I see Caribj here quickly concluded he was talking to an uneducated and uncivilized low life estate coolie in VVP

Caring, I beat your it by a day bai. But doan worry he is wan civilized upper class "town coolie" who "ain't afraid of Blacks"

Thank gad I don't gallivant as an attorney when I don't have a law degree.

Why yuh changed your name from Joker...you is still the same Joker.

Uneducated bai? Here which wan of these letters you want, I can loan you for a day.

BE, ME, MPA, PE ... you know what day mean?

Here we go, abbe estate coolie doan even understand why he's a joke.

You see bai, civilization is more than cosmetics. Civilization would have prevented you from reaching into your ass and asking someone questions designed to merely insult like "why are Black people so poor and Indo people so rich? What makes Indos so great and Blacks such losers?"

Civilized and uneducated people doan ask dem kinda low lifey questions worthy of the estate coolie.

Anyone reading the exchange between you and Caribj would be embarrassed for you chap. But then again, how can we expect differently from a "town coolie"?
Here we go, abbe estate coolie doan even understand why he's a joke.

You see bai, civilization is more than cosmetics. Civilization would have prevented you from reaching into your ass and asking someone questions designed to merely insult like "why are Black people so poor and Indo people so rich? What makes Indos so great and Blacks such losers?"

Civilized and uneducated people doan ask dem kinda low lifey questions worthy of the estate coolie.

Anyone reading the exchange between you and Caribj would be embarrassed for you chap. But then again, how can we expect differently from a "town coolie"?

Let the people make their decision...they don't need to hear from the attorney pretender Mr. Joker.

LMAO@ "What stopped the Africans' progress?"

Only an idiot could write this. A deluded idiot at that. Yes bai, in Guyana and all around the world Blacks are an uneducated dirty poor lot. Granger, Nigel Hughes, Obama et al are all examples of Black failure.

Meanwhile abbe coolie channa businessmen in Guyana and business wizards such as Ed Ahmad shows innate Indo superiority.
Originally Posted by VVP:

Your dumb reaction is exactly why Guyanese need to learn more of our history.  You want to engage in dangerous stereotypes.  No Africans DO NOT have an aversion to farming or business ownerhsip.  Its that their lived experience in Guyana convinced them that these avenues didnt offer much to them, so they shifted to other occupations.

So Africans made the choice so why do they complain that Indians control the wealth and businesses?  BTW which race would you think have more qualified people on head to head basis...lets say University education and above?

VVP,

First, I'm surprised you didn't know about Cuffy and the white wife. That was common knowledge in school in Guyana. She was the wife of either a plantation owner or one of the overseers and he captured her.

Africans didn't make the choice to exit businesses or farming, they were forced OUT of it by the colonial masters. For example, their coastal farms were flooded out by the British to drive them out. It was an unwinnable battle for them so they opted for employment instead.

Contending that Indians in Guyana are wealthier is similiar to 2 beggar man on a bench and one saying he richer because he found a penny. In the end, they're both still poor though not equally so. The "businessmen" in Guyana earn their income thru nefarious activities. Note that this "surge" in wealth is coincident with the advent of narco trafficking in Guyana. The average black and indian are still poor. Travel across rural indian areas and the poverty is astounding.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

Your dumb reaction is exactly why Guyanese need to learn more of our history.  You want to engage in dangerous stereotypes.  No Africans DO NOT have an aversion to farming or business ownerhsip.  Its that their lived experience in Guyana convinced them that these avenues didnt offer much to them, so they shifted to other occupations.

So Africans made the choice so why do they complain that Indians control the wealth and businesses?  BTW which race would you think have more qualified people on head to head basis...lets say University education and above?

VVP,

First, I'm surprised you didn't know about Cuffy and the white wife. That was common knowledge in school in Guyana. She was the wife of either a plantation owner or one of the overseers and he captured her.

Africans didn't make the choice to exit businesses or farming, they were forced OUT of it by the colonial masters. For example, their coastal farms were flooded out by the British to drive them out. It was an unwinnable battle for them so they opted for employment instead.

Contending that Indians in Guyana are wealthier is similiar to 2 beggar man on a bench and one saying he richer because he found a penny. In the end, they're both still poor though not equally so. The "businessmen" in Guyana earn their income thru nefarious activities. Note that this "surge" in wealth is coincident with the advent of narco trafficking in Guyana. The average black and indian are still poor. Travel across rural indian areas and the poverty is astounding.

I do not disagree with anything you said here.  Caribny is too much a protector of his race and cannot get into a fruitful discussion.  I am not a history buff....I don't think I was ever taught in school that Coffy captured a white woman to be his wife.  If I was, I certainly forgot.

