Georgetown, Guyana – (January 7, 2016)

http://www.gina.gov.gy/home/in...e-rate-is-disturbing

President David Granger in discussions with Health Minister, Dr. George Norton, Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous Peoples Affairs, Ms. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, and Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Ms. Dawn Hastings at the Ministry of the Presidency.President David Granger in discussions with Health Minister, Dr. George Norton, Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous Peoples Affairs, Ms. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, and Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Ms. Dawn Hastings at the Ministry of the Presidency.

Following another suicide tragedy, which occurred yesterday at East Bank Berbice, President David Granger, today, convened an emergency meeting with Minister of Public Health, Dr. George Norton,

Minister of Social Protection, Ms. Volda Lawrence, Minister of Social Cohesion, Ms. Amna Ally, Minister within the Ministry of Health, Dr. Karen Cummings, Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous

Peoples Affairs, Ms. Valerie Garrido-Lowe and Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Ms. Dawn Hastings at the Ministry of the Presidency with a view to charting a course to address this scourge. 

The outcome of the meeting is a plan of action, which will see Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs), Religious organisations and other Civil Society organisations being engaged to work togetherwith Government on a centralised approach to suicide prevention.

President Granger has indicated that he intends to have a hands on approach to addressing this issue and will be looking to implement a national programme that has measurable outcomes.  During themeeting, the President was also updated on the implementation of Guyana’s National Suicide Prevention Strategy, launched by the Ministry of Public Health, last September, with a view to ramping up

Government’s response to the on-going problem.  In addition, the President was provided with updates on work being done within the other subject Ministries.Earlier in the day, the President told two local journalists, during the weekly recording of the television programme, ‘The Public Interest’, that much more needs to be done and he intends to bringtogether international organisations and civil society organisations to ensure that all of the factors related to suicide are identified and addressed.

The Head of State said, “I am concerned as President that Guyana has a higher rate of suicide than other countries. It is not as though there is an average around the world and we are just average. We areabove average and that is disturbing.”

President Granger issued a call to parents, guardians, teachers and church leaders to be more sensitive and understanding of the emotional matters that affect young people. He said that, “the churchneeds to be more careful, the home needs to be more careful, peers need to be more careful.  It is a delicate period but the state cannot bear the full burden of counselling, the home is where these mattersshould be resolved.”

The President affirmed that his Administration intends to do all that is possible especially since many of the victims of this scourge are young people in whose hands the country’s future lies. He explained too, that the circumstances and conditions under which people live needs to be examined to understand the underlying factors responsible for the high suicide rate.

PTO 

“I intend to find out why we have so many suicides and once we identify those factors, try to use Governmental action and try to get the efforts of civil society and households to put this scourge to an end. We are above normal and I want to find out if its social, if its cultural, or if its economic and bring an end to it… we know what the disease is, let’s find out what the cures are,” the Head of State

The President affirmed that his Administration intends to do all that is possible especially since many of the victims of this scourge are young people in whose hands the country’s future lies. He explained

too, that the circumstances and conditions under which people live needs to be examined to understand the underlying factors responsible for the high suicide rate.

Why are the NGOs not involved in this discussion? 

Tola's NGO effort failed, so Granger taking the bull by the horn.

Seriously, this is a national issue and the Govt is correct in taking the lead.  NGOs could get involved but under a common framework so they're not shooting up blind allies like Tola for 10 years with nothing to show!

Quote:

"The outcome of the meeting is a plan of action, which will see Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs), Religious organisations and other Civil Society organisations being engaged to work togetherwith Government on a centralised approach to suicide prevention."

Tola can now hold this government responsible and stop crying about PPP not helping. Granger is reaching out to NGO's. 

Where is Tola ?

Has Guyana got a suicide helpline like that have in many countries? I know someone in the UK who is a support councillor with a special suicide hotline installed in her home. So callers go through a call centre and are automatically diverted anonymously to her for free advice and help. The phone number is also widely publicised. 

baseman posted:

Why are the NGOs not involved in this discussion? 

Tola's NGO effort failed, so Granger taking the bull by the horn.

Seriously, this is a national issue and the Govt is correct in taking the lead.  NGOs could get involved but under a common framework so they're not shooting up blind allies like Tola for 10 years with nothing to show!

Where IS Tola? Still tending to those cows?

