MOTP, January 30, 2016 --- Another 50 students are now the proud owners of bicycles, presented to them today, under President David Granger's "Boats, Buses and Bicycles" programme, in keeping with his policy to ensure that every Guyanese child has access to education.

The "Boats, Buses and Bicycles" programme was launched when President Granger, during his 70th birthday celebrations in July 2015, made a call for assistance in getting children to school safely. Since then, there has been a tremendous national response with donations of boats, two 30-seater buses and numerous bicycles, which have all been distributed to Guyana's most vulnerable students. Mr Ernie Ross, Guyana's Consul General to Trinidad and Tobago, has thrown his weight behind the programme and, through the "Rethink Initiative-Kind Soles" project, administered by the Office of the First Lady, donated several pairs of shoes, which have been distributed to children in need in the hinterland areas. The project aims to provide 30,000 children with school shoes.

In addition, last weekend, during the commissioning ceremony for a school boat donated to the children of Region Ten, via the 'Three Bs' programme, President Granger announced that breakfast and books will be added to the programme, all aimed at lessening the challenges that keep children out of school.

Minister of Social Cohesion, Ms. Amna Ally and First Lady, Mrs. Sandra Granger, presented the bicycles to the latest batch of beneficiaries, who were drawn from the Timehri North area and Diamond/Grove, East Bank Demerara. Twenty–five bicycles were distributed at each of the two locations. The bicycles distributed today were donated to the programme by Courtney Benn Contracting Services Limited.

At the first presentation ceremony, held at the Timehri Prisons' Sports Club, a large group of persons; including the recipients and their parents, warmly greeted Minister Ally and the First Lady upon their arrival. The Minister, who spoke at both ceremonies, recalled the genesis of the 'Three Bs' programme and the President's mission to see every child in school.

"Our President has a passion for education. He wants every child in school. He wants an educated nation. He wants everyone to have a good life and we are doing our utmost to ensure that the children of this nation get access to education," Minister Ally said. Speaking of the additions of breakfast and books to the programme, which will be done in the coming weeks, she said this course of action is being taken to lessen the factors that keep children out of school.

Eradicating inequities
Minister Ally also informed the gathering that bridging inequalities is a priority issue on the Government's agenda, and that the President intends, through this programme, to ultimately give every school age child an opportunity to obtain a sound nursery, primary and secondary education.

"In many instances, it is not a case where our children don't want to go to school, but because of poverty, and in many cases ... [other] inequalities, [parents are hard-pressed to send them]. The tide has changed... we will ensure that... we will reduce poverty and inequalities and take Guyana to another level. We established the Ministry of Social Cohesion, and we have on our agenda, to bridge the gaps between the rich and the poor and [provide] a good life [for all]," she said.

The Minister then urged the recipients to make the best use of the bicycles, even as she cautioned them to obey the rules of the road at all times. "I want you to care them (the bicycles); I want you to be safe on them. Have you ever seen a bicycle in the hospital, or a car? I am asking you to ride carefully at all times. Do not ride across the road to stop traffic," she said.

The Minister further announced that today's exercise is the beginning of more to come and entreated the gathering to be patient. "This is just a start...take your time, it is coming gradually. I am sure that you are begging to reach a stage where you will be proud of this new Government," she said.

Minister Ally made a similar commitment at Diamond, even as she acknowledged that the area is rapidly expanding and the population is growing.

After being serenaded by a medley of National Songs by the Diamond Secondary School's Choir, Minister Ally commended the students and informed them that the Government is committed to supporting these types of activities within the education system. Reference was made to the recent allocation in the 2016 National Budget for the enhancement of music on the schools' curriculum. Against this backdrop, a general call was made for teachers to work with students to keep the symbols of nationhood alive in the school system.

Images (2)
  • blobid0
  • blobid1

The picture looks lovely, but show me one Indian child getting bike. The children need education,Reading, Riting, Rithmetic , the three R's and not the three B's, "Bull crap"

kp, as you mention "Indian", lemme be frank. You PPP Indians are demonizing David Granger day after day and you're still wondering why you don't see "one Indian getting bike"? 

Anyway, this in one "Indian child" from Glasgow Housing Scheme, Corentyne, receiving a bike from Mrs Granger:

• blobid0

The picture looks lovely, but show me one Indian child getting bike. The children need education,Reading, Riting, Rithmetic , the three R's and not the three B's, "Bull crap"

Bhai.. the day you take the blinders off,you will not see humans by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

Our First Lady looks like a star!

