Granger wants “review” on Cummingsburg Accord  breach

By Gomatie Gangadin

Amid mounting criticism from various sections of society over deviations by the Alliance For Change (AFC) and the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) coalition from the Cummingsburg Accord, former Foreign Affairs Minister and political commentator, Dr Henry Jeffrey and social activist Ramon Gaskin are calling on the new Government to offer an explanation to the Guyanese people on the breaches.

Dr Henry Jeffrey

According to the February 14th Accord, the President shall, among other things, delegate the responsibilities of domestic national affairs and the chairing of Cabinet to the Prime Minister. Other responsibilities delegated to the Prime Minister should have included recommending ministerial appointments and providing the organisational structures of Ministries for the approval of the President; appointment of heads of agencies and non-constitutional commissions, with the required and agreed democratic mechanisms of consultation, and domestic security (Home Affairs). The parties had also agreed that Cabinet positions would be allocated on a 60/40 basis between APNU and the AFC, respectively.

However, the David Granger Administration currently boasts four Vice Presidents, two from the APNU and two from the AFC, while the first two Cabinet sittings were chaired by President Granger.

However, Dr Jeffrey, in an invited comment related that despite the fact that the Prime Minister has indicated that he was not bothered by the deviation, the fact of the matter was that there were changes from the agreement which was penned by the two parties. He explained that the AFC must now go to the people and explain why it is that there is a deviation.

The political commentator further pointed out that while the Constitution requires that the President chair Cabinet, the Accord had stated that such a task will be delegated to the Prime Minister and as such, the legal minds in the coalition should have known that this could not be. “They should have known this before. They cannot say they did not know this before,” Jeffrey intoned.

According to Jeffrey, a deviation is a violation of the agreement and as such, there is now a need for the parties to sit down and explain to the Guyanese society why it is so since Guyanese would have judged them and voted for the coalition based on what the document was premised.

“People voted for them based on the agreement so they really need to explain that. Also, from my point of view, I understand that conditions can change, but they cannot unilaterally change. We need to have an explanation,” he opined.

In the meantime, Gaskin, a prominent social activist, told Guyana Times that he was prepared to give them some time to adjust and to get things in order since they are relatively new in the Government. He noted that while there is a deviation from the arrangement of the Cabinet’s chairmanship, it could simply mean that the President, for the first set of meetings, wanted to meet with his Ministers in an effort to discuss with them, his expectations and responsibilities which have been bestowed upon them.

He, however, admitted that by virtue of signing an agreement and presenting it to the Guyanese public, they should have and must adhere to such and to this end, he will be keeping an eye out to see whether it is indeed a matter of them adjusting or whether they intend on a continued breach of the document.

President Granger for his part when asked to comment on the deviation expressed that the coalition was presently working on a review of the document.  He admitted that to persist with some of the stipulations of the Accord will be unconstitutional and as such, he will be awaiting the constitutional reform so that the agreement can be followed.

“To the extent that some things are in collision with the Constitution they will await constitutional change…we cannot be expected to do unconstitutional things,” Granger told reporters.

When questioned on the matter on Monday by Guyana Times, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo said nonchalantly that he was not bothered or in any way affected by President Granger reneging on that agreement and chairing the proceedings of the Cabinet.

Nagamootoo had further stated that the Accord was not worth more than the country and, as such, those were minor things. “We have an active President and we have to make this Accord work; make this coalition work; and for me the things that are minor irritancies I won’t elevate to any importance,” he had said.

Originally Posted by asj:

And so it would seems as if Granger Dictatorial Pattern Continues..........

Many people voted for the coalition because off the accord limiting the dictatorial tendencies of the pnc and that Moses will be given power over internal affairs. Both parties knew that the constitution gave supremacy to the president but he could designate. Now, their statement  raises concerns for me. Is Moses Granger's "French poodle"? Moses might not be concerned, but I am. Others are also. It seems that Moses is being sidelined. His appearance in the press is very minimal and it seems, at least to me that Harmon and Granger are running the show. Is the Accord worth the paper it is written on? Moses got the VP and PM jobs. Was it just the titles he wanted? To me, his current position seems to have no substance. Did they lie to us, the Guyanese people who are the electorate? Who is giving direction to Harmon? Moses or Granger? Or both of them? Who gives direction to the other ministers? Who is setting the priority for internal affairs? (No, I am not a "PPP hack").

Z

Should the constitution or this accord take precedence? It seems odd that all the lawyers in the opposition did not notice the accord is in breach of the mildly tinkered Burnham constitution.

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Moses staying in Egypt

That's right! The whole of Guyana is like Egypt. Just look out of your window and you will see the Pyramids of garbage that were built under the PPP/C dienasty.

HAHAHAHAHA  What a Bunch of Naive Chaps.  Uncle Nehru was teaching Al YUh like Al Yuh in Kindergarten but still Al YUh fail the Test. 

