Originally Posted by Miraver:

Okay Rev, I looked through your thread...you've got lots of stuff here. What might me interesting to me might not be for others. I'll try to make a few posts now and then

Mira:

* We are all fully aware of that proverb:

* In other words what's pleasant for you may be unpleasant for others.

* But that's what makes life interesting---half the people will agree with what you say and the other half will disagree.

* I like it when people disagree with me. Sometime I learn a thing or two from them. You never learn from those who agree with you.

Okay Rev, I looked through your thread...you've got lots of stuff here. What might me interesting to me might not be for others. I'll try to make a few posts now and then

Mira:

* We are all fully aware of that proverb:

* In other words what's pleasant for you may be unpleasant for others.

* But that's what makes life interesting---half the people will agree with what you say and the other half will disagree.

* I like it when people disagree with me. Sometime I learn a thing or two from them. You never learn from those who agree with you.

Yep, I've heard that one before and have used it too. How about one man's trash is another man's treasure? 

Let the lighthearted disagreements begin! Here  I go...

The designer handbags, clothing, shoes, watches etc. that you post are not interesting at all to me. See, you've learned some more about me just from this post. Now, it's your turn to disagree so I can learn something from you. 

Let the lighthearted disagreements begin! Here  I go...

The designer handbags, clothing, shoes, watches etc. that you post are not interesting at all to me. See, you've learned some more about me just from this post. Now, it's your turn to disagree so I can learn something from you. 

* Personally I am quite contented with the simple things in life---good books, good music, good foods, good travels--- to places I have never gone to before + a few other important things like good, loving family.

RE: FASHION--clothes/handbags/shoes/watches

* Hey I have learned a lot from my wife---I like her style---she once told me that she buys what makes her happy---I like that---once she is happy---I am happy.

THIS MAN JUST BECAME RICHER THAN WARREN BUFFET

* Any of you ever shopped at ZARA Stores ? Well the man who just surpassed Warren Buffet as the 2nd richest person in the world is the founder of ZARA Stores.

READ MORE:

He’s a famously private person

Amancio Ortega, founder of clothing retailer Zara, is now the second-richest man in the world, knocking legendary investor Warren Buffett into third place.

The 79-year-old who hails from Spain is worth over $71.5 billion as of June 2, 2015, according to Bloomberg. Bill Gates remains the world’s richest man with a net worth of over $85.5 billion.

http://fortune.com/2015/06/03/...a/?xid=yahoo_fortune

* The Bible says, "to those who have more will be given unto them." In other words, the rich get richer.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Zara is one of my favorite store. There's a huge one at Florida Mall.

The clothes are very trendy and elegant.

Riya:

* Mr. Ortega wholeheartedly thanks you for patronizing his store. You and millions of other fashionable shoppers have helped made him the 2nd richest man in the world.

* But seriously riya, did you know that unlike other brands that update once a season, ZARA restocks their stores with new designs twice a week ? That explains why when you go into a Zara store there is a freshness and brightness and newness every time you go.

* In terms of business, ZARA has fundamentally changed fashion---their success has been astounding.

Originally Posted by alena06:
Originally Posted by Riya:

Zara is one of my favorite store. There's a huge one at Florida Mall.

The clothes are very trendy and elegant.

My sis spends a huge part of her paycheck at Zara.   I have picked up stuff there once in a while...not a regular. Their clothes is unique and fits well.

that reminds me of my working days in NYC. I worked across Lord and Taylor and would blow my paycheck right there

HOW MANY OF YOU USE YOUR CELLPHONE IN THE BATHROOM ?

QUESTION:

* Did you folks know that using you cell phone in the bathroom can spread serious illness ?

READ MORE:

You have in the air pathogens such as E. coli, salmonella, C. difficile, norovirus," he said. "These could get deposited onto these devices. That could then lead to either self-infection, or transmission of infection through touching somebody else."

The use of a cellphone without either washing your hands or cleaning off the device with an alcohol wipe could lead to a "cumulative effect of bacteria," Tetro said.

See Link:

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2...germs_n_5283659.html

THE SELFIE SYNDROME--A NEW GENERATION OF NARCISSISTS

Read this:

Most members of the selfie-snapping public try to go about their disgusting business in a discreet fashion. But we’ve found some who have no shame.

CHECK THIS:

http://www.timetobreak.com/416...-these-13-a-winners/

* I saw Mr. cain posting a selfie of himself recently---but unlike that woman he was discreet.

That woman wasn't taking out a selfie. She has a mirror app in her smartphone. She was using the mirror to check out something down deh.

