I am committed to working with those who are interested - President Ramotar – tells packed National Park at 46th Independence Anniversary

Georgetown, GINA, May 26, 2012

Source - GINA

President Donald Ramotar and first lady Deolatchmee Ramotar stand at attention alongside members of the Disciplined Forces minutes before the National Flag was hoisted during Guyana’s 46th Independence Anniversary Celebration

President Donald Ramotar this evening stated that he is committed to working with all those who are interested in moving the country forward; noting that Guyanese would like to see all stakeholders working together, which was a dream at independence and today is a major national aspiration.

He said Guyana can achieve the great potential that is often spoken about with political will and trust, and noted that while the 2011 National elections have created new challenges to all the leaders, it is a time to show maturity and to put the interest of the country and people ahead of narrow self-interests.

President Donald Ramotar inspecting the Guard of Honour during Guyana’s 46th Independence Anniversary Celebration in the National Park

“No matter what side of the political divide we are on, let us remember that 46 years ago we assumed the responsibility for our own development… This great responsibility which we all carry must never be forgotten,” he urged.

President Ramotar speaking to packed stands at the National Park this evening for the 46th Independence anniversary celebrations, evoked memories of Guyana’s first flag raising ceremony on May 26.

He recalled the grim struggle and human toll paid along with the sacrifices involved in winning Guyana’s freedom, and reiterated Guyana’s homage to “all of our ancestors who both overtly and covertly made their contributions to the discrediting of the oppressive colonial system. They unreservedly cast their lot in favor of freedom. They fought from liberation from bondage.

Tonight we salute their unyielding spirit, their unremitting toil and we embrace their dreams for a better future for their descendants.”

President Donald Ramotar delivering his address on the on the occasion of Guyana’s 46th Independence Anniversary Celebration in the National Park

The President urged Guyanese to be optimistic about the future and confident of the sacrifices of those who laid the foundations for the bright and promising future that lies ahead.

“As we focus on the task ahead, may we never lose sight of the economic and political lessons of the past forty six years,” he urged.

Economy

Pointing out that Guyana is a small developing nation, President Ramotar said while the economy remains susceptible to market volatilities especially to the adverse effects of climate change, there are other countries with similar vulnerabilities. He urged that whilst developing Guyana “we must be able to see the wisdom in protecting and furthering our national interests and in building political and economic resilience through the establishment of good relations with our neighbours and with other friendly states and by deepening and expanding our participation in regional integration at the level of CARICOM and in wider hemispheric groupings.”

The Head of State observed that the right of the people to elect a government of their choice, the enactment of an inclusive constitution and respect for civil liberties “have all brought about improved national cohesion and created the conditions for increased economic growth.”

Guyana’s unprecedented economic growth over recent years has gained attention within the region and its policies are being analyzed for the lessons they can hold for other countries.

The President pointed out that despite challenges, Guyana’s traditional sectors have continued to bring benefits by creating and sustaining employment, earning valuable foreign exchange and boosting output.  However, while these sectors remain pivotal to economic growth, “it is now necessary for them to become modernised and for the emergence of new sectors to lead economic diversification and growth.”

Education

Guyana’s educational system has been an asset producing graduates who have distinguished themselves both at home and abroad, while economic growth has coincided with a rise in the quality of education provided.   “We have to continue to improve the delivery of education and configure it to meet the growing demands of the new economy that we are building in an ever growing and competitive world,” the President declared.

Economic transformation and citizens’ future

Guyana’s greatest assets over the past 46 years have been its people, the Head of State said and saluted Guyanese, especially working people through whose toil and sacrifices the country was built.   “As we enter a new exciting phase of our development, I want to assure all of you, workers, entrepreneurs, farmers, intellectuals, all, that you will be in an integral part of national development.”

He urged them to move forward together towards greater economic prosperity, and develop the virtues bequeathed by the ancestors.

“Let us imitate their capacity for hard, diligent and honest work, their wisdom in setting aside something for a rainy day, their strength and forbearance in the face of difficulties, their pride in their possessions and their willingness to sacrifice today so as to create a better tomorrow for their children and grandchildren.”

Economic transformation involves investments in critical infrastructural projects, initiatives and policies capable of leapfrogging Guyana’s development to new heights, and this he said, will assure a better future for the citizens. This includes the search for oil and rare minerals, the development of hydroelectricity, building an all-weather road to Lethem, bridging the Corentyne River with Suriname and constructing a deep water harbour.

