My Dear Friends, Self-Appointed Enemies, and PPP Mudheads et al,

I have waited a little while to pen this. My only hesitation is that I'm going to write this and only two posters (Caribj and Baseman) may understand the essence of what I'm writing.

As Granger is a keen student of history, especially the "classics" (as in classical Greece and Republican Rome), I suspect he takes his cues from Julius Caesar and Lucius Cincinnatus. One part is Caesar's populism and concern for the Roman underclass plebians even though he was born a patrician. Though not Caesar's insatiable appetite for personal glory and personal power for it's own sake. Married to this is the conduct of the great Roman general and statesman Lucius Cincinnatus who appeared at the hour when the situation was grave and the very continued existence of the Roman State was in doubt who was granted supreme executive power as "dictator" to re-organize the State, defeat the military and political threats to Rome, and then resign his office and return to the status of private gentleman farmer.

David Granger appears to be such a unique man and statesman. Which is why I have a deep natural respect for the man. To understand his actions of the past week and I suspect the next 5 or 10 years, one must successfully discern his state of mind and his philosophy of government and power. He appears to have a Republican Roman philosophy of Government. He is not wholly a democrat nor wholly an authoritarian. One cannot put him into a neat box as we did Cheddi and Burnham. Thank God. The only box one may approximately fit him into is that of Roman Republican patrician Consul.

David Granger the President can be described as an enlightened despot on a mission to remake/restore Guyana. David Granger understands power. How to get it, how to wield it, and how to hold it. The state of Guyana 2015 is a mess. Every sector is plagued by corruption and incompetence. Cometh the hour, cometh the man! The hour was right for an enlightened despot and he has made his appearance.

These are my predictions:

1. He will continue to consolidate power for a while in the Presidency.

2. He will wield power to "refashion" Guyanese society and polity into a civilized state where there is a place for everyone and everyone is in their place. None of his actions will be for his personal benefit. They will all be for Guyana.

3. He's an old man. He wants a legacy to tower that of his predecessors for generations to come.

4. He will most likely handpick his successor to continue his "mission" to "refashion" Guyana.

5. Guyana's headlines for the next five years will be boring and novel at the same time. Boring in that he will be running a competent non-corrupt Government. Novel in that he will be running a competent non-corrupt Government.

David Granger is the nominal 8th President of Guyana but in fact he sees himself as Guyana's first president picking up from where Sir David Rose left off on May 26, 1966. Notice the optics of his Inauguration. He understands symbols and their power in politics.

A man likes this needs a free hand to accomplish his mission....for a while.

His challenges (which I'm sure he's aware of):

1. He can never allow any of his successors to wield this kind of despotic power easily abused by cretins as he will almost certainly be succeeded by cretins in the future. He will have to build the Rule of Law and humble the powerful before it. I suspect Magistrate Artiga at Whim got the go ahead from the Presidency to humble Jagdeo publicly a little. I also suspect that we're going to get a new Constitution suited to our peculiar circumstances.

2. He has to build a system that can withstand the viscissitudes of party politics in Guyana which is racial in nature making it extra nasty.

3. He has to "civilize" the PNC and the PPP. His greatest challenges will come from the mad people in his party joined by the perennially myopic.

4. He has to devise a system where the PNC can win elections freely and fairly but never be given a completely free hand to run amok and destroy the country. Same for the PPP.

This list and post is by no means exhaustive but I just wanted to give you all a perspective of the David Granger I suspect we now find as Guyana's sovereign. A complex man who we should give the benefit of the doubt to for a while with criticism only reserved for when his plan's can be improved by our criticisms.

Let the man accomplish his mission. Help him improve his plans where necessary. There aren't many David Grangers left in Guyana. Frankly, I think he's the only one. If he does his job right and accomplishes his mission, we may never need another David Granger to come to our rescue again. He will rule so that his successors can govern.

Originally Posted by TK:

I agree with most of it. However economic realities don't necessarily cooperate. Have to wait and see how they respond.

I think this is gonna go over the heads of the PPP Crowd still waiting pon the Elections Petition to restore abbe Opposition MPs to their rightful place at the national trough.

I might not have the intellectual acumen to understand all of this. However, my intellectually inhibited response is.