Is ONLY 30 Days, Al YUh wait MORE coming.  Another lesson for the Naive Bunch, General Granger just named the 3 Top Commamders of the GDF as his Political Advisers, I am sure this esteem Group dont see a problem with dat!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Moses staying in Egypt

That's right! The whole of Guyana is like Egypt. Just look out of your window and you will see the Pyramids of garbage that were built under the PPP/C dienasty.

The genie got out under the PNC rule which the foreign powers conspired to put in place . Now, nobody can figure out how to get it back into the bottle. Mitwah, what are your ideas. From a previous post, some ideas were mentioned. We need to to make fundamental changes here, though in the short term, we need to treat the symptoms because we need to keep the patient alive. 

Z

How many times did not tell you morons that the PNC cannot be trusted?

The accord is unconstitutional.  It is already out in the open that GECOM was threatened to post the elections in  favour of the alliance.  America wants it.

What do you want? I also told you that the Prime Minister is responsible for the Internal affairs of the Country like Putin was in Russia.  Moses can only cuss up Indians in the PPP, he is afraid of afro_guyanese.  he should remember what they did to him under burnham's dictatorship.  The sudra has identify himself with the afros...  What a JUDAS!

The accord is unconstitutional.  It is already out in the open that GECOM was threatened to post the elections in  favour of the alliance.  America wants it.

What do you want? I also told you that the Prime Minister is responsible for the Internal affairs of the Country like Putin was in Russia.  Moses can only cuss up Indians in the PPP, he is afraid of afro_guyanese.  he should remember what they did to him under burnham's dictatorship.  The sudra has identify himself with the afros...  What a JUDAS!

Oh Lord...sanka caffee and white rum going down early .

Originally Posted by TK:

Oh Lord...sanka caffee and white rum going down early .

I spoke the truth. Didn't I?

I know you would understand.  The boys at freedom House sais that you will realize your mistakes and come around one day in the future.  You see I know that you are in denial.  I also know that you can rip up the Alliance's economic plans anytime you want.  tell that is not so....

Dalitbhai, is wuh kinda shit you dinking so early? Sober up and tell us why the Accord in unconstitutional.

I am not here to educate you bhaiji.  I am here to stare you in the right direction.

I am off to Kolcutta in a few weeks.

Good for you.  Walk with a face mask to keep out the dust and germs.

Don't eat any kind of fruits that you didn't peel yourself.

Watch out for those little skilled thieves.  Those guys opened my backpack counted all the things that were in the bag with out me knowing. prince of goods will go up ten times if they know you are a foreigner.  Don't forget to negotiate.

Good luck on your trip.

Originally Posted by Zed:

Many people voted for the coalition because off the accord limiting the dictatorial tendencies of the pnc and that Moses will be given power over internal affairs. Both parties knew that the constitution gave supremacy to the president but he could designate. Now, their statement  raises concerns for me. Is Moses Granger's "French poodle"? Moses might not be concerned, but I am. Others are also. It seems that Moses is being sidelined. His appearance in the press is very minimal and it seems, at least to me that Harmon and Granger are running the show. Is the Accord worth the paper it is written on? Moses got the VP and PM jobs. Was it just the titles he wanted? To me, his current position seems to have no substance. Did they lie to us, the Guyanese people who are the electorate? Who is giving direction to Harmon? Moses or Granger? Or both of them? Who gives direction to the other ministers? Who is setting the priority for internal affairs? (No, I am not a "PPP hack").

Zed, those who voted for the APNU-AFC coalition did so for one primary reason - to have a change of governance from one of corruption to one of transparency and racial unity.

The legal minds in both parties must have known that if some parts of the Cummingsburg Accord were in contravention to the articles and spirit of the Constitution, then they must have had two things in mind - bring constitutional changes to a vote work around these.

The measure of the coalition's success is in the implementation of the programs they campaigned on. Time will provide us with the answers. However, there is no dispute that the optics of the change have so far been positive, and no politician or partners have been shoved aside. It is not even worth lending credence to wild talk about dictatorial tendencies. The body of your comment is unadulterated speculation that strains sensible discourse.

The fundamental issue that escapes you is that the PPP are to be trusted even less than the PNC.

Originally Posted by Zed:

Zed, those who voted for the APNU-AFC coalition did so for one primary reason - to have a change of governance from one of corruption to one of transparency and racial unity.

The legal minds in both parties must have known that if some parts of the Cummingsburg Accord were in contravention to the articles and spirit of the Constitution, then they must have had two things in mind - bring constitutional changes to a vote work around these.

