Press Release

A number of community-based community organizations in the Greater Richmond Hill area, have come together under the aegis of Y50IndGroup, to organize an important event in recognition of Guyana's 50th anniversary. Organizers have made it quite clear that this is not a celebration, but rather a serious reflection into the struggles and challenges that lie ahead. "There is nothing to celebrate," says the group's PRO. Also, Y50IndGroup is a non-political, non-partisan, non-religious organization committed to a free and independent Guyana, the rule of law, the upholding of democratic values, equity and justice, and economic empowerment of all Guyanese. In keeping with the above values, Y50IndGroup says that it could not, in all conscience, even think of celebration when thousands of workers were fired by the present government; when it (government) is also closing Wales and LBI sugar estates (where over 28,000 lives would be adversely affected); when public safety is endangered by a spiraling crime wave; when investors' confidence is low; when the country is more divided than ever, among other things. Whatever major success the country had accomplished was during the period 1992 to 2015. We acknowledge that this success belongs to all Guyanese. It seems now that this is being eroded. Instead of building upon this foundation of success, the administration seems to be taking a detour. Y50IndGroup feels that in view of this development, it's essential that "its event focuses instead on struggles and challenges ahead. There is urgent need to re-direct focus onto a vision for a better Guyana. At the same time, it is important to preserve the country's independence and democratic values, especially in light of the seeming progression to militarization and party paramountcy." As part of the reflection proceedings, Y50IndGroup will be honoring two categories of Guyanese who have struggled for the attainment of Independence and the restoration of Democracy in Guyana. These honorees were the unsung heroes of the Independence and the Return to Democracy movements. Y50IndGroup would honor those whom, it believes, were never recognized before for their work and sacrifice in these areas. And Y50IndGroup can only honor those that possess the minimum standards set out (at least 10 years of activism in these two categories) and who have been recommended by members of the Greater Richmond Hill community. Y50IndGroup cannot or pretend to operate at the national level. It is also aware that other organizations are identifying and would be making awards to those whom they deem, worthy. We cannot speak for them. Y50IndGroup has established a third category of award for Exemplary Service. Again the standard for this award is community, cultural, and humanitarian service of a high standard performed for a period of not less than 15 years. There are individuals and groups that promote cultural events, as part of a business activity. They would not be considered for an award. The basis of all three categories of award is volunteerism. The occasion of the 50th independence anniversary would never return. This is an historic event in which the community's unsung heroes must be given due recognition. However honorees must be present to receive their awards. Awards in absentia would not be considered, except in extra-ordinary circumstances. The Reflections event takes place at the elegant Liberty Palace, 130-11 Liberty Avenue, Richmond Hill, New York 11419, on Friday May 13, 2016 7.30pm. The program consists of a review of Guyana's struggles and challenges, the grant of awards, singing, dancing and free buffet dinner. Because of space limitation, we regret to say that attendance would be by invitation only. For info, please contact: 646-772-4272, 347-323-6019, 347-287-2461 Y50IndGroup Secretariat 127-21 Liberty Avenue, Richmond Hill, NY 11419

Vish M posted:

Press Release

. Whatever major success the country had accomplished was during the period 1992 to 2015. We acknowledge that this success belongs to all Guyanese. .

Well "all Guyanese" don't think so, as Guyana was spiraling into being New Indesh with blacks being reduced to Dalit level status.

A true sign of a racist is when they tell people from another group what they should think and feel.

The vast majority of African and mixed identified people see the PPP as racist.  The brown bai KKK can continue with their simultaneous display of racism, and pretending as if racism ended in 1992, and resumed in 2015.

This must be a group representing comedians if you claim to be non-political and non-partisan.

Knucklehead, why they have to be comedians?

I would like to attend, but they say "by invitation only". That rules me out.

Anyone know who is involved in this committee...no names are attached to the info??

You in RH Queens check out  Vish M

This must be a group representing comedians if you claim to be non-political and non-partisan.

Knucklehead, why they have to be comedians?

I would like to attend, but they say "by invitation only". That rules me out.

Anyone know who is involved in this committee...no names are attached to the info??

Numpty, they claim to be non-political and non-partisan. Did you actually read their press release?