The Golden Arrowhead hoisted as fireworks lit up the sky during Guyana’s 46th Independence Anniversary Celebration in the National Park

Additionally, the stringing of fiber optic cable from Brazil will modernize internet services throughout the country, making them more affordable and accessible to the average consumers, and will also allow government services to be more easily available to all citizens, wherever they may be.

He noted also that the one laptop per family project will ensure that no one will be left out of the process of keying Guyana into the digital world.

Explaining that economic transformation also entails modernising the traditional sectors such as bauxite, rice and sugar, developing agro-processing and eco-tourism, the President said this would cement Guyana’s status as a global leader in the provision of environmental services under the Low Carbon Development Strategy.

Guyana’s transformative agenda then, involves catapulting the economy to a higher stage of development he declared, “By fostering increased industrialisation, reducing our carbon footprint, assuring us cheap, reliable and renewable sources of energy, keying our people into the exciting possibilities of the cyber world, and allowing for the emergence of new poles of economic growth while modernising the traditional sectors.”

Village economies  

The President pledged Government’s commitment towards upgrading village economies by increasing economic activities, providing jobs within villages for residents, promoting inter-village economic exchanges and encouraging the growth of businesses, large and small, including cottage industries.  This is aimed at making villages become vibrant hubs of development.

The President said, “Special attention will also be paid to improving the physical well being of communities and to develop the skills and talents of residents.  Through our e-learning programme, we eventually hope to develop a national database that would catalogue the various resources and skills available within all communities so as to allow for greater utilisation of these skills.”

Transportation

Despite the increase in the number of vehicles and especially public transport vehicles, many workers still have to wait, sometimes for hours, to get home.

“We have recognised the problem and we are committed to ensuring that workers can get to and from work without undue delays. This is one of the reasons why we will continue to upgrade the road network system and why we are actively considering the encouragement of new shuttle services capable between large population centers. In this regard we are open to various models of organising and financing this initiative.  The aim is to get commuters home safely and on time.”

While it is not the intention of the administration to displace private transportation services, the President said, “if our people are suffering because of the inability of public transport operators to provide a satisfactory and adequate service, then we are duty bound to assist where we can.”

Medical services

“ I envisage the day is not far off when Guyanese would no longer have to fly overseas to seek medical attention since all of the specialist health care services would be available locally,” the President said. This, he explained, can be done through partnerships which will allow the health sector to source the skills and expertise of foreign and local professionals in hospitals in which the government has a stake.

The land has already identified for the construction of a specialty hospital that would provide more affordable world class surgeries and offer A grade medical services which we still have to source overseas at an astronomical cost.

This is all part of our program to look after the interests of our people,” President Ramotar stated.

Commitment

“People for us come first and everything we do is intended to redound to the benefit of the people of this country. We are interested in ensuring the best for our people. In order to do so we need to work together to break down suspicions and foster greater understandings and appreciation for the conditions that determine our decisions and actions,” the Head of State said.

He added that while the 2011 National elections have created new challenges to all the leaders of Guyana, it is a time to show maturity and to put the interest of the country and people ahead of narrow self-interests.

Pointing to the need to safeguard Guyana’s freedoms, defend its democracy and allow the ingenuity and resourcefulness of the people to flourish, the Head of State declared that, “A great Guyana will not be measured only in terms of what we build and what we create but also in our character as a nation, including our ability and willingness to set aside all narrow interests for the greater good of all Guyana.”

AS he concluded his address, he said, “Tonight on this 46th anniversary of our country’s independence, when we recall that historic moment in our country’s history, let us all commit to making our beloved country better for our sake and for the sake of those who will come after us,” the President said.

The evening’s observance was punctuated with songs, dances, cultural renditions, hoisting of the Golden Arrowhead and fireworks culminating just after midnight.

46th independence anniversary showcases Guyana’s past, present and future

Georgetown, GINA, May 25, 2012

Source - GINA

A section of the 435 contingent of youths performing a choreographed dance on the tarmac of the National Park during Guyana’s 46th Independence Anniversary Celebration

All roads led to the National Park on the evening of May 25 for the flamboyant sights and sounds of celebration and jubilation as Guyana ushered in 46 years as an independent nation.

The hoisting of the Golden Arrowhead at midnight with a dazzling fireworks display culminated the evening filled with exuberant and well choreographed performances, representing Guyana’s proud people and culture.

A prominent feature of the celebration was a colourful display by a contingent of 435 youths whose interpretive dance and attire, summarized the theme “Glimpses, Past, Present Future.”

Meanwhile, a mass band display put on by the Disciplined Services on the tarmac of the National Park with “I am a Guyanese” as the musical accompaniment had the crowd on their feet rocking and cheering.

