http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...indian-support-base/

PPPC consolidating East Indian support base

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo speaking with the media shortly before voting in the 2015 Local Government Elections.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo was Friday morning unequivocal that his People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) is first appealing to its traditional East Indian support base before reaching across to other segments of the society for political support-base.

“There is no hidden agenda here. Everyone knows where the bulk of the support of the two parties come from – APNU and PPP. A significant amount of our support comes from rural folks and Indo-Guyanese,” he said when asked whether the PPP has become an ethnic party.

Speaking with reporters outside St. John’s College, Waterloo Street, Georgetown where he cast his ballot in Local Government Elections, the former Guyanese leader said while non-traditional support has grown in areas such as Linden, Georgetown and New Amsterdam where infrastructural work was done, his party had failed in its political work while in office from 1992 to 2015. “Sometimes you do a lot of civil works but if you don’t follow up with the political work you don’t get the sort of benefit,” he said, adding that opponents portray a  skewed view of development.

He noted that the PPPC’s votes have grown in Linden, Region 10 from two percent in 1992 to 24 percent in 2006 but declined to about 17 percent in the 2011 and 2016 general and regional elections because his party had neglected the momentum there. “We intend to resume work once we first of all consolidate the base to work in areas that traditionally vote for us because we have significant successes in those votes,” he added.

Jagdeo reiterated that the PPPC’s priority immediately after the Local Government Elections is to intensify its campaign in both PPPC and APNU areas to regain the seat of central government. “We need to consolidate our base but we need to work hard in APNU-controlled areas to explain to people that our policies are good for everyone-all of the people of the country and that they have nothing and that they had nothing to fear in the past with us being in power, they have nothing to fear with us resuming power and that we value their support too,” he said. The PPP intends to attract more women, youth and older folks to join and support the PPPC.

Meanwhile, the former Guyanese leader hoped that the state-owned Guyana Sugar Corporation would give workers time-off to vote in Friday’s (March 18, 2016) Local Government Elections being held for the first time in 23 years.  “We know that is not an institutional instruction but that will be huge for us if it turns out to be true because the sugar-belt traditionally supported the PPP,” he said.

Jagdeo acknowledged that the turnout at local government elections up to 10 AM was poor, partly because of the fact that government has not declared polling day a National Holiday. Some observers forecast that more persons would cast their ballots late Friday afternoon after they would have returned home from work.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo was Friday morning unequivocal that his People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) is first appealing to its traditional East Indian support base

Jagdeo admits that the PPP is a "coolie people party".

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo was Friday morning unequivocal that his People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) is first appealing to its traditional East Indian support base before reaching across to other segments of the society for political support-base.

“There is no hidden agenda here. Everyone knows where the bulk of the support of the two parties come from – APNU and PPP. A significant amount of our support comes from rural folks and Indo-Guyanese,” he said when asked whether the PPP has become an ethnic party.

Speaking with reporters outside St. John’s College, Waterloo Street, Georgetown where he cast his ballot in Local Government Elections, the former Guyanese leader said while non-traditional support has grown in areas such as Linden, Georgetown and New Amsterdam where infrastructural work was done, his party had failed in its political work while in office from 1992 to 2015. “Sometimes you do a lot of civil works but if you don’t follow up with the political work you don’t get the sort of benefit,” he said, adding that opponents portray a  skewed view of development.

He noted that the PPPC’s votes have grown in Linden, Region 10 from two percent in 1992 to 24 percent in 2006 but declined to about 17 percent in the 2011 and 2016 general and regional elections because his party had neglected the momentum there. “We intend to resume work once we first of all consolidate the base to work in areas that traditionally vote for us because we have significant successes in those votes,” he added.

Jagdeo reiterated that the PPPC’s priority immediately after the Local Government Elections is to intensify its campaign in both PPPC and APNU areas to regain the seat of central government. “We need to consolidate our base but we need to work hard in APNU-controlled areas to explain to people that our policies are good for everyone-all of the people of the country and that they have nothing and that they had nothing to fear in the past with us being in power, they have nothing to fear with us resuming power and that we value their support too,” he said. The PPP intends to attract more women, youth and older folks to join and support the PPPC.