1. I thought granger was schooled in West Indian and Caribbean history. I might be wrong. 

2. Your analogy does not work because your understanding and interpretation of Roman history is incorrect.

3. Men on mission often become dictators And have their own definition of benovelence which might include depriving people of their fundamental rights and to the extreme, their life. What needs to be created are institutions and processes that lend themselves to an inclusive democracy where we are provided opportunities to make meaning participation in government and opportunities and supports to develop our potential, lending to the development of our nation and family.

4. You are not asking for a honeymoon period, you want us to give just constructive criticism. i am ok with that but what about others, even you. So many crazy statements on this board. How is that going to happen. 

5. are you suggesting that it is ok for the executive president to phone a member of the judiciary and influence the decisions made by that member of the judiciary? This is illegal, a breach of the constitution, dictatorial, etc.

6. This is a spin that David is the only one who can do it. 49.2 percent of the population disagree with this assertion and you depreciate so many people who can do the same thing, or even better. This is the same person who said that no rigging occurred during the pnc years, closed his eyes to the possibility that Rodney was assassinated.

7. Good leaders invite criticism and consider those criticisms when making decisions so that de ions include people instead if exclude. 

i have other comments to make but leave it to others to add to the discussion. Ok, let's keep this civil and discuss the ideas presented.

Z

I have waited a little while to pen this. My only hesitation is that I'm going to write this and only two posters (Caribj and Baseman) may understand the essence of what I'm writing.

As Granger is a keen student of history, especially the "classics" (as in classical Greece and Republican Rome), I suspect he takes his cues from Julius Caesar and Lucius Cincinnatus. One part is Caesar's populism and concern for the Roman underclass plebians even though he was born a patrician. Though not Caesar's insatiable appetite for personal glory and personal power for it's own sake. Married to this is the conduct of the great Roman general and statesman Lucius Cincinnatus who appeared at the hour when the situation was grave and the very continued existence of the Roman State was in doubt who was granted supreme executive power as "dictator" to re-organize the State, defeat the military and political threats to Rome, and then resign his office and return to the status of private gentleman farmer.

David Granger appears to be such a unique man and statesman. Which is why I have a deep natural respect for the man. To understand his actions of the past week and I suspect the next 5 or 10 years, one must successfully discern his state of mind and his philosophy of government and power. He appears to have a Republican Roman philosophy of Government. He is not wholly a democrat nor wholly an authoritarian. One cannot put him into a neat box as we did Cheddi and Burnham. Thank God. The only box one may approximately fit him into is that of Roman Republican patrician Consul.

David Granger the President can be described as an enlightened despot on a mission to remake/restore Guyana. David Granger understands power. How to get it, how to wield it, and how to hold it. The state of Guyana 2015 is a mess. Every sector is plagued by corruption and incompetence. Cometh the hour, cometh the man! The hour was right for an enlightened despot and he has made his appearance.

2. He will wield power to "refashion" Guyanese society and polity into a civilized state where there is a place for everyone and everyone is in their place. None of his actions will be for his personal benefit. They will all be for Guyana.

3. He's an old man. He wants a legacy to tower that of his predecessors for generations to come.

4. He will most likely handpick his successor to continue his "mission" to "refashion" Guyana.

5. Guyana's headlines for the next five years will be boring and novel at the same time. Boring in that he will be running a competent non-corrupt Government. Novel in that he will be running a competent non-corrupt Government.

David Granger is the nominal 8th President of Guyana but in fact he sees himself as Guyana's first president picking up from where Sir David Rose left off on May 26, 1966. Notice the optics of his Inauguration. He understands symbols and their power in politics.

1. He can never allow any of his successors to wield this kind of despotic power easily abused by cretins as he will almost certainly be succeeded by cretins in the future. He will have to build the Rule of Law and humble the powerful before it. I suspect Magistrate Artiga at Whim got the go ahead from the Presidency to humble Jagdeo publicly a little. I also suspect that we're going to get a new Constitution suited to our peculiar circumstances.

2. He has to build a system that can withstand the viscissitudes of party politics in Guyana which is racial in nature making it extra nasty.

3. He has to "civilize" the PNC and the PPP. His greatest challenges will come from the mad people in his party joined by the perennially myopic.