I communicated with him via this forum as to the programs he delivers and how I can help and he never answered.  I am starting to get the feeling that this guy is not the real deal.  I hope he is working with the Minister of Social Protection and his new government to help deliver effective results since he is an expert in the field of suicide prevention.  There is a need for individuals like him so I hope he steps up his programs and work on a massive outreach.

Bibi sometimes individuals don't like to communicate on a thread,why don't you PM Tola that is more private.

The more I read about Tola's NGO work, the more suspicious I get.

What is there to hide if his organization is legit ?

Let him post the organization's name, whether it is recognized by the government of Canada or USA and members can help.

What is there to hide ?

Let him post the organization's name, whether it is recognized by the government of Canada or USA and members can help.

What is there to hide ?

Oww bhaiya why you think Tola is fake,i am sure he is genuine.

From L-R: Minister of Social Cohesion, Amna Ally; Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Dawn Hastings; President David Granger; Minister within the Ministry of Health, Dr. Karen Cummings; Health Minister Dr. George Norton, and Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous People’s Affairs, Valerie Garrido-Lowe, at the emergency meeting on suicide prevention

President convenes emergency meeting on suicide prevention

PARENTS, guardians, teachers and church leaders need to be more sensitive and understanding of emotional matters affecting young people, in order to reduce the country’s high suicide rate.So said President David Granger
following discovery of the bodies of 14-year-old Sherryanne Alli and 21-year-old Deoraj Persaud hanging from a house at Lonsdale, East Bank Berbice.

President David Granger in discussion yesterday with Health Minister Dr. George Norton; Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous People’s Affairs, Valerie Garrido-Lowe; and Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Dawn Hastings, at the Ministry of the Presidency

As a result of the country’s latest suicide, the President convened an emergency meeting with Minister of Public Health, Dr. George Norton; Minister of Social Protection, Volda Lawrence; Minister of Social Cohesion, Amna Ally; Minister within the Ministry of Health, Dr. Karen Cummings; Minister within the Ministry of Indigenous People’s Affairs, Valerie Garrido-Lowe; and Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Dawn Hastings, at the Ministry of the Presidency to address the issue.

The President believes much more needs to be done to address the scourge of suicide. He said he is deeply concerned that the country’s suicide rate is higher than other countries’.

PLAN OF ACTION
A plan of action that will see non-governmental organisations (NGOs), religious organisations and other civil society organisations working together with government on a centralised approach to suicide prevention was discussed and will soon be implemented.

A statement from the Ministry of the Presidency yesterday said the President is looking to implement a national programme that will have measurable outcomes.

“During the meeting, the President was also updated on the implementation of Guyana’s National Suicide Prevention Strategy, launched by the Ministry of Public Health last September with a view to ramping up government’s response to the ongoing problem,” the Ministry of the Presidency stated.

The President told journalists on the weekly televised recording of ‘The Public Interest’ that much more needs to be done to fight the scourge of suicide, and he intends to bring together international and civil society organisations to ensure that all of the factors related to suicide are identified and addressed.

“I am concerned, as President, that Guyana has a higher rate of suicide than other countries. It is not as though there is an average around the world and we are just average. We are above average, and that is disturbing,” President Granger said.

IN THE HOME
He issued a call to parents, guardians, teachers and church leaders to be more sensitive and understanding of the emotional matters that affect young people. He said, “The church needs to be more careful; the home needs to be more careful; peers need to be more careful. It is a delicate period, but the state cannot bear the full burden of counselling. The home is where these matters should be resolved.”

President Granger said his administration intends to do all that is possible to reduce suicide. He noted that the circumstances and conditions under which people live need to be examined to understand the underlying factors responsible for Guyana’s high suicide rate.

SEARCH FOR CURES
“I intend to find out why we have so many suicides, and, once we identify those factors, try to use governmental action and try to get the efforts of civil society and households to put this scourge to an end. We are above normal, and I want to find out if it’s social, if it’s cultural, or if it’s economic; and (I want to) bring an end to it…

“We know what the disease is, let’s find out what the cures are,” President Granger said.

As I said before about Tola, he can tell us all he wants about his activities. There is none of us to verify his claims. I thought he might be beating his own drum. I think Tola is somewhere in the room with Granja. He is just not that important to be in the picture.

