So, wasn't feeling well..upper chest pain...a bit nauseous, so I checked my BP. It was 215 over 120! 

Since I was home alone with my son, I called 911. They came and gave me one of those tablets to lower BP. It not not work.(I am on BP meds).

They took me to ER and hooked me up. BP came down a bit after a while. After some blood tests, it was concluded the high BP affected the heart, release some sort of enzyme.

After a day in the hospital, I was transported to St. Francis ( one of the top heart hospitals in the US). They did an angio. My arteries were clear, just a couple minor buildup which I need to take care of with meds. My cholestorol is 121. Everything seems ok

Prognosis: Visit my doctor and have him adjust my BP meds. Seems my genetics have kicked in since my family history has plenty BP problems. I am relatively healthy, my numbers are good, just my BP is out of whack, the high BP affected my heart.

Thank Allah I am ok...I hope

Hope everything gets back to normal soon Riff. My father suffered from high BP and strokes were his demise. I usually check mine occasionally and mine is always normal so far. If you ever feel sick and see signs of a stroke, get to the hospital as soon as possible. If you get there within the first three hours, you have an excellent chance of survival. After that, your chances diminish rapidly and even if you survive, you can suffer from brain damage and other complications. Get well soon.  

my old man died from same issue

sorry to hear. Walk a bit. I just came back from a 4 mile trek with my dogs. Got a bit of nature, some fresh air and did not even feel I was on a walk. I think walking is best for you.

I hope you feel better. I am going in for a full check up next week. I feel good but I am trying to do a half tri in June so I need to know the increased activity is fine. As you get older you do need to take care. We are at that age where we can keel over at any time over any system failure. It is usually the heart of course. Make sure you are stacked up on Vitamin D. It is heart healthy.

Just increase your walking a bit and you will be well. Do not become too fearful that you will die if you do too much. Doing too little kills. I won't wish you to get well. I expect you will be well.

sorry to hear. Walk a bit. I just came back from a 4 mile trek with my dogs. Got a bit of nature, some fresh air and did not even feel I was on a walk. I think walking is best for you.

I hope you feel better. I am going in for a full check up next week. I feel good but I am trying to do a half tri in June so I need to know the increased activity is fine. As you get older you do need to take care. We are at that age where we can keel over at any time over any system failure. It is usually the heart of course. Make sure you are stacked up on Vitamin D. It is heart healthy.

Just increase your walking a bit and you will be well. Do not become too fearful that you will die if you do too much. Doing too little kills. I won't wish you to get well. I expect you will be well.

Any least pain I feel nowadays makes me wonder...just need to relax and don't get worked up

Riff, I wish you good health, cut down on the salt and red meat. Also do daily exercise, even if it is just 15 mins. Your BP reading seems quite high, normally it should be 120 over 80 , the bottom number is important, keep it under 90. The old saying, Watch what you eat.

Ole people say " Eat Lil Bit - Live Laang!

Riff, with that wake-up call you must watch your health carefully. It's 19 years since I had my heart attack and nearly 4 years since my stroke, with 3 angioplasties and coronary stents to boot. You too can survive a long time by taking your medication regularly, sticking to a heart-healthy diet, and being physically active. I wish you well.

Riff, I wish you good health, cut down on the salt and red meat. Also do daily exercise, even if it is just 15 mins. Your BP reading seems quite high, normally it should be 120 over 80 , the bottom number is important, keep it under 90. The old saying, Watch what you eat.

Sometimes when you eat with eyes open you find you does get stuff caught in it.

Sometimes when you eat with eyes open you find you does juk it.

Riff,

I am very sorry to hear about your heart attack. Please take rest and recover.

Lots of good advice from posters. Watch your diet, exercise and take your meds as prescribed. 

I am also high risk for hear disease. My father had quadruple bypass at 50 and is still going strong at 80. Lifestyle changes are very important and prayers are also very important.

I wish you a speedy recovery.

Chameli posted:

[]

Hey Riffstah, hope u are much much better...i see you going to Masjid...God  help those who  help demselves....so please follow some of the advise on here from all the gniers...stay on top of ur health (write a will too LOL)

from mid January to now, if my fitbit is telling the truth, i have walked more than 300 MILES (not KM)...yesterday i did over 22k steps with over 9 miles.