Unlike what the PPP had, Jagdeo had a first man.

Really, I did not know BJ was into yuh fullah antimanism, much less and old frow like you!!  You low-life ole stinker!!

Bhai.. the day you take the blinders off,you will not see humans by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

PNC sees everything by creed and race!

kp, as you mention "Indian", lemme be frank. You PPP Indians are demonizing David Granger day after day and you're still wondering why you don't see "one Indian getting bike"? 

Anyway, this in one "Indian child" from Glasgow Housing Scheme, Corentyne, receiving a bike from Mrs Granger:

Let's hope the Buxton hooligans don't rob her of it claiming it as PNC property!

OMG Django, yuh copy dat phrase fram one Black man named MLK. 

Are you blind.speak the truth. The king is dead and queen is alive.

OMG Django, yuh copy dat phrase fram one Black man named MLK. 

My bad ,Great man i should have mentioned his name.

regardless of race or creed, at least they getting something.

BTW what ever happened of the one laptop computer for teacher, has that started. I think that was something Granger had promised??

I just found this link, but have not heard anything more

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-teacher-initiative/

Amral
Last edited by Amral

You are as SHAMELESS as your Masters. One Indian child getting a Bike and you see that as a great arguement!!!!  You were a Journalist?? For Hubu Backdam Graphic????

Amral posted:

regardless of race or creed, at least they getting something.

BTW what ever happened of the one laptop computer for teacher, has that started. I think that was something Granger had promised??

I just found this link, but have not heard anything more

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-teacher-initiative/

Amral, You are very WRONG. It does matter.  Guyana has non Afros in the 52% why Bikes for 99% Afros.  Come on Bro you cant be that naive.

Django and Gil, might be a good idea to mention the criteria for selecting who gets the bikes and take the wind out of the sail of those who claim that ethnic or political considerations are the sole basis for getting one. (I am surprised that no one mentioned about the one exception making the rule valid)

Z

Let us get this straight, this donation has nothing to do with Granger. It was a donation from Courtney Benn where the Grangers decide to use for photo ops. Courtney Benn will now enjoy access to govt officials and hence get an unfair advantage in the procurement of contracts. It is nothing but a bribe and conflict of interest.  

Unlike what the PPP had, Jagdeo had a first man and  Ms Ramoutar tried but the fact that she was surrouinded by the PPP it took away from her.

Why you go after Jagdeo wife. Would you like someone to comment on your wife. Keep the spouses out of the conversation. Are you running low on subject.

Unlike what the PPP had, Jagdeo had a first man and  Ms Ramoutar tried but the fact that she was surrouinded by the PPP it took away from her.

Why you go after Jagdeo wife. Would you like someone to comment on your wife. Keep the spouses out of the conversation. Are you running low on subject.

Don't tell a fellow member about his wife...he is not commenting on your wife

RiffRaff posted:

I said keep the spouses out of the conversation. 

You are as SHAMELESS as your Masters. One Indian child getting a Bike and you see that as a great arguement!!!!  You were a Journalist?? For Hubu Backdam Graphic????

Hey you, re-read what kp wrote. He said "The picture looks lovely, but show me one Indian child getting bike."

That's exactly what I did.

The Election commission should intervene. This amounts to bribery for votes just prior to an election.

I might be wrong but these bikes were donated by an international agency and as such the agency officials should be handing out these bikes.

Some knock down the one laptop program and others knock down free bicycles/boats.

Is any gift to Guyanese students a good thing ?

Solution : Their poor family should buy their own, or betta yet, teach the students to tief am.    

RiffRaff posted:

Hand he  Riff!

Jagdeo used to have a man as first lady that his wife leave him and run away.

First Lady, Mrs. Sandra Granger, today, presented 35 bicycles to students of the West Demerara Secondary School, the Leonora Secondary School and the Stewartville Secondary School, under President David Granger’s “Boats, Buses and Bicycles” initiative. The First Lady was assisted by Minister of Social Cohesion, Ms. Amna Ally, at a simple ceremony held in the Leonora Secondary School’s compound.

In picture: First Lady, Mrs. Sandra Granger, and Minister of Social Cohesion, Ms. Amna Ally, stand with the recipients who proudly displayed their new bikes.

• blobid0

70US and probably 50US wholesale from China. The only problem with bikes is that it is not safe to ride in Guyana unless it is the back roads.  Drivers have no regard for bikers.