The measure of the coalition's success is in the implementation of the programs they campaigned on. Time will provide us with the answers. However, there is no dispute that the optics of the change have so far been positive, and no politician or partners have been shoved aside. It is not even worth lending credence to wild talk about dictatorial tendencies. The body of your comment is unadulterated speculation that strains sensible discourse.

Kari, thanks for your response. First, I do agree that time will give us an answer. However, this is not just an intellectual exercise for me because I live in Guyana and the results of their acts of commission and omission will directly affect me both in the short term and in the long term, not so for some who are sitting abroad and pontificating. Time is thus of essence. Second, I asked some questions which I think are relevant to the operation of the accord and the answers to which are important to deciding if the accord is being adhered to. Please read the local press and then decide who is really running internal affairs. Third, many people wanted change, but voted for the alliance only because the AFC and Moses would have had a particular role in the government. This is anecdotal evidence, but that is all we all have. Fourth, I guess that you are correct, that 28 years of dictatorship and not even accepting that there was rigging is no enough evidence of a tendency.fifth, I would support your statement that the legal minds of both parties knew that some parts of the accord would contravene the constitution. But my view is that the accord should hold primany in those areas that they agreed on until such time that the constitutional change process works out what the new power relationships will be. It will be disingenious for anyone to say they cannot stick to the terms of the accord because it is not in accordance to the constitution. Sixth, it is evident from the results of the election that nearly half of the electorates have their own ipionion on what the election was all about, even though you or I might disagree with them. Seven, thanks for the response because, it allows me to have a better feel of how many actors, stakeholders, etc, view issues in Guyana.

Z

The Cummingsburg Accord gave Moses certain tasks.  It was quite clear that his role was to recommend, not decide.  That being the President's role.

Granger was outsourcing the ground work to Nagamootoo, while retaining the final say.  Why do you think that the PNC rank and file felt OK with this?

In addition the AFC did not have the grass roots apparatus to mount successful campaign events, or an effective get out to vote mechanism.  The much larger PNC did.

Did many people vote for the coalition because it was hoped that the Accord would curb the more negative tendencies of the PNC? YES. 

Did people seriously think that a party bringing in 15% of the votes would dominate the party that brought in 85%?  They had to be kidding. 

AND folks also need to be aware of the fact that while the PPP refugee element of the AFC might not find a return of the PPP to be the worst thing, not all within the AFC think so.

And of course all the Moses and Cheddi chanting from the AFC Indo section reminded many that these folks remain PPP at heart.  Now why did they think that entering an alliance with the PNC, and praising Cheddi as some god, was going to help remove the distrust which was no doubt there? 

The fairly sizeable segment of the PNC that see Burnham as a hero kept those views to themselves.  Pity the Moses Cultists couldn't do likewise.

Folks really need to understand that there are also  several Afro Guyanese narratives.  In NONE of them are Cheddi and Janet cast as heroes.

And just be aware.  Linden is now beginning to cash in their chips for delivering almost 17k votes and a winning margin of 14k.

The Cummingsburg Accord gave Moses certain tasks.  It was quite clear that his role was to recommend, not decide.  That being the President's role.

Granger was outsourcing the ground work to Nagamootoo, while retaining the final say.  Why do you think that the PNC rank and file felt OK with this?

In addition the AFC did not have the grass roots apparatus to mount successful campaign events, or an effective get out to vote mechanism.  The much larger PNC did.

Did many people vote for the coalition because it was hoped that the Accord would curb the more negative tendencies of the PNC? YES. 

Did people seriously think that a party bringing in 15% of the votes would dominate the party that brought in 85%?  They had to be kidding. 

AND folks also need to be aware of the fact that while the PPP refugee element of the AFC might not find a return of the PPP to be the worst thing, not all within the AFC think so.

And of course all the Moses and Cheddi chanting from the AFC Indo section reminded many that these folks remain PPP at heart.  Now why did they think that entering an alliance with the PNC, and praising Cheddi as some god, was going to help remove the distrust which was no doubt there? 

The fairly sizeable segment of the PNC that see Burnham as a hero kept those views to themselves.  Pity the Moses Cultists couldn't do likewise.

Folks really need to understand that there are also  several Afro Guyanese narratives.  In NONE of them are Cheddi and Janet cast as heroes.

And just be aware.  Linden is now beginning to cash in their chips for delivering almost 17k votes and a winning margin of 14k.

What a load of crock!

No AFC coalescence with APNU means PPP in power. That's all you need to know.

Without the AFC, your PNC would still be in the opposition trench.

No AFC coalescence with APNU means PPP in power. That's all you need to know.

I am aware of this, as are the Hughes, Trotman, Gaskin, Patterson, and Holder.

Now debate amongst yourself as to whether they want they want the PPP back.

Mitwah, without the PNC where would the AFC be?  Empty campaign events for sure.  Look at those pictures from the Corentyne coast and the Essequibo Coast and ask yourself how many NON PNC folks showed up.