Gilly bai:

* The Rev admires your CURIOSITY.

* Take a bow my friend Only a man with a youthful sparkle--a man who still has that fountain of youth in him--a man with inimitable curiosity---only such a man Gilbakka would make the whimsical observation you just did. Listen! Whenever the good Lord is ready for you my friend you'll depart with a spirited, sprightly and youthful heart. 

Rev, I like that word "inimitable". 

I did say I'll try to contribute to your thread - here I go

i read recently that 8 out of 10 people fear public speaking. I can't recall where I read it. Does this hold true for you?

Mira:

* Isn't all speaking public speaking ? Whether you talk to one person or a thousand people, it's public speaking. If the Rev runs into you in New York city and we have a pleasant chat, that's public speaking, right ?

* Maybe the 8 in 10 people you mentioned---they likely fear standing in front of an audience and delivering a talk or speech.

* ACTUALLY THE FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING IS CALLED GLOSSOPHOBIA.

* YOU ASKED IF THE REV HAS A FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING.

* The answer is no---I think if you speak from the heart---if you know what you are talking about---and if you respect the people you are talking to----then there will be no fear speaking before an audience---Be sincere, be brief, and be seated. That's the key.

Oh and just for the record...my aerial is up.

cainsta:

* Stormborn is the man to contact if your aerial is up---his aerial is up also---he's eagerly awaiting to be single again---Stormy is GNI's resident expert on Ukrainian mail order brides:  See link---wide selection:

https://www.google.com/search?...&ved=0CAYQ_AUoAQ

where did I say I would want a mail order bride? I am quite confident if the need arises that I can find a woman from those with whom I would have had something in common.

cainsta:

* Stormborn is the man to contact if your aerial is up---his aerial is up also---he's eagerly awaiting to be single again---Stormy is GNI's resident expert on Ukrainian mail order brides:  See link---wide selection:

where did I say I would want a mail order bride? I am quite confident if the need arises that I can find a woman from those with whom I would have had something in common.

GNI rocks.   Morning folks! 

Rev, you have a variety of topics going on here, so I'll add another: suicide. What leads a 47-year-old Guyanese wife and mother of 2 wonderful children who all lived in paradise: Orlando, FL to hang herself? I guess a few folks are living lives of quiet desperation in these foreign countries. Say a prayer for that soul to rest in peace.

Stormy:

* The Rev was not aware of Ukrainian brides until you brought it up in a thread last year and spoke eloquently about their beauty and sensuosity.

https://www.google.com/search?...pics.php%3B330%3B470

* Anyway, I wish you well with your "bonding" if or when the time comes. Women like confident men. And you say you have tons of confidence.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Rev, you have a variety of topics going on here, so I'll add another: suicide. What leads a 47-year-old Guyanese wife and mother of 2 wonderful children who all lived in paradise: Orlando, FL to hang herself? I guess a few folks are living lives of quiet desperation in these foreign countries. Say a prayer for that soul to rest in peace.

Miss Observer:

* Oh darn! That is very sad. Very sad, indeed.

* Someone once said, "people who die by suicide don't want to end their life they want to end their pain and sadness."

* By the way Observer, I noticed you quoted Thoreau. He was dead right, "the masses of men/women live lives of quiet desperation."

Gilly bai:

* The Rev admires your CURIOSITY.

* Take a bow my friend Only a man with a youthful sparkle--a man who still has that fountain of youth in him--a man with inimitable curiosity---only such a man Gilbakka would make the whimsical observation you just did. Listen! Whenever the good Lord is ready for you my friend you'll depart with a spirited, sprightly and youthful heart. 

Padna, when I was young like that girl, there weren't smartphones with mirror apps. I had to use a simple pocket mirror, a round one with a nude Marlyn Munroe's photo at the back. And being an active youth playing on various fields, I needed that mirror to check for red grass lice and black crab lice which were all native to that tropical climate just like me.

cainsta:

Baana look yeh, when my aerial is up I do not contact men.

I did the selfie because none of the family wanna take a pic with me in biker clothes...well except for the cops. Check the Outlaws shirt, bad ass cain, hehehe

Padna, when I was young like that girl, there weren't smartphones with mirror apps. I had to use a simple pocket mirror,

Gilly Bhai:

* It looks like you were a regular customer at Garmont and the other whorehouses on Lombard street in Guyana. Those diseased women had to have been infested. By the way gilbakka, how much did you pay for services back in those days ?hahaha

Baana look yeh, when my aerial is up I do not contact men.

