Zed posted:

I Find Your narrative about people on this site  interesting. Also your statement that many of them owe their lives to many black men and women who fought racism. They might want to take it up with you

Clearly he was referring to the Civil Rights struggle in the USA. 

Yes prior to that these folks from Guyana would not have been able to migrate to the USA, and would have had a much harder time, if they did manage to. Yet endless torrents of anti black filth pouring out of their mouths.

When it comes to racism in Guyana.  Face it.  You will hear more honesty about it from Afro Guyanese than you would from Indo Guyanese.  Rodney, Hinds, and many others were loud about the anti Indian racism of the Burnham era.   There is no widespread condemnation of these people as being Uncle Toms.

Very few Indians speak out about the anti black racism of the PPP, and the few bold to do so are called niggindians, congo lovers, neemakaram, and other quite vulgar insults.

It is in fact impossible to have a discussion about Indo racism on GNI, even though daily a cadre of Indian racists ensure that we know that it is life and kicking.

When it comes to racism in Guyana.  Face it.  You will hear more honesty about it from Afro Guyanese than you would from Indo Guyanese.  

Maybe you should ask why this is the case. Indians have always suffered brutality at the hands of Blacks, whether it is in everyday life: robberies, harassment etc or politically orchestrated violence. Indians also remember the dark days of the PNC and how they were the target of their failed policies, denying them their traditional foods which was so important to their culture. Now we see Indians once again bearing the brunt of robberies as crime spirals out of control in the lead up to the 50th sport.  

When it comes to racism in Guyana.  Face it.  You will hear more honesty about it from Afro Guyanese than you would from Indo Guyanese.  

Maybe you should ask why this is the case. Indians have always suffered brutality at the hands of Blacks, whether it is in everyday life: robberies, harassment etc or politically orchestrated violence. Indians also remember the dark days of the PNC and how they were the target of their failed policies, denying them their traditional foods which was so important to their culture. Now we see Indians once again bearing the brunt of robberies as crime spirals out of control in the lead up to the 50th sport.  

Summarized from your post Blacks are the perpetrators of racism towards Indians,you certainly need to read up what caused the the distrust between the two major race,poor analysis dig deeper.

. Blacks vote for the PNC who so far has done nothing productive or beneficial for Guyana.

The PPP is a black hating party, which campaigns by demonizing blacks as being violent, lazy, criminals and useless.

How do we know this? Well the Chronicle, when it was under the control of the PPP wrote a whole article on this.  The PPP, as the entity which controlled the Chronicle, was asked to apologize.

The PPP said nothing.........but you think that it is rational for blacks to vote for them.

Will you suggest that Mexicans and Muslims vote for Trump?

What does this response have to do with my comment above?

Nevertheless, blacks can continue supporting the PNC just because it is predominantly black no matter how much that leaves them with white mouth. I don't know about all areas of Guyana but when I traveled around Georgetown during the previous PNC days, black neighborhoods were much more underprivileged than non-black one. Just pick them, Campbellville compared to Prashad Nagar and Kitty. Ruimveldt, LaPenitence, Lodge, Albouystown, to name a few. But like I said, they can continue voting against their hungry belly just to support the 'black' party.

The other question to ask is why blacks in those areas were so underprivileged. Was it because of the PNC government or because of their own unwillingness/inability to elevate themselves?

Summarized from your post Blacks are the perpetrators of racism towards Indians,you certainly need to read up what caused the the distrust between the two major race,poor analysis dig deeper.

Same argument being made here in America. The Black Lives Matter has moved from a protest against racism and brutality to a movement engaged in illegal activities, vandalism and hooliganism. The Black Lives Matter Movement is now just as guilty as those they protest against.

Personally, I will side with the police because more times than not, the police will protect me and my family as opposed to them violating my rights.

What reading up I need, I lived through the events that let to this distrust. I was a victim of Black harassment through my school years as well as my short adult life in Guyana while running a business. 

Guyana has an ethnic dilemma involving the two major groups who share strong mutual suspicion and animosity towards each other in the political domain. During the campaign leading up to last May's general elections I had expressed optimism in GNI Political that voters would overlook skin color and hair texture and cast their ballots for a government of national unity that APNU+AFC presidential candidate David Granger had promised. However, the elections results disappointed me in the sense that the overwhelming majority of Indians voted for the PPP, giving it more votes than in the 2011 elections. Clearly, the 12 percent Indian votes that the AFC had promised APNU did not materialize.

Since last May PPP supporters have increased their suspicion and antagonism and bitterness exponentially, as their comments in GNI Political Forum, Facebook and blogs show.

I have stated repeatedly here that Guyana would get real progress only when its citizens stop voting race and cast their ballots on issues and programs. As of now, I don't think we will reach that transformation in this generation and the next. Guyana will be marking time for decades to come. Guyana remains a house divided against itself.

Two things wrong with your observations above Gilly.

Firstly there was never going to be any National Unity Government and that was quickly proven after the election. So if you believed in Granger's National Unity promise, clearly you were fooled. Even Moses don't seem to believe in Granger's promises now.