Meanwhile, the former Guyanese leader hoped that the state-owned Guyana Sugar Corporation would give workers time-off to vote in Friday’s (March 18, 2016) Local Government Elections being held for the first time in 23 years.  “We know that is not an institutional instruction but that will be huge for us if it turns out to be true because the sugar-belt traditionally supported the PPP,” he said.

Jagdeo acknowledged that the turnout at local government elections up to 10 AM was poor, partly because of the fact that government has not declared polling day a National Holiday. Some observers forecast that more persons would cast their ballots late Friday afternoon after they would have returned home from work.

You finally return to Planet Earth and discover this.  

Same article was posted last week on this forum...

ian posted:

Same article was posted last week. 

Yes. Jagdeo thinking that he can claim that the PPP is an explicitly East Indian party, and think that he can win elections.

Now some would think that he should have used LGE as an opportunity to move beyond his base, given that the PPP was accused of running a racist campaign last.

But sole focus on East Indian areas, where PPP victory was assured (given that seats are on a winner take all basis), led to the PPP losing ground in Amerindian areas, and failing to take advantage of the disaffection towards the coalition which is occurring in PNC strongholds.

But with Bobby and Ravi Dev as his advisers, no wonder Jagdeo can even admit that the PPP is a "Coolie people party".  So why should non Indians view the PPP credibly, when its main focus is the Indian vote?

ian posted:

Post the link to the thread where it was posted.

ian posted:

Post the link to the thread where it was posted.

He cannot. He is embarrassed that Jagdeo's "coolie people" party orientation was exposed.

I mean which leader boasts about consolidating a race vote, if they seek support from the broad swath of the population? Even Corbin wasn't so stupid!

That is some thing for analysts to pontificate on.  Not some one who will claim that he leads a party with multi ethnic support!

Ok. I was one of those who believed when he said, post May 11, 2015, that he understands that the PPP lost the elections because they made too many mistakes due to becoming disconnected from, and insesitive to the needs of, the people.  And I was hoping for a more broad minded and inclusive approach from the PPP. But evidently they have not changed. They are like the leopard that cannot change its spots. They are entrenched in partisan race based politics.   

They are disappointing!  

If ever proof was needed to show that Bharrat Jagdeo's PPP is markedly different from Cheddi Jagan's PPP, look no further than the news report Mars has posted.

For decades, Cheddi Jagan labored tirelessly to consolidate the PPP's working-class base that cut across ethnic boundaries. Not so now.

Is this another propaganda piece?  I am struggling to believe that Jagdeo said those divisive words.  This is the same nonsense the coalition was spilling all over the media earlier this year before the May elections.

You do not seem to break a step in light of the ugliness and nasty racism from Ugli et al. That these people actually believe what they say does not cause you to pause and comment that it is your countrymen the target for such nastiness. These are the raw naked face of the PPP. Jagdeo simply has to whistle.

susan posted:

Ok. I was one of those who believed when he said, post May 11, 2015, that he understands that the PPP lost the elections because they made too many mistakes due to becoming disconnected from, and insesitive to the needs of, the people.  And I was hoping for a more broad minded and inclusive approach from the PPP. But evidently they have not changed. They are like the leopard that cannot change its spots. They are entrenched in partisan race based politics.   

They are disappointing!  

If they continue along this line, they are out of power for the next 2 decades or so.  And they, themselves,  would be the primary cause of that!

susan posted:

They are disappointing!  

If they continue along this line, they are out of power for the next 2 decades or so.  And they, themselves,  would be the primary cause of that!

"And I was hoping for a more broad minded and inclusive approach from the PPP."

What more inclusive approach you want. Black people get more than the  Indian under the PPP government. They burn down their schools and have it rebuild. $ 10,000 for ever school kids was taken away by this regime and Black People didn't complain.