4. He has to devise a system where the PNC can win elections freely and fairly but never be given a completely free hand to run amok and destroy the country. Same for the PPP.

This list and post is by no means exhaustive but I just wanted to give you all a perspective of the David Granger I suspect we now find as Guyana's sovereign. A complex man who we should give the benefit of the doubt to for a while with criticism only reserved for when his plan's can be improved by our criticisms.

Let the man accomplish his mission. Help him improve his plans where necessary. There aren't many David Grangers left in Guyana. Frankly, I think he's the only one. If he does his job right and accomplishes his mission, we may never need another David Granger to come to our rescue again. He will rule so that his successors can govern.

Perhaps some similarities in thought-"The Dreamer and the Dream" www.timehritoday.blogspot.com 

Originally Posted by Zed:

I might not have the intellectual acumen to understand all of this. However, my intellectually inhibited response is.

1. I thought granger was schooled in West Indian and Caribbean history. I might be wrong. 

2. Your analogy does not work because your understanding and interpretation of Roman history is incorrect.

3. Men on mission often become dictators And have their own definition of benovelence which might include depriving people of their fundamental rights and to the extreme, their life. What needs to be created are institutions and processes that lend themselves to an inclusive democracy where we are provided opportunities to make meaning participation in government and opportunities and supports to develop our potential, lending to the development of our nation and family.

4. You are not asking for a honeymoon period, you want us to give just constructive criticism. i am ok with that but what about others, even you. So many crazy statements on this board. How is that going to happen. 

5. are you suggesting that it is ok for the executive president to phone a member of the judiciary and influence the decisions made by that member of the judiciary? This is illegal, a breach of the constitution, dictatorial, etc.

6. This is a spin that David is the only one who can do it. 49.2 percent of the population disagree with this assertion and you depreciate so many people who can do the same thing, or even better. This is the same person who said that no rigging occurred during the pnc years, closed his eyes to the possibility that Rodney was assassinated.

7. Good leaders invite criticism and consider those criticisms when making decisions so that de ions include people instead if exclude. 

i have other comments to make but leave it to others to add to the discussion. Ok, let's keep this civil and discuss the ideas presented.

We are not really disagreeing. I'm saying what a lot of fairly intelligent people have privately said for years. Guyana is in such a sorry state today that in order to break our many Gordian Knots, we need a patriotic dictator who can set our house in order and put in place the systems and rules we need to continue to build on a solid foundation.

No one is advocating caesarism. We are advocating a short finite period of de facto dictatorship which will nurture the adult children in Guyana so that the systems will work. A system always needs a political culture.

No I don't think that Presidential servants should be phoning magistrates. However, I'm sure this Magistrate needed the call giving her the green light to do her job without "fear or favour."

The civil servants rule the country. The President and the Cabinet rule the civil servants by decreeing policy. For a long period of time, it was government policy to not touch "Big Ones." That Magistrate needed the call to know that Government policy has now changed to letting the law run its course.

I am not advocating the theory of government. I am advocating the practice of government. I'm young but I have enough experience of government (even in a third world failed state) to know what works and what doesn't.

To quote Sir Humphrey Appleby: "This isn't a democracy. This is a British democracy."

"British democracy recognises that you need a system to protect the important things of life, and keep them out of the hands of the barbarians. Things like the opera, Radio Three, the countryside, the law, the universities ... both of them."

Thanks for your elaboration of what you have posted.  I agree that we need to the Gordian knots that have kept us from developing. Please keep in mind the following

1.  It is the practice we are talking about.  In Guyana, they have legislation to legislate that so many things happen happen.  However, there is no substance.  These laws are not enforced because many of the mechanisms are not put into place so we have a situation as when you have honey nests but nothing in them. Form but no substance.  I can give you many instances of this.  One priority is defined, implemented for a short time then they go on to something else and the first things just goes to the dogs because they have not built in the mechanisms and processes for these to be self-sustaining. The main question is how do you encourage people to want to do better, to buy into your programme. There are many things that can be done for this to happen. 

2.   "Absolute power corrupts absolutely." I trust no dictator, no benevolent he/she is. 

