So with all the spots in GTA, what would be your vote? This is for best curry and Roti.

Mine would be

First: Roti Hut at Pitfield and McCowan Scarborough

Second: Oasis, the one that took over Channaman (always liked Channaman's) Midland and Eglinton Ave Scarborough

Roti Hut has changed owners several times over the years.I have not been there for years, have you tried Caribbean Wave roti and curry duck, it's just like back home, they are located at Milner and Morningside in Scarborough.

Yeah T, I do eat crab and Lobster too also fish.

VB sending us all the way to Brampton, by the time Iman get out there is time fo Breakfast.

Cain - don't forget that I coming from 'all the way from behind God's back'!! 

but...since I always visit famo in Brampton it is worth it.

I actually bought Aloo roti from Alima's yesterday since I was in the area. 

came home, warmed a piece up and enjoyed it with just some nice mango achar!  was yummmmmmm!

Villagebelle

Aloo roti is the bestest !!!!!

We don't buy aloo roti though. We do buy the dhal puri from a woman who make them to order from her house. The best made dhal puri I have ever had. And at $2.00 each, can't go wrong. I don't generally have dhal puri as a regular diet. We mostly have it when we have occasions. Therefore we generally order from her by the dozen.

alena06 posted:

Had the breakfast from Radica's in Brampton once, was good roti et al!!

When in New York you guys check out Singh's roti shop for the biggest roti you can ever get!!

Are they big like this Leena?

That's a big ass roti fuh clap!   

They don't clap those. They just put them in a sack and clap some good lash pun them.

We don't buy aloo roti though. We do buy the dhal puri from a woman who make them to order from her house. The best made dhal puri I have ever had. And at $2.00 each, can't go wrong. I don't generally have dhal puri as a regular diet. We mostly have it when we have occasions. Therefore we generally order from her by the dozen.

Could you give us contact info for this person?

marty posted:

Could you give us contact info for this person?

Gyal, this ohman lives in Miramar, Florida.

marty posted:

Hi Ksaz,

I live in Vancouver, BC Canada. We go to Toronto every 3 -4 years and I am always looking out for new places to eat while we are in TO.

I have some info on restaurants in Florida (Pompano Beach, Coral Springs, Sunrise) but these are East Indian Restaurants not Guyanese.

Marty 

Hi Marty,

You live pretty much as far away as possible from South Florida but it seems that you are familiar with South Florida. The cities you listed are all close by to where I live. My mom live in Margate which neighbors Coral Springs. I don't care for East Indian food and seldom want for Indian food outside of our home but will indulge from time to time. For decent West Indian food in my neighborhood, we have Tropics Sports Bar in Pembroke Pines. There is Hibiscus in Sunrise. Those two I can vouch for. But the bestest dhal puri comes from this woman I know name Bibi who makes them to order from her home. Give me a holla if you are ever in my neighborhood.

U order from Ken wife

warrior posted:

U order from Ken wife

I know her husband as Mohammed. Is he also Ken?

warrior posted:

U order from Ken wife

The man in the US.

Villagebelle posted:
Jungle Girl posted:

I'm so jealous! Here Indian restaurants don't serve anything close to roti much less dhall puri .... just naan!!!!

Girl - you have to learn how to make the roti and dhall puri!!

it's soooooo easy

Hi JG,

Here are some You Tube videos on how to make roti. The first one has rough language.

BEST GUYANESE ROTI EVER

https://youtu.be/D8mDl1Nq4oA

West Indian (Guyanese Style) Step by Step on How to Make Paratha (Oil) Roti

https://youtu.be/7zntvF1VcQc

Marty