What is there to hide ?

Oww bhaiya why you think Tola is fake,i am sure he is genuine.

I did some research on suicide prevention NGOs in Guyana and couldn't find one.  I am sure if Tola puts his organization's name out there he will get a lot of support.  This issue is near and dear to the hearts of many.  This is a nonpartisan issue.  It has nothing to do with politics and which party we belong to.  Everyone should be on board. 

I was surprise to hear from President Obama last night, that 20,000 Americans die from suicide in a year by the bullet, leaving out many more suicide deaths by other means.This is a global problem, higher in poorer countries. Education, education is the cheapest cure, also one has to address mental issues. The family unit , the church and the entire village has to get involved. Young people in Guyana have too many idle time, and nothing to do, go back to the days of Boy Scout, Girl Guides, Youth clubs,Community Centers, the schools need to create more extra curriculum to keep the students busy.'" An idle mind does the crime".

Good move.  I wonder why it took so long given that it was one of the main item on the APNU/AFC agenda.  I wonder when we will get a true assessment on how effective the suicide hotline is.

It will take a massive effort to curb suicides in Guyana.  The people that kill themselves are not all mentally ill.  A lot of the suicides are spontaneous reactions to relatively minor problems.  Maybe a lot of it is due to peer and societal pressure.  One thing for sure is that a lot of education and support is needed in Guyana.

Mr. T is right on another thread; they need to study why Indians tend to commit suicide more than other races in Guyana.  They could only get answers by interviewing relatives and friends of the victims.

Is it that the Indian families are not open to listen to their childrens' opinion? The Indian fathers and mothers are set in their ways and want their children to follow. They believe in "I pay the bills and buy the groceries, I make the rules here and you will listen to me". Some don't believe that their children need any companionship from the outside..

Mr. President, wah yuh wan to findout the reason why young people kill demselves? In case u doan know, then leh me tell yuh. For all reasons under the sun deh tek dem lives. So, Mr. President wid all the discussions wid the Ministers, yuh should be able to tell us wah is de government action.

The problem is real. What is the solution?

Is it that the Indian families are not open to listen to their childrens' opinion? The Indian fathers and mothers are set in their ways and want their children to follow. They believe in "I pay the bills and buy the groceries, I make the rules here and you will listen to me". Some don't believe that their children need any companionship from the outside..

Well, I see it all boils down to EDucation. If you notice, is mostly kids in the country side doing this. EDucatiomn opportunities are not the same and with this Govt, it will be worst!!!

I think many of suicides stems from relationships between males and females. It goes wrong. And the victims see no ways for continue living.

I doan know what the government can do about that. It may be a cultural thing.

20% of clinically depressed people in the US commit suicide.  The mental health community in Guyana has to deal with the issue. It is a mental health issue.

All suicides in Guyana are not mental health related.  I know someone who got drunk and drank poison because he had problems with his girlfriend.  Luckily, he didn't die.  He stopped drinking from that day and is a very productive member of society today.

We need to focus initially on the on preventing suicides from relationship break-up,  I bet that's a big percentage of the suicides in Guyana.

Mental illness suicides can be lessened by having people properly diagnosed and given medical treatment...this might be a huge task in Guyana.

Please give us a breakdown of the suicides that are related to broken heart and clinical depression. 

Well that's where they need to start.  They need to identify the various categories/causes of suicides and start trying to prevent the "low hanging ones." 

VVP posted:

20% of clinically depressed people in the US commit suicide.  The mental health community in Guyana has to deal with the issue. It is a mental health issue.

All suicides in Guyana are not mental health related.  I know someone who got drunk and drank poison because he had problems with his girlfriend.  Luckily, he didn't die.  He stopped drinking from that day and is a very productive member of society today.

We need to focus initially on the on preventing suicides from relationship break-up,  I bet that's a big percentage of the suicides in Guyana.

Mental illness suicides can be lessened by having people properly diagnosed and given medical treatment...this might be a huge task in Guyana.

That is common in the homeland.

I think many of suicides stems from relationships between males and females. It goes wrong. And the victims see no ways for continue living.

I doan know what the government can do about that. It may be a cultural thing.

Make problem solving, managing relationship and failure part of the classroom psychology training.  It starts with the young.  The solutions and results will take time.  The temples, mosques and churches have a role to play.