3. The definition of democracy is often given by those who  are in power. Not a good example. Many would argue that British ideas of democracy is seriously flawed.

4. Much of what we are talking about mental.I accept that colonialism had had serious negative impact on Guyana. Now, part of the problem is how we view the future and the possibilities around us and how we go about making those possibilities a reality.   Many of the administrators who have to implement whatever policies are decided need to shed the cognitive framework they have. I often hear  "this is not the way we do things in Guyana" instead of taking ideas that work in so many different places and look at the possibility of how we can make it work here, or a variant of it, etc. You know that change is difficult.  Strategic plans are developed in a haphazard way and implemented in a worse way. Telling people about SMART goals is like talking Latin to them. Dictators often do not build the mechanisms for sustainability in whatever changes they impose.

5.  How can you divorce a theory of government from the practice of government? I think that it is impossible to do and does not strengthen the argument, but instead weaken it.  I have a brother who argues for a benevolent dictatorship but when I listen to him, I become more opposed to the idea because some of what he wants to the dictator to do  are so difficult to accept.

Z

Already you casting judgement.  What happen to the courtesy of the 100 days?

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Granger is no Jagan or Burnham.   The man was never known for being progressive. His wife is way more progressive than him.

Generally women are more progressive than their male counterpart, that is until their kids livelihood comes into play, then the tame tabby rapidly morphs into the ferocious lioness.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Leave it to the AFC to have my commentary totally fly over their heads. Please re-read my comments and you will find that I am not only offering a honeymoon period of "quiet" but also 5 or 10 years of "quiet."

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Leave it to the AFC to have my commentary totally fly over their heads. Please re-read my comments and you will find that I am not only offering a honeymoon period of "quiet" but also 5 or 10 years of "quiet."

As you so eloquently defines it "mudhead" thinking!

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and President David Granger witnessing the hoisting of the Golden Arrowhead

This thread nah fuh you chap. This is beyond your league of debates about buggery, Kwame, and sperm.

This thread is addressed to the handful of intelligent posters on this site.

Originally Posted by TK:

I agree with most of it. However economic realities don't necessarily cooperate. Have to wait and see how they respond.

I think this is gonna go over the heads of the PPP Crowd still waiting pon the Elections Petition to restore abbe Opposition MPs to their rightful place at the national trough.

It will also go over the heads of the Moses cultists who really thought that  Lord Moses would arrive and that the PNC would melt like butter in his wake.

Granger isn't going to alienate Moses.  He has Harmon to keep Moses happy.  But he also has a line of defense if Moses gets too upstartish, and he has the help of elements of the AFC G/town crowd.  Any one who thinks that Hughes, Patterson, Holder, Gaskin, and Trotman will do any thing that will allow the return of the PPP is quite mad.  I think that I can add Garrido Lowe to that too, as she left the UF in a huff when it caved in to the PPP.

I also suspect that some of them might be of the feeling that that the PPP civil war was between Jagdeoites and old time Jaganites.  After this humiliation I think that Jagdeo will be weakened.

Now do the APNU and G/town AFC elites really trust some of the Berbice AFC faction not to drift back to a location where they can openly engage in Jagan worship which will definitely NOT happen within the ranks of the coalition (where the tacit feeling is "we will keep our Burnham worshippers quiet if you also cease braying about Lord Cheddi".

As Granger is a keen student of history, especially the "classics"

Mainly true, except that I don't see any successors within the pack.  The APNU crowd are mainly old men.  THIS is Granger's biggest challenge.

Maybe he might try to woo Nigel Hughes if he can pacify the AFC sufficiently (or if an AFC civil war emerges).  Nigel combines intellectual horse power with a tremendous credibility within the PNC base.  Don't know of any APNU folks with that.

Mainly true, except that I don't see any successors within the pack.  The APNU crowd are mainly old men.  THIS is Granger's biggest challenge.

Maybe he might try to woo Nigel Hughes if he can pacify the AFC sufficiently (or if an AFC civil war emerges).  Nigel combines intellectual horse power with a tremendous credibility within the PNC base.  Don't know of any APNU folks with that.

Back to the future.  Back in the day, I remember Afros discussing alternatives to leadership and went out as far as Evelyn-John and in all never mention an "Indian" name.