VAT will be added on to water and electricity... just to let you know, north and south rumvielt, festival city, Sophia, Buxton, Alboystown, Linden etc don't pay for these services, so the VAT will only be paid by Indians. I can go on with more.  

ian posted:
susan posted:

They are disappointing!  

What more inclusive approach you want. Black people get more than the  Indian under the PPP government. They burn down their schools and have it rebuild. $ 10,000 for ever school kids was taken away by this regime and Black People didn't complain.

VAT will be added on towater and electricity... just to let you know, north and south rumvielt, festival city, Sophia, Buxton, Alboystown, Linden etc don't pay for these services, so the VAT will only be paid by Indians. I can go on with more.  

Ian you have some proof,i am aware Linden get subsidize electricity.

ian posted:
susan posted:

They are disappointing!  

VAT will be added on towater and electricity... just to let you know, north and south rumvielt, festival city, Sophia, Buxton, Alboystown, Linden etc don't pay for these services, so the VAT will only be paid by Indians. I can go on with more.  

Django, I don't know where you are living , I am between Guyana and Canada ... NO GPL worker can cut the power of someone home who don't pay their bills, and all the above villages don't pay. The lines man will be left on the lamp post and ladder get taken away. Water meter gets by pass and no Guywa workers can risk entering any of these village

There is a black family on Toucan  Drive in South Ruimveldt who had their power disconnected a few months ago, for not paying their bill. It took them more then a week to have it restored.

There are also some families in Berbice who used cables to bypass their hydro meter and remove the water meter when they fill their overhead tanks.    

ian posted:
ian posted:

Django, I don't know where you are living , I am between Guyana and Canada ... NO GPL worker can cut the power of someone home who don't pay their bills, and all the above villages don't pay. The lines man will be left on the lamp post and ladder get taken away. Water meter gets by pass and no Guywa workers can risk entering any of these village

I live in Connecticut bhai,wha you sayin when representatives of GPL and Guywa show up to disconnect non paying service the does get chase out.

If ever proof was needed to show that Bharrat Jagdeo's PPP is markedly different from Cheddi Jagan's PPP, look no further than the news report Mars has posted.

For decades, Cheddi Jagan labored tirelessly to consolidate the PPP's working-class base that cut across ethnic boundaries. Not so now.

100 Percent Black man vote for PNC, their base is already consolidated.

susan posted:

If Ian is correct, something has to be done to correct that behaviour but there has to be proof no, me hear seh

Agree

We believe that GPL should step up its campaign to prevent electricity theft across the country. These efforts must also be supported by the judicial system and the communities where these practices are prevalent. For example, there have been numerous reports that GPL officials and even the police are chased out of areas whenever they go to investigate reports of electricity theft. Citizens must assist the authorities in bringing a halt to this practice by making the necessary reports to the police whenever they see it happening.

Guyanatimes - October 3 2015.  

Banna, I travel to all these villages and I have workers from most of these villages working for me, I does get the inside info. 

When PPP was in government and Buxton was getting raid by the police / army... I knew hours before. 

My cousin was a reporter with CN Sharma,... Benscope arrange for a interview in Buxton a Saturday night with the famous Jail Break prisoners and I was with them. I knew Buxton well.

On a lighter side :

The best souce and blackpuddin is from Buxton. The best woman to bingee with is a black woman... time of your life 

susan posted:

They are disappointing!  

You are a foolish lady, buying the nonsense Carib and others are spewing here.

I am not a fan of Jagdeo, but I dont see where he is saying that the "PPP is a coolie party": He cant be that stupid. From my reading of that article, he is simply saying that he has to take care of the  base, which is predominantly Indians. What is wrong with a leader saying this?

If, as some people are saying here that the election reflected the racial division, how come its the PPP that is being racial and Indians being racists when they vote for the PPP.? If we accept this logic, why are Africans not voting for the PPP, and since they have not done so in large numbers since Jagan and Burnham split, why arent Africans seen as racists for clinging to their party?