I did the selfie because none of the family wanna take a pic with me in biker clothes...well except for the cops. Check the Outlaws shirt, bad ass cain, hehehe

* The outlaw shirt is surely bad ass. By the way, is that really you in the selfie ? For a while I thought it was your son or grandson.LOL

I WANT ALL OF YOU---PARTICULARLY THE GNI LADIES---TO LISTEN TO THIS BRIGHT, BEAUTIFUL, CHARMING AND ELOQUENT 56 YEAR OLD WOMAN GIVE A TALK AT THE 2014 TED CONFERENCE--WE'LL TALK ABOUT HER LATER IN THIS THREAD

In this intriguing talk, biologist Ameenah Gurib-Fakim introduces us to rare plant species from isolated islands and regions of Africa. Meet the shape-shifting benjoin; the baume de l'ile plate, which might offer a new treatment for asthma; and the iconic baobab tree, which could hold the key to the future of food. Plus: monkey apples.

DID YOU LISTEN TO HER TALK ? THE BRILLIANT AND ELOQUENT AMEENAH GURIB-FAKIM IS NOW THE FIRST FEMALE PRESIDENT OF MAURITIUS

* The Rev has deep respect and glowing admiration for accomplished women like Ameenah---lovely name by the way.

* I wonder if Americans are in the mood to elect a woman President in 2016 ? Congrats to the Mauritians.

* Click on the link if you are curious:

http://blog.ted.com/surprise-y...sident-of-mauritius/

PAGING MS. MIRAVER:

* You asked me a question about PUBLIC SPEAKING earlier in this thread.

* Did you listen to that TED TALK by the esteemed and scintillating Ms. Ameenah Gurib-Fakim ? It was quite compelling, wasn't it ?

* That's the way you give a public speech without harboring any fears.

* Be knowledgeable. Be sincere. Be brief. Be seated.

* Ameenah was all of those.

* Not sure about my fellow GNI posters, but the Rev thoroughly enjoyed listening to Ameenah.

* And by the way, she has a refreshing sense of humor. When she talked about the Resurrection Plant, for example---she said even Jesus has competition. I thought that was funny.

Padna, when I was young like that girl, there weren't smartphones with mirror apps. I had to use a simple pocket mirror,

Gilly Bhai:

* It looks like you were a regular customer at Garmont and the other whorehouses on Lombard street in Guyana. Those diseased women had to have been infested. By the way gilbakka, how much did you pay for services back in those days ?hahaha

Bai, is not the way yuh mekking it out to be. Some of dat was involved but not much. Anyway, as yuh ask, it was $1 with skirts off, $2 with no clothes. I experimented only in 1970 and part 1971. After that, was real girlfriends. Now, I dare you to be more candid and honest than me.

UK prof says it's time to pitch erasers from classrooms so kids can learn from mistakes

Erasers are an ‘instrument of the devil’ and should be banned from classrooms, according to education expert Guy Claxton

CBC --- Erasers may look benign, but a cognitive scientist in the UK says beware what's inside your child's pencil case.

Guy Claxton, a visiting professor at King's College, London told British newspapers that "erasers are the instrument of the devil," this week. 

Claxton says we do need to rub out the idea that kids aren't allowed to make mistakes.

"The problem with erasers is, if you're not careful, they perpetuate an idea that to be successful you have to get things right the first time. And the eraser says if you didn't get it right the first time, rub it out and pretend that you did. So, the written record looks like you're smarter than you are."

He says the idea that work needs to be perfect is damaging to kids in the long run.

"It's as if we're training children to be little performers rather than little improvers, and in the long run that doesn't stand them in good stead. The international research is very clear that attitudes like persistence in the face of difficulty, curiosity, and imagination count for more in life than the grades that students get."

The man is mad. Imagine making a misteke,misteak,misstake...mistake.

Now imagininging,imiagne,immagene,  imagine this occuring often.

When any of my coworkers made a mistake, they freak out, start breaking out in freckles, hives whatever at the time, I would always say, "don't worry, mistakes are meant to be made, why do you think erasures are placed on the ends of pencils?"    They would smile and breathe easier.

Dis dam man trying fo screw up Iman werds, wirds, wurds, ...words of wisdom.

DID YOU LISTEN TO HER TALK ? THE BRILLIANT AND ELOQUENT AMEENAH GURIB-FAKIM IS NOW THE FIRST FEMALE PRESIDENT OF MAURITIUS

* The Rev has deep respect and glowing admiration for accomplished women like Ameenah---lovely name by the way.

* I wonder if Americans are in the mood to elect a woman President in 2016 ? Congrats to the Mauritians.