A section of the gathering in the National Park for Guyana’s 46th Independence Anniversary Celebration

In what can be considered a new addition to the cultural show, the audience witnessed with amazement a team of all male young recruits emerged with lighted batons and executing routine twirls.

A prelude to the evening saw popular artistes Young Bill Rogers, Tenecia De Freitas, “Vanilla,” Adrian Dutchin and the Yuroba Singers among others livening the evening with some of their popular hits.

President of Guyana and Commander – in - Chief of the Armed Forces, Donald Ramotar, made his debut, received the presidential salute upon his arrival and inspected the guard of honour which consist of state ad regimental officers and over 100 ranks drawn from the Joint Services.

The reciting of the National Pledge and the singing of the National Anthem and Guyana the Free were among the sounds of patriotism of the evening. Winners of the National Choir Competition from Region Ten also supplemented the atmosphere of choirs.

In his introductory remarks at the occasion Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr Frank Anthony paid homage to “all who by their contributions have made a free and independent Guyana.”

“Our people’s resilience and perseverance to their noble pursuit of nation building has never wavered and their hopes have never faltered and every generation has played its part to make the Guyanese dream a reality,” Minister Anthony said.

He spoke proudly about the imbued sense of hope, optimism and excitement about the present and future of Guyana.

Guyana won its Independence after years of struggle in an era dominated by tyranny, replete with dissatisfaction, poor working and living conditions towards those who were perceived as second class citizens in the land of their birth.

With the help of the trade union movement strikes and picketing actions seemed to be the only means by which the working class could bring awareness to the plantocracy about their demands for equal rights and justice.

Stalwarts like Hubert Nathaniel Critchlow, founder of the British Guiana Labour Union awakened the consciousness of protégés like former President and political party founder Dr. Cheddi Jagan who continued the fight until freedom was won.

President Donald Ramotar, during his address at the 174th anniversary of the arrival of East Indian Immigrants described Dr. Jagan as a gift from indentured labourers to the world, who holds the reputation as an intellectual, a fighter and a revolutionary against oppression everywhere.

I must say, the face of Ramotar reveals his thoughts. He has a wife who has a good soul. She is a positive influence on his presidency.

Excellent First Ladies has always eluded Guyanese Presidents.

Of all the Presidents of Guyana, this man really feels the pains of the ordinary citizen.

However, his desire to provide good goverance, is blocked by the corrupt individuals who surrounds him. And his rhetoric is not him.

Advice, President Ramotar, act fast on ur decision to clean house and move Guyana towards its first ever lean government. Your results will banish mediocre managerial skills to be sub-ordinates.

I eagerly await for that dawn.   

Happy 46th Independence anniversary to the Guyanese nation, and to the Commander-in-Chief, President Donald Ramotar. God blessed the homeland.

President Ramotar believed in our home-grown products. His suit button can hardly whole the pressure in the top photo.

Dr. Jagan was a disappointment to the memory of EVERY INDENTURED Laborer.

Men, women and children fled a system in India that kept them poor. Worked their fingers and limbs in foreign lands and made wealth and live peacefully with their neighbours.

Jagan robbed them of their dignity. They had to flee to other foreign lands, their wealth stolen by Forbes - a craetion of Jagan.

In the memory of those who struggled for a better life in British Guiana, Donald Ramotar must do better in the memory of those poor souls - forget about the PPP, they are the thieves.

Every other race is impoverished in Guyana, but if conscience is to bear dignity, then think about those who made the trip from India 174 years ago. They came for better and must be sad that the hope of their off-springs are dashed by the callousness of the PPP(Jagans). 

I must say, the face of Ramotar reveals his thoughts. He has a wife who has a good soul. She is a positive influence on his presidency.

Excellent First Ladies has always eluded Guyanese Presidents.

Of all the Presidents of Guyana, this man really feels the pains of the ordinary citizen.

However, his desire to provide good goverance, is blocked by the corrupt individuals who surrounds him. And his rhetoric is not him.

Advice, President Ramotar, act fast on ur decision to clean house and move Guyana towards its first ever lean government. Your results will banish mediocre managerial skills to be sub-ordinates.

I eagerly await for that dawn.   

----

I actually agree with your sentiments here. The man's commitment to family is remarkable. However,two things are militating against your sentiments. First, the PPP blames the opposition and not its own bad policies. They need to see where the problem really lies. Second, they need to place Jagdeo into a cupboard. Although people keep telling me it's not possible, I keep seeing visions of Putin.

