ian posted:

I am ecstatic this is been done as a Guyanese , its a land mark . It was also a disgrace it had to deteriorate to this condition for years. However, don't you think your subject line was in correct.

I use to enjoy eating my chicken in the rough and milk shake across Demico ....

Same here, Ian. Sometimes I used to drop in to that Demico Qik Serve, buy my stuff, find myself a shady breezy table in the yard, and enjoy. That Demico building in Kitty was/is owned by Cecil Persaud, a former Mayor of GT. He lived upstairs.

I remember going there for peanut butter milk shake and Chinese cake.

Ksaz might be very happy.  I remember spending time there when I live in

I do have very fond memories of Kitty market. There was Williams where we used to buy our new school books, the cycle parts store from where I got real cool stuff to fix up my bike before Django stole it feom me at knife point. There was the grocery store with the sign that credit was dead killed by bad pay master,Jeetendra's book store where we borrowed books including Playboy and Penthouse. Shrimps at 4 bundle for one dollar and the nice ladies would throw in a fifth bundle. the rice sellers outside as well as all the fruits and vegetables vendors. And how can one forget the KSI across the street a bit later. Fond memories indeed.

And how can one forget the KSI across the street a bit later. Fond memories indeed.

Was it KSI or the Guyana Marketing Corp/ Fisheries Depot? I assume you're referring to Shell Road. I used to buy bangamary and fish paste from that place.

And how can one forget the KSI across the street a bit later. Fond memories indeed.

Was it KSI or the Guyana Marketing Corp/ Fisheries Depot? I assume you're referring to Shell Road. I used to buy bangamary and fish paste from that place.

KSI was at the NE corner of Alexander St. and Shell Road.

Okay, I get it. I had another building in mind, on the southern side of Shell Road, west of Billy Paltoosingh's shop. Japs Butchery was north of the KSI on Alexander Street.

Yall rass got good memory Iman doan even remember what I had fo lunch yesterday nor where I did my last grocery shopping, which was done some week ago. I did hang out in Barr St that's where I had a buddy called Django and his brother along with a bunch of hippie type guys, there seemed to always be trouble when we hung out. It seems when more than a dozen guys hang out that's trouble right deh.

I wonder if this is the same Django who stole my bike.

Coulda bin, what he look like, two eyes a nose an a mouth, answers to the name "Django"? If so, it gotta be he.

Cain..did Django worked at Toolsie sawmill,i work there in the early 70's for a few months and can vividly recall some one by that name.

No confusion with my nick i choose it from the movie had denmin Jacket with the name written at the back,few of my school friends called be by that name,and i am a country bhai.

The banna invited the group to the hotel, we all jumped into the van suddenly chicken, champagne an rum start sharin, I got my chicken didn't take the drinks. We then got a ride to the base to pope car races. You should see Cain an he group sneaking through bush hangin onto chicken an booze.

I seem to recall he had a bicycle leanin agains a post, from where I sat it looked like it could be a blackish, whitesh,yelloey kinda bike, sportin two wheels an a handle...anything like yours kaz?

That is my bike!!!

But it had no seat.

That is only because you took off the seat after Django sold it to you.

RiffRaff posted:

cool down with the insults fellas...

My memories of Kitty Market is going there every weekend to get a new novel...the latest Louis Lamour...or Sudden...or James Hadley Chase

Good to see the restoration coming along nicely

Tacuma Ogunseye from the WPA had a stall there.  Maybe he still does.  I always admired him as a dynamic speaker.  Anytime you passed by he was always reading...formal education is not all.