* Click on the link if you are curious:

http://blog.ted.com/surprise-y...sident-of-mauritius/

Very admirable lady, and she and Hilary Clinton are great role models for women everywhere.

I think more Indians were taken to Mauritius than anywhere else but am not sure, will check the data later. Indians in India are very aware of this and shot some movies there:  Souten, Chandi Sona, etc.

UK prof says it's time to pitch erasers from classrooms so kids can learn from mistakes

* That's UK professor needs a lobotomy. What an incredibly dumb idea.

* Any 6 year old would tell that stupid professor that erasers are made for those who are willing to correct their mistakes.

* Oh well! 90% of professors are ordinary and mediocre---they have advanced degrees but little common sense and wisdom---that UK professor is among that 90%.

Originally Posted by Observer:

I think more Indians were taken to Mauritius than anywhere else but am not sure, will check the data later. Indians in India are very aware of this and shot some movies there:  Souten, Chandi Sona, etc.

* Read what Mark Twain had to say about Mauritius. He was right. It's a beautiful Island.

* You are right about the demographics---the majority of the population are Indo-Mauritians---who make up 68% of the population.

http://wikitravel.org/en/Mauritius

* That's UK professor needs a lobotomy. What an incredibly dumb idea.

* Any 6 year old would tell that stupid professor that erasers are made for those who are willing to correct their mistakes.

* Oh well! 90% of professors are ordinary and mediocre---they have advanced degrees but little common sense and wisdom---that UK professor is among that 90%.

I do not mind that in early stages of learning they ditch the erasers. Most kids cannot write any thing well. Handwriting is being lost. My kids surprised me when I learnt they ( the girls especially who went to regular school. Son home schooled)  could not write cursive fluidly and when they did it was truly horrid. I actually had to take a couple of months to tutor them for an half an hour to an hour a couple of times a week teaching them to write cursive by tricking them it is calligraphy. Imagine the puffed cheeks I had initially  teaching them an obsolete art! Well, now they see the befit. The girls especially took it to heart and now like to write. I hate ugly writing. Writing well is not only easy with a few lessons but it is absolutely beautiful. I have mastered  a few including Carolingian, Irish half Uncial, Uncial, old English and the standard Spencerian we learnt in school. I think erasers and a lack of emphasis on formal penmanship has led to the decay of good writing habits

Rev, I like that word "inimitable". 

I did say I'll try to contribute to your thread - here I go

i read recently that 8 out of 10 people fear public speaking. I can't recall where I read it. Does this hold true for you?

Mira:

* Isn't all speaking public speaking ? Whether you talk to one person or a thousand people, it's public speaking. If the Rev runs into you in New York city and we have a pleasant chat, that's public speaking, right ?

* Maybe the 8 in 10 people you mentioned---they likely fear standing in front of an audience and delivering a talk or speech.

* ACTUALLY THE FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING IS CALLED GLOSSOPHOBIA.

* YOU ASKED IF THE REV HAS A FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING.

* The answer is no---I think if you speak from the heart---if you know what you are talking about---and if you respect the people you are talking to----then there will be no fear speaking before an audience---Be sincere, be brief, and be seated. That's the key.

Come on Rev, you know fully well that I meant standing in front of an audience when I said, "public speaking" Anyway, I like your attempt at humor

Yes, I know this-  THE FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING IS CALLED GLOSSOPHOBIA.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

ummm..ravstah..u nah ansah de gyal question...u run aroung de bush kinda...hahah

* You have to learn chams Never answer a question directly until you understand the motive of the questioner.hahaha

hmmmmmmmmmmm...tip of the day...

Rev, fortunately, I had no motive (hidden reason) for asking the question about public speaking. I was merely trying to contribute to your thread and make polite conversation.

Cham, I won't recommend Rev's response as "tip of the day". 

PAGING MS. MIRAVER:

* You asked me a question about PUBLIC SPEAKING earlier in this thread.

* Did you listen to that TED TALK by the esteemed and scintillating Ms. Ameenah Gurib-Fakim ? It was quite compelling, wasn't it ?

* That's the way you give a public speech without harboring any fears.

* Be knowledgeable. Be sincere. Be brief. Be seated.

* Ameenah was all of those.

* Not sure about my fellow GNI posters, but the Rev thoroughly enjoyed listening to Ameenah.

* And by the way, she has a refreshing sense of humor. When she talked about the Resurrection Plant, for example---she said even Jesus has competition. I thought that was funny.

Miraver is answering the page:

I didn't look at that TED presentation as yet. I bet it is a good one.