybe they think that losing a job is less bad than being MURDERED as they think that a PPP ally did to that family.

Big head black boy, they fired her because this ah Blackman Time, and to quote you"blackman a kill Indians" it's all in the game of ethnic cleansing.

So leh me get this right, Sawh family went to Granger for help before or after they fired Sattie Sawh? 

The point that you need to focus on is that this murder occurred when Jagdeo was president.  Sat Sawh was a long standing PPP leader, so one would think that the family would have expected that the PPP would have made solving this crime a priority.  But they didn't.

Jagdeo screamed he knew who ordered this contract killing, but did NOTHING to bring those people to justice.

So now the Sawh family hope that Granger will do something about this.

Its amazing how the tragic murder of a PPP minister seems like a comedy show to you.

BibiDeo (that "Deo" is Jagdeo) stay on point here. Leave the trivial stuff at the door - not that employment matters are trivial, but we're talking murder here. Swing towards the murders and the absence of justice. We'll worry about whether a blackman time now in anybody's firing as put so delicately by the astute and learned KP.

BTW, it is a genuine concern among people in Guyana when it comes to government jobs that Indians are being discriminated against. But that's fro another thread. Stay on the murder case.

The PNC NEVER had, wanted an INVESTIGATION for the murder of Rodney, Teekah, Shirley. In Fact, one was done for brother Rodney but the PNC used it for Toilet Paper!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The pot calling the kettle black again.

Crime spree was “drug war”; Sash Sawh family lobbying govt for “justice”

Late Agriculture Minister, Satyadeow 'Sash' Sawh.

President David Granger on Monday insisted that the violent crime spree between 2002 and 2010 was part of a “drug war,” and said that he has been asked by the family of slain Agriculture Minister, Satyadeow Sawh to ensure that there is justice.

“We were faced with a drug war. We were faced with people who were shooting and killing to expand a drug empire,” Granger, a retired Guyana Defence Force (GDF) Brigadier, told the closing session of an Orientation Workshop for newly-appointed diplomats.

He said when he was in Toronto, relatives of Sawh, who was gunned down at his La Bonne Intention (LBI) village in April, 2006, “are approaching me to get justice so it’s not something we can forget.”

Asked after the end of the formal proceedings whether there would be an inquiry into the killing of Sawh, his brother and sister by a gang that waylaid them shortly after they had arrived home late that night, the President restated that there would be a probe of all deaths during that crime spree but he declined to give a time frame.  He said a lot of work first has to be done. “I haven’t set a timeline but we are dealing with other issues…We have to do some preliminary work on the evidence before we set up a formal Commission of Inquiry,” he said.

One theory that has been bandied about was that gang members had been hired to kill Sawh because, as the then minister responsible for forestry, he had objected to Kaow Island being possessed by Aurelius Inc; a company whose principal had been now convicted drug lord, Shaheed ‘Roger’ Khan.

The gang had been blamed for massacres in Lusignan and Bartica as well as the gunning down of numerous policemen in the line of duty.

The crime wave began in February 2002 when five dangerous criminals escaped from the Georgetown Prison and almost immediately sought refuge in the East Coast Demerara village of Buxton. Quickly , the gang, armed with assault rifles,  had grown and continued almost daily murders, kidnappings and robberies.

Stretching the period back to 2000, the President linked today’s crimes to what had transpired then. “Much of the crime you see taking place in Guyana now came about because many of the children who were four and five years old in 2000 are now 20 and 22 years old. It is the secondary impact of that intense violence that was taking place and that violence was drug-driven and we need to make our country safe and secure again,” he said.

Then opposition activists and one of the escapees, Andrew Douglas, had labeled some gang members “freedom fighters.” Khan, who was subsequently caught in neighbouring Suriname and convicted in New York for cocaine trafficking, had been held with high powered weapons and sophisticated mobile tapping and triangulation location equipment by a Guyana Defence Force (GDF) patrol. Evidence later presented by the manufacturer in a New York court had shown that then Minister of Health, Dr. Leslie Ramsammy had authorised the purchase of such triangulation equipment.

Khan had been named in a United States International Narcotics Control Strategy Report as someone who had had access to a large forestry concession at Kaow Island, Essequibo River- that the Americans had regarded as outpost for drug trafficking. While he had been on the run, Khan had issued several statements in a local newspaper claiming credit for preventing a coup against the then People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) administration.

The President and his APNU+AFC coalition, which had campaigned heavily that it would make Guyana safe again, cited the need to seal off Guyana’s borders from contraband, drugs and guns. “We need to make this country secure by securing our borders from transnational crime. You can’t wink at back-tracking and nod at contraband smuggling and expect to be safe,” he said.

Among those who had been kidnapped and subsequently released after huge ransoms had been paid had been a number of Trinidadians who had been working on a  potable water supply improvement project and then US Embassy Regional Security Officer, Stephen Lesniak while he had been playing golf at the Lusignan Golf Course.

SOURCE

Mr. Gillbaka.  So the family asked him and how many years will he take to get to the bottom of this crime.  Granger is know to be a very LAZY OLD soul.  Just ask the top rank boys like Normal McLean from the GDF, they think she was a lazy SOD.

Georgie

The anti-koolie gave an Anti-koolie serial killer hater the highest award in the land. You think he truly cares about Sawh killer. It is just a tool to try to divert attention and try to get something to stick. The Sawh family are politically naive to think otherwise.

The PPP gave the anti-black Roger Khan all sorts of equipment to go and murder black people in the name of the PPP. The PPP should be the last party to talk about crime. More citizens were murdered by the state under the PPP than at any other time in the history of the country.

If it was not for Roger East Indians of Guyana would have died like crabs in a bucket. East Indians of Guyana own that brother a debt they could never repay. 

So it was OK to kill blacks who weren't proven criminals (and that includes some UG students). And of course those Indians who thwarted his drug trafficking goals.

If it was not for Roger East Indians of Guyana would have died like crabs in a bucket. East Indians of Guyana own that brother a debt they could never repay. 

He pushed his cocaine which left many young indo junkies killing their relatives just to get a fix. Some hero you have there.

Don't worry.  These racists scream that the junkies are blacks with straight haired wigs.

Their clownishness is so sad!

Dunno how anyone can have respect for a known killer who is now languishing in a US jail with Bubba as his hubby. Yall try deh.

It would be in the interest of the PPP to support an Independent Inquiry into the murder of Sash Satyadeo Sawh.

He was honest, disciplined and a respectable Guyanese. I always wondered why on earth did the PPP not have an inquiry into his murder ?

His family deserves better and an Independent Inquiry is long overdue.

I first met this respectable and honest man on a bus trip to Ottawa many years ago when he was part of the ACG Canada fighting for free and fair elections in Guyana.

Just being around this man and listening to him gave you an impression of how honest, sincere and how much this man loved his country.

He also had a great sense of humour.

I have some beautiful pictures of him walking in front of the Canadian Parliament and some pictures with him and Janet with microphones protesting for free and fair elections.

This man's family deserves better.

It would be in the interest of the PPP to support an Independent Inquiry into the murder of Sash Satyadeo Sawh.

Now I would think that the murder (by the PPP) of a loyal and honorable person should have convinced you that the PPP is no good, but your hatred of blacks causes you to miss this.

Jalil posted:

Angry, ignorant, and have not a shred of evidence to support your wild and irresponsible statements.

Billy are you now trying to tell us PPP top Exco members are not former Black House of Israel Thugs Killers & Ballot Box Riggers ....... are you trying to tell us Jagdeo & Ramotar did not make the PPP De permanent Minority in Guyana.... What more Evidence you want we will be happy to give you