I agree that the vast majority of Africans and Indians are still poor.

I do not disagree with anything you said here.  Caribny is too much a protector of his race and cannot get into a fruitful discussion.  I am not a history buff....I don't think I was ever taught in school that Coffy captured a white woman to be his wife.  If I was, I certainly forgot.

History of Guyana needs to be told. Carib is right - we can all learn a lot from it and understand the source of our racial disharmony. How else can we hope to fix it? I'm sure many Indians on this site learnt a lot from the balram singh rai discussion and other chats that helped them to see this narrative they've been fed that "black man is evil" and only want to teef and rape you is wrong.

The blacks excelled in the civil service, trade and education. Many of the early educators were blacks who taught Indians. Many worked at places like Bookers etc. in the areas of trade, and yes, many migrated because of LFS. Not sure if you remember your childhood visits to the doctors or hospitals and you would find a majority of black and portugese nurses. The midwives travelling to rural areas to deliver indian babies were almost all black.

This despicable lie being told by some Indians like rama, cobra, skeldon ape, et al that blacks are savages only out to rob and kill must be rebutted.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

History of Guyana needs to be told. Carib is right - we can all learn a lot from it and understand the source of our racial disharmony. How else can we hope to fix it? I'm sure many Indians on this site learnt a lot from the balram singh rai discussion and other chats that helped them to see this narrative they've been fed that "black man is evil" and only want to teef and rape you is wrong.

The blacks excelled in the civil service, trade and education. Many of the early educators were blacks who taught Indians. Many worked at places like Bookers etc. in the areas of trade, and yes, many migrated because of LFS. Not sure if you remember your childhood visits to the doctors or hospitals and you would find a majority of black and portugese nurses. The midwives travelling to rural areas to deliver indian babies were almost all black.

This despicable lie being told by some Indians like rama, cobra, skeldon ape, et al that blacks are savages only out to rob and kill must be rebutted.

From the time I got "sense" I remember the doctors were mainly Indians but the nurses were almost exclusively Africans.  I heard about the black midwife stories.  My mother was delivered by a black midwife who gave here her call name that stuck to even today.

VVP: Indos pon tap bai. Why are dem negroes lagging behind us rich successful coolies?

Bai go wuk pun dat law degree and election campaign nah.

VVP, step back.

Do you think anyone cares that you have BE, ME, MPA, PE and that I have a KCUF? You know what that means?

No member of GNI Political Forum is required to possess academic qualifications in order to engage in the discussions. There is no need for scrutiny.

Everyone is a specialist in his own way and we must accept that lest we be guilty of academic elitism.

Friendly advice.

VVP: Indos pon tap bai. Why are dem negroes lagging behind us rich successful coolies?

Bai go wuk pun dat law degree and election campaign nah.

VVP, step back.

Do you think anyone cares that you have BE, ME, MPA, PE and that I have a KCUF? You know what that means?

No member of GNI Political Forum is required to possess academic qualifications in order to engage in the discussions. There is no need for scrutiny.

Everyone is a specialist in his own way and we must accept that lest we be guilty of academic elitism.

Friendly advice.

Follow the discussion before making your conclusions.  BTW why didn't you quote the discussion you are referring to...you quoted something else.

Who deh pun tap bai?

Banna ah just asking questions.  That's how I learn?  Who has higher graduation rates from UG, African or Indians?  That number is easily available.

At this point in time there is no longer 100% domination of the public/private sector by Indian men, controlling the remaining 80% of the population (Indian females and non Indians).

Do you think that a society controlled by a group which accounts for only 20%, having total domination of the public and private sector, and engaging in crony capitalism to ensure that this dominance continues, is healthy?

I think not.

Originally Posted by TK:

It is a serious book. I bought a copy and cited it in a working paper I have on colonial origins of Guyana's dankey cart economy.

I am amazed how active role the Amerindians played in the early history compared to now.

Why the shock.  What is now called Guyana was of scant interest to the Dutch West India company.  Their focus was on colonies like Curacao, Suriname and Statia, which were comparably more wealthy.

Reading accounts of the Berbice Revolt one can see that we are talking of a few hundred Dutch settlers in the early part of the colonial period.  Obviously they would have had to make peace with the Amerindians.

In fact very few slaves were directly transported from Africa to Guyana.  Most were acquired from traders based in Curacao, or from Suriname planters (after that colony became Dutch).  The Guyanese planters were too poor to buy large numbers of slaves, so running vessels directly from Africa was too risky.