Carib wants to peddle the myth that all Indians are racists. From what I am reading on this thread, Gilly and others are drinking the cool aid too.     

Vish, you missed the boat on this one. Not only Jagdeo, but Rohee acknowledged that the PPP is a coolie party.  Google Guyana hoopla on this topic.

Rohee endorses Jagdeo statement that PPP is a ‘coolie people’ party

March 10, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

–    Says Afro Guyanese should welcome statement
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, yesterday supported the statements made by his comrade, Bharrat Jagdeo, to the effect that the incumbent party is a “coolie people” party.

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee

As he hosted the PPP’s weekly press conference at Freedom House Robb Street, Georgetown, Rohee said that he saw nothing wrong with former President Jagdeo’s allusion to the PPP as a coolie people party.
Jagdeo made this statement on Sunday when he spoke at the memorial service held in honour of former President and founder member of the PPP, the late Dr. Cheddi Jagan at Babu Jaan, Corentyne, Berbice.
Jagdeo, who is known to speak rashly at this yearly forum, told thousands who gathered at the event that the “opposition” whispers to its supporters, “Let us throw out the coolie people.”
Jagdeo added that the opposition “consistently shouts about the racism of the PPP but they practice racism. They whisper campaigns. In the last elections they went to some of the Afro villages and beat some drums at six in the morning and say let us throw out these coolie people. Get up and go out and vote.”
Yesterday Rohee was questioned as to whether he supported the statements made by his comrade and he responded in the affirmative.
Rohee said that PPP is indeed a “coolie people” party as it is “overwhelmingly supported by Indians.”
Asked if he considered the impact such a statement can have on PPP supporters who are of another race, Rohee said that he doesn’t see that any harm can be caused.
He even told media operatives that PPP supporters who are Afro-Guyanese should welcome the statement as it is forthright.

Last edited by Mitwah
ian posted:
susan posted:

If Ian is correct, something has to be done to correct that behaviour but there has to be proof no, me hear seh

Agree

We believe that GPL should step up its campaign to prevent electricity theft across the country. These efforts must also be supported by the judicial system and the communities where these practices are prevalent. For example, there have been numerous reports that GPL officials and even the police are chased out of areas whenever they go to investigate reports of electricity theft. Citizens must assist the authorities in bringing a halt to this practice by making the necessary reports to the police whenever they see it happening.

Banna, I travel to all these villages and I have workers from most of these villages working for me, I does get the inside info. 

When PPP was in government and Buxton was getting raid by the police / army... I knew hours before. 

My cousin was a reporter with CN Sharma,... Benscope arrange for a interview in Buxton a Saturday night with the famous Jail Break prisoners and I was with them. I knew Buxton well.

On a lighter side :

The best souce and blackpuddin is from Buxton. The best woman to bingee with is a black woman... time of your life 

1.Guyana Times not good source

2. RE:When PPP was in government and Buxton was getting raid by the police / army... I knew hours before. 

Shows under the PPP slackness was allowed.

Iman long time ago family had lil casava bread business in Buxton.

Carib wants to peddle the myth that all Indians are racists. From what I am reading on this thread, Gilly and others are drinking the cool aid too.     

Carib has never said that all Indians are racists, as far as I recall. Gilly drinks no one's Cool Aid; he is capable of thinking for himself. You presume too much about Gilly.

ian posted:
susan posted:

Agree

On a lighter side :

1.Guyana Times not good source

2. RE:When PPP was in government and Buxton was getting raid by the police / army... I knew hours before. 

Shows under the PPP slackness was allowed.

Iman long time ago family had lil casava bread business in Buxton.

Cain, the PPP had no control over the Army and Police. The Army use to pass the info to congress place, hence Benchscope and Nigel knows and.... when we went for the interview in Buxton is like visiting a army base.  

In business, I use to deal with the Vasconcellos and the Pierras. 