Secondly, it is interesting that you feel the need to ridicule Indians who chose not to drink the Kool Aid like you did. Any honest person would have to admitted that there are many more Indians that have voted across the race line than blacks have so if you needed a group to ridicule you should have picked on blacks since they vote race much more than Indians.

It is more reasonable for Indians to support the PPP since the PPP is the only government that was democratic and successful. Blacks vote for the PNC who so far has done nothing productive or beneficial for Guyana.

Sorry to say Gilly but we are not interested in your Indian hating bai.

This is most candid and rational response to the issue of people voting race in Guyana.  Learn something Gilbakka. Ksazma's head firmly set on his shoulders.

Ditto!!!!

What reading up I need,I lived through the events that let to this distrust. I was a victim of Black harassment through my school years as well as my short adult life in Guyana while running a business. 

You got to be an old fella to experience what happened in the early 60's.I lived in Guyana up to 1996,had no clue what was taking place during my adolescent years when the politicians used the raced based tactics to gain power,I grew up in mixed village and never experienced any harassment from Blacks,i worked in GT for a almost a decade my employment was at a business at Robb St never had any incidents of harassment.

I guess to each his own.

Guyana has an ethnic dilemma involving the two major groups who share strong mutual suspicion and animosity towards each other in the political domain. During the campaign leading up to last May's general elections I had expressed optimism in GNI Political that voters would overlook skin color and hair texture and cast their ballots for a government of national unity that APNU+AFC presidential candidate David Granger had promised. However, the elections results disappointed me in the sense that the overwhelming majority of Indians voted for the PPP, giving it more votes than in the 2011 elections. Clearly, the 12 percent Indian votes that the AFC had promised APNU did not materialize.

Since last May PPP supporters have increased their suspicion and antagonism and bitterness exponentially, as their comments in GNI Political Forum, Facebook and blogs show.

I have stated repeatedly here that Guyana would get real progress only when its citizens stop voting race and cast their ballots on issues and programs. As of now, I don't think we will reach that transformation in this generation and the next. Guyana will be marking time for decades to come. Guyana remains a house divided against itself.

Firstly there was never going to be any National Unity Government and that was quickly proven after the election. So if you believed in Granger's National Unity promise, clearly you were fooled. Even Moses don't seem to believe in Granger's promises now.

Secondly, it is interesting that you feel the need to ridicule Indians who chose not to drink the Kool Aid like you did. Any honest person would have to admitted that there are many more Indians that have voted across the race line than blacks have so if you needed a group to ridicule you should have picked on blacks since they vote race much more than Indians.

It is more reasonable for Indians to support the PPP since the PPP is the only government that was democratic and successful. Blacks vote for the PNC who so far has done nothing productive or beneficial for Guyana.

This is most candid and rational response to the issue of people voting race in Guyana.  Learn something Gilbakka. Ksazma's head firmly set on his shoulders.

Ditto!!!!

What reading up I need,I lived through the events that let to this distrust. I was a victim of Black harassment through my school years as well as my short adult life in Guyana while running a business. 

You got to be an old fella to experience what happened in the early 60's.I lived in Guyana up to 1996,had no clue what was taking place during my adolescent years when the politicians used the raced based tactics to gain power,I grew up in mixed village and never experienced any harassment from Blacks,i worked in GT for a almost a decade my employment was at a business at Robb St never had any incidents of harassment.

I guess to each his own.

Yes we know.  You told us at least a hundred times before!!!

I guess to each his own.

Were you also harassed tell us nuh ?,what was your experience with Blacks.

I guess to each his own.

Looks like Django is losing it.

I guess to each his own.

Looks like Django is losing it.

Skelly,not yet bhai.

I guess to each his own.

Dude I am not even talking about 60's, I was born in the 60's. I am talking about 70's early 80's with no concern or knowledge of the 60's. You believe that only 60's events fostered distrust? You are wrong. Even in the 90's when PPP won elections, Blacks rioted and Indians once again were the victims of their frustration of losing power. Then the mo fiah slow fiah era initiated by Hoyte ensued where Indians were again targeted for harassment and brutality.  

My adult years in Guyana were the 80's before I left in 1987. During those adult years, I, being a motor cycle owner hung out a lot with blacks especially in the Campbellville area. My mechanics were also blacks from Campbellville, Mikey and Clarkie and we rode the streets at nights like any irresponsible bike owner in Georgetown did in the 80's. By that time I was not as scared of blacks as I was when I was a kid and can understand where Django is coming from given that he grew up really in the 80's. The races were as divided as they were in earlier times. I used to be terrified having to pass by that big tree at Stone and Campbell Aves. because people used to get robbed there. I once got a flat in Haley Street and drove my car all the way to that tire repair shop on Durban Street because I didn't trust not doing so. Those fears were not imagined.