Muslims Mosque, Hindus Mandirs & Christians Church who represent the majority of Guyanese in the Richmond Hill Area are not part of this 50 cent Indo Scheme.(Y50IndGroup)

The Religious Groups have distancing themselves from these Preditors who want to destroy the race relationship in Guyana...... The Religious Groups Support the Govt of the day and refuse to dabble in Racism.... or become bogged down with the Minority in Guyana.

A Pandit said the same fella who is spreading this Indo Racism was singing a different tune when he took Elizabeth Harper to the Mandir and Hang nuff Mala pon she neck......back then Black People were good..... and were welcome in the mandir.

I wonder if they will explain how the Ole Black House of Israel Thugs and Ballot Box Riggers and Thieves are now in leadership position in the PPP.

When Jagdeo became president......this same group (Y50IndGroup) operating under a different name ..... Made Jagdeo get down on his knees and crawl across de toilet floor at Tropical Paradise on Atlantic Avenue.

Kari posted:

Sounds like Year 50 Independence Group - a rather convoluted name anyhow, but one devoid of racial or partisan overtones other than its location.

This was full of racial or partisan overtones.  Obviously you have fled back to the PPP so are blind to this.

I'll read it later caribny. I was just addressing the title after seeing the responses without reading the "Release". If it's racist I'll speak out obviously.

Kari posted:

Sounds like Year 50 Independence Group - a rather convoluted name anyhow, but one devoid of racial or partisan overtones other than its location.

This was full of racial or partisan overtones.  Obviously you have fled back to the PPP so are blind to this.

Kari is a fast learner and he is nonpartisan! 

Why don't you comment on your buddies who are now calling blacks jungle animals?

No wonder the PPP cannot get black support.

Kari posted:

I'll read it later caribny. I was just addressing the title after seeing the responses without reading the "Release". If it's racist I'll speak out obviously.

Its blatantly pro PPP, and probably is packed with people like cobra.

Thank you Vish for making this event known to the public. I thank the 50IndGroup for making this event possible to commemorate Guyana's 50th independence anniversary. I always extend my moral support to events like this and others that headed by our great community leaders. It will be a day to remember when you stand on the side of working people of Guyana and the sugar workers who lost their jobs under the coalition government. These are the ideals that our hero, Dr Cheddi Jagan stood for. 

Vish, as part of this group I must take issue with you and the rest involved.

Organizers have made it quite clear that this is not a celebration, but rather a serious reflection into the struggles and challenges that lie ahead.

A country’s Independence anniversary is cause for celebration. All countries have struggles and challenges yet they celebrate.

Also, Y50IndGroup is a non-political, non-partisan, non-religious organization committed to a free and independent Guyana, the rule of law, the upholding of democratic values, equity and justice, and economic empowerment of all Guyanese.

For a non-partisan group it certainly rules that Guyana currently is not free, not independent, and that there is no rule of law and democratic values.

â€Ķâ€Ķ..when thousands of workers were fired by the present government; when it (government) is also closing Wales and LBI sugar estates (where over 28,000 lives would be adversely affected); when public safety is endangered by a spiraling crime wave; when investors' confidence is low; when the country is more divided than ever, among other things.

Who gave this group the academic or intellectual authority to pronounce on an economic sector and the realities of sugar production, costs and pricing?

Whatever major success the country had accomplished was during the period 1992 to 2015.

And you still claim the non-partisan mantle? Who are the scholars in this group that pronounced that period to be one of economic success when Guyana still has a 1960s economy and a largely uneducated workforce?

I give upâ€Ķâ€ĶI refuse to read the rest of this diatribe. My first response in this thread was about the title’s esoteric name. And I said 50 = 50 years and Ind = Independence. You guys need independence of whatever shyte you’re hooked on. Break that corrupt dependency. Knock the coalition for whatever its worth, but please don’t insult our collective intelligence about the years 1992 – 2015 or that there is no rule of law and sugar estates must continue to bleed the rest of the economy.

Kari posted:

.. Knock the coalition for whatever its worth, but please don’t insult our collective intelligence about the years 1992 – 2015 or that there is no rule of law and sugar estates must continue to bleed the rest of the economy.

Agreed.

It is legitimate to be critical of the coalition.  In fact Ulele, during the campaign, warned Guyanese to hold them accountable, if the won.