The AFC with empty campaign events would have embarrassed itself at the polls.

APNU would have been in the opposition.  The AFC might be where the WPA, ROAR and the UF are now.

Mitwah, without the PNC where would the AFC be?  Empty campaign events for sure.  Look at those pictures from the Corentyne coast and the Essequibo Coast and ask yourself how many NON PNC folks showed up.

APNU would have been in the opposition.  The AFC might be where the WPA, ROAR and the UF are now.

Praises to Ramjattan and Moses.

And then you wonder why Trotman and Granger will cooperate to ensure that these two gentlemen are kept under watch and control.

Like you don't want Unity?  Take off your racist blinkers before you attempt to bray.

We want unity.  You want Indo domination.

Granger and Trotman are there to ensure that you don't get it.

You have a cabinet of FIVE Indians, SIX Africans, and THREE mixed people.  Only SIX of the 15 are African, and yet you all scream that it is Afro dominated.

What do you want?  To have NINE Indians out of the 15, like the PPP?

We want unity.  You want Indo domination.

Granger and Trotman are there to ensure that you don't get it.

You have a cabinet of FIVE Indians, SIX Africans, and THREE mixed people.  Only SIX of the 15 are African, and yet you all want more.

What do you want?  To have NINE out of the 15 like the PPP?

You don't want unity. Don't take your shit and try to paste it on my behind. Free yourself  from the shackles of racism. You are full of racist shit. 

Carib:

Stop the distortion.

There are 26(?) ministers?

How many advisors?  And diversity?

Carib has always advocated for a clean Afro sweep.  He denies that the Ministries are all Afro dominated, and is upset that the PPP had a few Indians in some directorships.  Carib is not bothered that the senior teams in the ministries were largely Afros.

The lack of diversity will hurt the Coalition if Granger continues that trend.  Take warning!  It will be hard sell next time around for the Coalition.

You don't want unity. Don't take your shit and try to paste it on my behind. Free yourself  from the shackles of racism. You are full of racist shit. 

I see.  Your idea of "unity" is NINE Indians out of 15 in the cabinet.

That isn't going to happen.

You are a slave to your racist mentality. Take it to your grave.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Carib:

Stop the distortion.

There are 26(?) ministers?

How many advisors?  And diversity?

15 are at cabinet.  4 are at the Presidency, divided 2 for APNU and 2 for AFC.

The work of the govt, except for National Resources, is done at cabinet. An AFC man is in charge of National Resources.

NONE of the junior ministers sit at cabinet.  They have NO INPUT into the cabinet.  Their role is to IMPLEMENT the decisions of the cabinet.  So of what relevance are they?

Jay your issue is that you saw the PPP as diverse.  How so?  Focus on REAL ministers.  Not the tokens like Juan Edghill.  The man knows nothing of finance, so what they hell did he do at the Ministry of Finance?

The PPP cabinet was way more Indian dominated than the coalition cabinet is African dominated.  Only 40% of cabinet is African and yet you scream "too many ni99ers in here".

You have no right to discuss anything on this topic until you face the fact that the PPP was NOT diverse.

Cry and scream that "dem got too much black man hey, we want 9 Indian ministers out of 15."

Moses is telling you to stop embarrassing him.

Cry and scream that "dem got too much black man hey, we want 9 Indian ministers out of 15."

Moses is telling you to stop embarrassing him.

Take your racism to your grave. There is no cure for your type of mental sickness.  There is a psychological help for "Voice in the head Hearers" like you.  Haul yuh racist ass.

Carib is probably a David Hinds/ACDA type who believe in black triumphalism and entitlement, not someone with a broad vision for national and racial unity based on equality and equity.

When cornered with the facts that all the Govt ministries, the military, Police, nursing, immigration, teaching services, and public enterprises are at least 70% Afros, he arbitrarily comes up with "core" and "non core" and discounts the large presence of Afros in the senior leadership level of each ministry. He is not happy that one of those senior people is an Indian, and because that is so, suddenly the 70% of blacks have no power, according to Carib.  Yet those 70% are the people you have to bribe to get something done efficiently.

Granger will do well to be sensitive to diversity issues in all his decision making.

You have always failed to understand one dynamic - pre-coalition, the AFC was a party becoming more dominated by the disaffected PPP-ites. It continued to attract the disaffected PNC-ites too and the Independents. The coalition changed that momentum, and it was worth it as the PPP needed to go. The sacrifice is the AFC's momentum pre-coalition. In 2020 it would have been a genuine peer party able to command close to one-thirds of the polling, given generational and migratory patterns.

Bottom line is that the AFC sacrificed for the greater good and the PNC benefited by being part of a coalition government. Continuing to disparage the AFC will only mean a less-than-5-year government, as all it takes is a one-seat shift.

Last edited by Kari