Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Guyana supposed to be saving millions in oil imports since world market prices have dropped more than 60%. There is no excuse here. Basemen is correct in saying that the drop in gold price is offset by the decline in oil price. The price of gold has been around $1100 for a quite a while. I don't see how any major drop in the price over the last year. 

Neither you nor baseman know anything about economics.

More than 50% of the foreign exchange is earned by gold.  the earnings from that industry spread to the real estate, construction, and retail sectors.  Thousands earn a living in those 4 sectors.

When gold prices drop, and production plummets, the economy declines.  the fact that oil might be cheaper is beside the point.

Caribj knows economics. That is why he supports a Government who is bringing  Guyana into bankruptcy. Where are all the economic genius the AFC boasts about? This government has no plans to create jobs and collect revenues, but they raised salaries and cut taxes.  I ask you now caribj.  What the hell do you know about economics.    The revenues that this Government is collecting was created by the PPP.    You called them coolies but they know how to run a cake shop and do business. 

   You called them coolies but they know how to run a cake shop and do business. 

Yes that is all that they can do.  Run a cake shop.  Problem is that running a 21st century economy requires much more.

Tell you what.  When my father was in school in the 40s he learned that the chief exports were sugar, bauxite, rice, gold and timber.  Kids in school now know that the chief exports are gold, rice, sugar, bauxite, and timber.

So what did the PPP do in its 23 years? 

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Gold prices are way down, as is teh quantity mined, and that is what carried the economy for the past 7 years.

Prices are down, but I am not so sure about the quantity mined. A lot of the mined gold no longer gets declared. The PPP smuggles it out of the country on a daily basis.

The decline in the price of gold is offset be the decrease in imported petroleum products.  The issue is PNC mis-management.

Is that KWAK called Dunald RUMTAR who had no clue what he was doing.  

At least Jagdeo knew more than DUNALD the dotish.

Not sure to what you referring, Ramoutar/Jaggy have no control on Gold or Oil prices.  In anycase, these offset, it's the PNC destruction of the rice market that is the issue.

The DUMB DUCK Buy gold at a high price and sold at a low price - losing billions.  He did not tell you when you visted him?  KWAK economist with a half degree from UG.

I think you had too much to smoke bai.  Chill out!!

Yes that is all that they can do.  Run a cake shop.  Problem is that running a 21st century economy requires much more.

Tell you what.  When my father was in school in the 40s he learned that the chief exports were sugar, bauxite, rice, gold and timber.  Kids in school now know that the chief exports are gold, rice, sugar, bauxite, and timber.

They added Coke to the list of chief exports.

5000 projects were completed.  That's a stupid question.  

Name ONE project which transformed the economy.  Start with the Skeldon factory, the biggest PPP project.