And clearly they have made many mistakes, as suggesting even by people like Freddie K, and David Hinds, who were fervently anti PPP.

But to pretend as if 1992-2015 was thus halcyon period, or that all Guyanese benefitted.........Pure nonsense and a definite give away that this is a PPP outfit......or maybe some former Moses disciples, angered that they didn't get the personal favors that they expected.

Kari just raised his ugly head to defend this prostitution and vulgarity for the coalition to celebrate on the backs of the poor and unemployed people of Guyana. Remember to throw a bone to them hungry belly dogs when you squandering lavishly with the incompetents scorns of Guyana. The struggle was done 50 years ago. Not today or on May 26th. It's only the anniversary of independence we're engaged in. Nothing calls for this super spending when people are starving and travel warning is in effect due to crimes. People don't want to witness the release of criminals as a day of rejoicing. People don't want to have a nice time and get ripped off and killed. Granger wants to boost the economy by looting the visitors. The Canadian didn't take the bait. You should be  ashame of yourself, Kari.

Cobra, nothing in my post to my friend Vishnu is about a defense of the coalition government. It was a defense of Guyana and common sense about Guyana's growth or lack thereof during the years 1992 - 2015. Those were years in the "Release", not that I brought that period up. So stop being angry and see sense in what I post.

Cobra posted:

.. Nothing calls for this super spending when people are starving and travel warning is in effect due to crimes. .

When Jagdeo was super spending a few years ago with huge concerts during the 2011 election, you all said NOTHING.

If Ramotar was president today, and not Granger, the PPP would have been engaging in squandermania.

You all LOST! Get used to it!

Y50IndGroup

I read this as;   Why 50th Independence Group

This is the Y50IndianGroup.

They wish to hide that so they use "Ind", and then pretend that its Independence.

I wonder how long it will take them to talk about "PNC" Jungle animals, of course, every kid in Guyana knowing that "PNC" is code for blacks.

To speak out against the lost of jobs from the closure of two sugar factories or estates in Caribj's mind is an act of Indo-racism even though many of the workers on the breadlines are Afro-Guyanese.  

Could you believe this guy??

To speak out against loss of jobs when

1.  The closures began under the PPP.

2.  More closures were planned by the PPP.

How come you only noticed because the PPP is no longer in power.  You don't even begin to ask yourself why these closures are needed in the first place.

Within days of the coalition gov't coming to power Guysuco ran and told them that they couldn't meet payroll, and risked not being provided with vital supplies as they owed their suppliers millions.

Clearly that was the fault of the PPP.

Now given that the PPPs attitude towards bauxite was tough, APNU could have done the same to the ENTIRE sugar industry. Instead they are attempting to save part of it, rather than seeing the ENTIRE industry collapsing.

This type of discussion would show that you aren't a racist, but given that you are a racist, all you wish to do is scream "black man a kill ahbe".

BTW I am glad that you admit that some blacks work in sugar. Before this you screamed that Indians do all the work, and blacks just beat and steal.

Y50IndGroup
127-21 Liberty Avenue, Richmond Hill, NY 11419
Tele: 347-323-6019

Dear Honoree:

Congratulations on your well-deserved award on the occasion of Guyana's 50th
Independence. Keep up your good works.

As part of our effort to reflect on the struggles and challenges that lie ahead for
our beautiful country, we have planned a pre-event lunch at Hibiscus Restaurant, 124
Street and 101 Avenue, Richmond Hill 11419 on Sunday May 1, 2016 between 12:00pm and
2:00pm.

Your participation in the pre-event lunch event is optional, but it would be nice if
you could join us.

Our organization, Y50IndGroup, expresses its gratitude to the management of Hibiscus
that has donated the space. Donation per head for the lunch is $25:00. The net
proceeds go towards meeting the group's necessary expenses for the awards program to
be held on May 13, 2016. Please note that we do not receive funding from any source
(government or foundation or NGO) whatsoever.

This is also to remind you that our main event, "Reflections on Guyana's 50th
independence" takes place on Friday, May 13, 2016 7:30pm at Liberty Palace, 130-11
Liberty Avenue, NY 11419. At that program where you would receive your award, you
can bring along 3 guests. Admission is free. Dinner is also free.

Thanks for your cooperation and have a blessed day.

Sincerely

Dr Tara Singh
Chair

Vish M