Dude I am not even talking about 60's, I was born in the 60's. I am talking about 70's early 80's with no concern or knowledge of the 60's. You believe that only 60's events fostered distrust? You are wrong. Even in the 90's when PPP won elections, Blacks rioted and Indians once again were the victims of their frustration of losing power. Then the mo fiah slow fiah era initiated by Hoyte ensued where Indians were again targeted for harassment and brutality.  

2015 is the first time in the last 25 years where the losing side did not resort to violence and wrecking havoc on the Guyanese people. For 25 years prior to 1992, the PNC fostered an environment where non-PNC supporters felt scared or threatened to even peacefully protest against the PNC.

I grew up in the 60s in Skeldon and saw how the Indians were scared of the blacks. Why? Because they were nice people?

What's the percentage of blacks in Skeldon.

Bai Django, I don't know as of now. I do see some when I visit. It's not the ones from Skeldon doing the bad stuff; it's the ones who come from Scottsburg and Little Africa.

Incidentally if this percentage is small, then it makes blacks in Skeldon look worse.

I don't think it is 25%. During my school days, I had no more than 1 or 2 black kids in my class of 20 or 30 kids.

I guess to each his own.

Someone please send Django the GIFT report if you have a copy of it. Might give him a different perspective. 

Z

Bai Django, I don't know as of now. I do see some when I visit. It's not the ones from Skeldon doing the bad stuff; it's the ones who come from Scottsburg and Little Africa.

Where is the little Africa??

Suh why are they allowed to infiltrate and do bad stuff in Skeldon,they people should put some stick lash pun them r.....s,they would ketch sense.

Zed posted:

Finally, Caribny. How many time have I posted that it is an exercise in futility  to discuss, argue, address the issue of racism on this site.

Do you think that it is more fruitful to discuss this in Guyana?  This is just a microcosm of what is going on in Guyana.

So we will continue to wallow in backwardness led by some of the worst political parties in the Caribbean.   Guyanese will continue to be disrespected throughout the English speaking Caribbean. 

This as we remain the poorest, scoring lowest in most indices of socio economic development, something that did NOT change during the PPPs 23 years. Despite having the biggest resource base.

Suh why are they allowed to infiltrate and do bad stuff in Skeldon,they people should put some stick lash pun them r.....s,they would ketch sense.

To understand this phenomena, one has to consider the level of paranoia during those 70's and early 80's years. People did not have any confidence in the police force to protect them so felt out-numbered even though they were larger in numbers.

Zed posted:

I guess to each his own.

Someone please send Django the GIFT report if you have a copy of it. Might give him a different perspective. 

Zed,i found it will take a peek.

What reading up I need, I lived through the events that let to this distrust. I was a victim of Black harassment through my school years as well as my short adult life in Guyana while running a business. 

And many blacks can also cite exclusion from Indians.

Continue your screams that the only racism which exists in Guyana is at the hands of blacks.

I have seen a lot of bad stuff especially during the 1964 election campaign. After that Forbes controlled everything..blackman in charge.

To understand this phenomena, one has to consider the level of paranoia during those70's and early 80's years. People did not have any confidence in the police force to protect them so felt out-numbered even though they were larger in numbers.

Kaz,that the Kabaka era i am aware of the situation during that period.

. Blacks vote for the PNC who so far has done nothing productive or beneficial for Guyana.

The PPP is a black hating party, which campaigns by demonizing blacks as being violent, lazy, criminals and useless.

How do we know this? Well the Chronicle, when it was under the control of the PPP wrote a whole article on this.  The PPP, as the entity which controlled the Chronicle, was asked to apologize.

The PPP said nothing.........but you think that it is rational for blacks to vote for them.

Will you suggest that Mexicans and Muslims vote for Trump?

What does this response have to do with my comment above?

Nevertheless, blacks can continue supporting the PNC just because it is predominantly black no matter how much that leaves them with white mouth. I don't know about all areas of Guyana but when I traveled around Georgetown during the previous PNC days, black neighborhoods were much more underprivileged than non-black one. Just pick them, Campbellville compared to Prashad Nagar and Kitty. Ruimveldt, LaPenitence, Lodge, Albouystown, to name a few. But like I said, they can continue voting against their hungry belly just to support the 'black' party.

The other question to ask is why blacks in those areas were so underprivileged. Was it because of the PNC government or because of their own unwillingness/inability to elevate themselves?

The PPP vilifies blacks. So why should blacks vote for them?

And are the neighborhoods that you describe thriving now?  They are probably even WORSE!

And many blacks can also cite exclusion from Indians.

Continue your screams that the only racism which exists in Guyana is at the hands of blacks.

Carib bai, why didn't the PNC years through 1992 help to elevate blacks? Even Corbin when he was at Home Affairs Ministry used to bum me for money.

Ditto!!!!

Bibi blames blacks for 100% of the racism in Guyana.  why the surprise!

I have seen a lot of bad stuff especially during the 1964 election campaign. After that Forbes controlled everything..blackman in charge.

I had no clue what was happening during that year,i saw some older folks making guns,and the British Army woke us up in wee hours of one morning tumbled our house searching for weapons,we were living then in the back lands of the village.