Was your family on church of god Rd 

redux posted:

GNI member 'ian' has presented  us with a CRUDE racial provocation that would make even the present occupants of Freedom House blush

and everybody being polite to this shitabatty ethnic cutlass man . . . one of the UNCLEVER barefoot tribals who vomit here on the regular using multiple handles

smfh

I vomit when I see your name on this forum.  

You keep speaking of anus and bt, I am convinced your are a BT boy or guyanese term Antiman. Go plug yo stink ASS or you would continue to eat your own shit.  

GNI member 'ian' has presented  us with a CRUDE racial provocation that would make even the present occupants of Freedom House blush

how is such a lunatic LIE not hate speech?

and most everybody being polite to this shitabatty ethnic cutlass man . . . one of the loathsome, UNCLEVER barefoot tribals who vomit here on the regular using multiple handles

smfh

ian posted:

Cain, the PPP had no control over the Army and Police. The Army use to pass the info to congress place, hence Benchscope and Nigel knows and.... when we went for the interview in Buxton is like visiting a army base.  

In business, I use to deal with the Vasconcellos and the Pierras. 

Was your family on church of god Rd 

I really don't remember the name of the street. They were a mixed couple.

redux posted:

and most everybody being polite to this shitabatty ethnic cutlass man . . . one of the loathsome, UNCLEVER barefoot tribals who vomit here on the regular using multiple handles

smfh

What's up PIT LATRINE MOUTH. 

ian posted:
redux posted:

smfh

do i know you?

as a matter of high principle, i don't count mouth breathers and the stunted ignorant among my friends

redux posted:
ian posted:
redux posted:

smfh

do i know you?

as a matter of high principle, i don't count mouth breathers and the stunted ignorant among my friends

smfh

This wasn't a sentence, that might have been taken out of context, or misinterpreted.

This was an entire speech which said that the goal was to consolidate the PPP's East Indian support base. Basically having said that he communicates that he thinks that the non Indian vote is secondary.

You would NEVER hear such ethnocentric nonsense pouring out of Granger's mouth.

If Jagdeo wished to prove a point, he should have gone into G/town, the belly of the beast, and contested to get that vote. If the PPP had 13 seats, and the independence got their 3, the coalition would look quite weak with only 14 seats in their main base of support. 

In fact many APNU supporters are quite angry after that 50% pay increase, and other levels of arrogance. They say they voted for "change and not exchange."

But no, Jagdeo the leader of the brown bai KKK, cannot see himself as anything beyond being the leader of the "coolie people party", even as the Indo voting base diminishes.  So he blew that opportunity.

Carib has never said that all Indians are racists, as far as I recall. Gilly drinks no one's Cool Aid; he is capable of thinking for himself. You presume too much about Gilly.

Carib talks about the "brown bai KKK".  Its quite obvious who is in this group.  It is only those who may be covert in their racism who aren't sure how I consider them.

VishMahabir?

susan posted:

but I dont see where he is saying that the "PPP is a coolie party": He cant be that stupid. From my reading of that article, he is simply saying that he has to take care of the  base, which is predominantly Indians. What is wrong with a leader saying this?

Well sorry but Jagdeo is the leader of the "coolie people party".  He considers non Indian voters to be secondary.

Now it will appear to me that Jagdeo ought to know that he has the Indian vote. That based on his behavior last year he is seen by the 50% Afro/mixed population as being a racist. And that his tenuous support among Amerindians will diminish as he can no longer offer them favors.

So one would think that Jagdeo's main goal would be to communicate that the PPP is NOT a "coolie people party", even though that is its base of support. 

And that the best way to disprove this is to seek support from the group which is most hostile to the PPP, because it is most convinced that the PPP represents a real threat.  And that is the African populations, especially the urban poor blacks, who felt that they were especially targeted during the Jagdeo/Roger Khan era.

But Jagdeo had to "consolidate his East Indian" base, even as it probably isn't more than 45% of the voting age population, and likely to be much less by 2020!