Wanna do a challenge over the next 30 days? We can do it on map my walk.  Ray ray can join in. I only did 240 miles walking since January. I do not track some of it because I usually forget to start the app. I rode 1131 miles. I hate fitbit. I have the Polar V800 watch.

Riff, with a BP of 215/120, to put it bluntly, you should not still be standing up.  Bai, that is VERY VERY SERIOUS wake-up call.

I was in emerge and a guy walked in with BP of 205/110, before he can say anything, the entire team was all over him. He was checking-in while they were working on him.  

I believe, as we age, diet is more important than exercise, even though I attend aerobics three times weekly and made a rule not to watch a movie unless I am on the tread mill. I don't have cable. Its torture to find out how the movie will end, but my rule is firm and this encourage me for more time on the tread mill.  

When we were young not even Superman could hurt us, but now its rass to pay  and we have to pay very close attention to our health, if we want to enjoy our senior years with our family. Mara is an example how disabling and dependant on others, a  stroke can become.   Use your age and  height  to determine what your weight should  be and work towards achieving that goal.  Diabetes is also very  important to avoid getting.      

Doctors are important, but we need to take more personal responsibility for our health. As was mentioned here, look closely at what you eat and drink. Look for stroke diet on the net.   

After my wake up call and having to go often to the drug store to measure my BP, I recently bought a BP machine at Costco, might be about US$50. [CDN was $61.] Its very easy to use  and very important that you measure your BP daily.

Because I travel a lot  and standardize all my camera accessories using AA batteries, I  bought the doctor recommend model BP765CAN made by OMRON. Its uses both AC and AA batteries. The 'CAN' might mean distributed in Canada, but its manufactured  in Japan and distributed by OMRON in Lake Forest, Illinois, USA.

One other caution, if a person is on heart meds for a long time, they could become immune to the meds without knowing it, causing the BP to raise, resulting in a stroke.  So its very important for a  person to measure their BP often, when they are on BP meds.   Scans and MRI might  not show what cause the stroke, if a person become immune to their meds, but the result could be just as deadly.  

Just imagine how shitty GNI could become if you are not around to keep things in order, so get off your ass and look after yourself, because no one else will.  LOL  

Last edited by Tola

Riff - I am really sorry to hear that you had a heart attack.  My thoughts and prayers are with you for a full recovery.  I like Storm's idea of mapping your excercise with a group.  I have done over 300 miles since January 1 in the gym and in my daily activities.  You can track it on a Fitbit and link up with a group to encourage each other.  I am a firm believer in exercise.

Good luck bro and speedy recovery.  Your lifestyle change starts now!  Take care of yourself.

Now I am getting a chance to respond to this thread. Ray sorry to hear what happened. You did the right thing by calling emergency help right away and not taking any chances. I wish you a full and speedy recovery and please do take care of yourself. Your health is very important,

I am sure it was those guys on Political that brought this on

Amral

Couz now saw this!!  Please take care of yourself. Use two fleg of warm garlic every day and lots of water with fresh cut lemon.  I wish you a speedy recovery and as Bibi say... your lifestyle changes start now. I know it will be difficult but think of your family, they need you , and we need you also.  

Suffer similar last December, Emergency declared Red Zone.  

Some Great advice from members.  

Take care bro. 

You are lucky Riff, most people don't even get a warning. I know a few over the past couple years that went without a warning. At least you know now and can take precautionary measures such as exercise, diet and medication. 

At least if you keel over we know is one of them skinny legs bruck up. Dem boys seh that all de neignbourhood stray dogs does gather at your house in the morning and chase you all the way to the train station ands do the reverse in the afternoon. That is the reason you have them spindly pika legs and can run as if satan chasing you. Andre seh he knew immediately you could beat Nuff in the race. He was more worried if you won't go airbourne or bruk you foot given you look wus dan wan real maga daag

You are lucky Riff, most people don't even get a warning. I know a few over the past couple years that went without a warning. At least you know now and can take precautionary measures such as exercise, diet and medication. 

At least if you keel over we know is one of them skinny legs bruck up. Dem boys seh that all de neignbourhood stray dogs does gather at your house in the morning and chase you all the way to the train station ands do the reverse in the afternoon. That is the reason you have them spindly pika legs and can run as if satan chasing you. Andre seh he knew immediately you could beat Nuff in the race. He was more worried if you won't go airbourne or bruk you foot given you look wus dan wan real maga daag

And dem seh Stormy ain't no Guyanese.