Tar_K, today is a day to give it a rest. All Guyanese should come together and embrace our independence. Please stop with the political rhetoric. Rass man! I wouldn't like to be your neighbor if you gone chaneeh surwaa every day.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Tar_K, today is a day to give it a rest. All Guyanese should come together and embrace our independence. Please stop with the political rhetoric. Rass man! I wouldn't like to be your neighbor if you gone chaneeh surwaa every day.

---

Actually I have said before and will say it again: the country has failed! We should have just stayed under British rule rather than endure over four decades of PNC/PPP abuse and lies. I am angry about that failure. And ya’ll can now post it on Facebook that I said that. I have no apology to make. But we cannot turn back the time. Perhaps...just perhaps...Nov 28 might give us a chance to start fresh. I am actually a very pleasant neighbor.

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

---

Actually I have said before and will say it again: the country has failed! We should have just stayed under British rule rather than endure over four decades of PNC/PPP abuse and lies. I am angry about that failure. And ya’ll can now post it on Facebook that I said that. I have no apology to make. But we cannot turn back the time. Perhaps...just perhaps...Nov 28 might give us a chance to start fresh. I am actually a very pleasant neighbor.

IN YOUR DEMENTED, DUMB AND FOOLISH MIND GUYANA IS A FAILURE. SHI T EAT OUT YUH BRAINS!!!!

Actually I have said before and will say it again: the country has failed!

Perpetual view of a single person.

Is it true you live in a very cold area of Canada? 

---

IN YOUR DEMENTED, DUMB AND FOOLISH MIND GUYANA IS A FAILURE. SHI T EAT OUT YUH BRAINS!!!!

----

If only you had no hyena shit brain you would express yourself better.

Originally Posted by PRK:
Actually I have said before and will say it again: the country has failed!

Perpetual view of a single person.

Is it true you live in a very cold area of Canada? 

Another of your perpetual irrelvance.

Guyanese must be careful not to reverse progress made -Teixeira at Kwakwani flag-raising 

Georgetown, GINA, May 26, 2012

Source - GINA

Presidential Advisor on Governance, Gail Teixeira on Friday evening joined residents of Region 10 at Worrell’s Park, Kwakwani for the region’s flag-raising ceremony to usher in Guyana’s 46th anniversary as an independent nation.

While addressing the gathering, she said that the kaleidoscope that makes Guyana so diverse is extremely unique and, that despite the differences it is time for all Guyanese to begin seeing themselves as one.

“We are not perfect, our country is not perfect; there are many problems and challenges that we have to face, but I ask you to show me the country that has been able to eradicate all the poverty, struggle, and other social ills…what we have Guyanese have done and are capable of doing far greater; we have been able to put this little country on the world map,” she said.

Presidential Advisor on Governance, Gail Teixeira delivering remarks at the flag-raising ceremony to mark Guyana’s 46th independence anniversary at Kwakwani, Region 10 

This was done largely through the country’s Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS).

Guyana has been able to achieve five consecutive years of positive growth of four percent at a time when other Caribbean countries have experiencing great economic troubles. The Presidential Advisor said that regardless of differences such as political persuasions, geography, race, or religion, Guyanese as a people, have a lot to be proud of.  

She also spoke of the threats posed by climate change, rising oil prices, and the prevailing economic recession in Europe, all of which will have an impact on Guyana one way or another.

“Guyana is on a path for a brighter future and we must be very careful to not erode and undermine that path; it must be careful to not reverse the gains that we have made as a country. Today as we meet, it is time for us to do some introspection; to look at what we have done and what we need to do…we must find a way to find answers to the problems and challenges we face as a people. If we use threats and cut budgets, it will not work,” Teixeira asserted.

Region 10 residents at the flag-raising ceremony at Worrell’s Park, Kwakwani.

She concluded that this is the time that Guyana needs mature and wise leadership and urged residents to work together at the family, community, regional and national levels to find workable solutions. 

Meanwhile, Regional Chairman, Sharma Solomon in his remarks said that Guyana is a relatively young nation with many aspirations and used the forum to call on the parliament of Guyana to expedite the process for the holding of local government elections.

The Golden Arrowhead being hoisted at Kwakwani, Region 10

Regional Vice Chairman, Byron Lewis reminded the residents that the attainment of independence signalled a call for all to work together towards a common goal.

Guyana gained its independence from Great Britain on May 26, 1966.

Dr. Jagan was a disappointment to the memory of EVERY INDENTURED Laborer.

??? ... ???

Being an Indian with an odd culture among christianized putagees and negroes and treated  with suspicions of being a communist cause the children of indentured servants hardships around the globe. Had Cheddie been an intelligent person, think of the tremendous influences he might have among Third World Countries.