In my days with the AFC, bolted on top of all priorities was an Afro power structure, be it out of the AFC or PNC.  The AFC was/is just a ruse to split the Indian vote and accomplish this goal.  The Indo faction's hatred for the PPP was overwhelmingly acidic and blinding and nothing else mattered but the fall of the PPP, sweet revenge for some fulfilling high for being a PPP reject.

The posts of CaribJ are a drip-feed to the new reality to prevent whip-lash or bad belly wuk for these cretins.  CaribJ knew all along the masterplan and carefully articulated without openly revealing the agenda.  Not that it mattered, the "mudheads" had already sold there soles.

I don't know who his successor is. But I can assure you that His Excellency the Consul will handpick him and put him in place to be ratified by the electorate.

We've elected a Consul. From Day 1 I knew this Granger chap was a different kettle of hassar. I didn't know how right I was.

Even in small gestures he leaves an impression when he wants to. He gave me a signed copy of his book on national defence after we spoke at length privately in our initial meeting. Even in small gestures, the man is a Roman patrician. And a gentleman who commands respect.

Just look at how that small seemingly insignificant gesture probably had some influence over me in not attacking him throughout the campaign even though I would be prevailed upon some time later into advising the PPP mudheads.

Back to the future.  Back in the day, I remember Afros discussing alternatives to leadership and went out as far as Evelyn-John and in all never mention an "Indian" name.

Was an Afro Guyanese ever mentioned to head the PPP.  Did any even try?

Winston Murray tried and had significant support within the PNC. It might have been PNC internal politics rather than race which did him in, as he was on the wrong side of Corbin.

I don't know who his successor is. But I can assure you that His Excellency the Consul will handpick him and put him in place to be ratified by the electorate.

He will have to do so soon as appointing him doesn't mean acceptance by the rest of the PNC, or its grass roots voting base.  If they don't like who he picks they can stay home.

Region 4 was 113,500 in 2015 for APNU/AFC vs. 91,500 in 2006 when they stayed home.

He will have to do so soon as appointing him doesn't mean acceptance by the rest of the PNC, or its grass roots voting base.  If they don't like who he picks they can stay home.

Region 4 was 113,500 in 2015 for APNU/AFC vs. 91,500 in 2006 when they stayed home.

Some Roman Imperators (the good ones) did "adopt" their rivals as their heirs and successors so Nigel Hughes has a pretty decent shot depending on his behavior in the new Government.

A Roman Patrician Consul in Republican Rome does what's best for State. There is a compelling argument for fellow patrician Nigel Highes.

Some Roman Imperators (the good ones) did "adopt" their rivals as their heirs and successors so Nigel Hughes has a pretty decent shot depending on his behavior in the new Government.

A Roman Patrician Consul in Republican Rome does what's best for State. There is a compelling argument for fellow patrician Nigel Highes.

In fact leaving Nigel out for now allowed Cathy to be Minister.  If Nigel is appointed as a VP (when some old man retires) it will not be seen as nepotism.

Would you believe that this ostensibly public exchange between us is actually safer than state secrets governed by an Official Secrets Act?

No one knows WTF we're talking about Esp. the AFC Mudheads

Would you believe that this ostensibly public exchange between us is actually safer than state secrets governed by an Official Secrets Act?

No one knows WTF we're talking about Esp. the AFC Mudheads

Before the end of the day Kari will mount a spirited "defense" of Lord Mises, saying that we don't know what we are talking about.

I don't think that either you, nor I, nor any one in the PPP has anything to do with GT Mosquito.

Was an Afro Guyanese ever mentioned to head the PPP.  Did any even try?

Winston Murray tried and had significant support within the PNC. It might have been PNC internal politics rather than race which did him in, as he was on the wrong side of Corbin.

It was a discussion of leaders for Guyana and there were many prominent Indians in the PNC, but they meandered to Evelyn John.

And I repeat, did any black in the PPP ever try to be the presidential candidate as Winston Murray attempted to do, with substantial support, I will add.

Given that the answer is no, then why your focus only on who Afro Guyanese wanted to lead them?

Since Guyana will now become a one party state, backed by an adoring military, I have no doubt we will see the emergence of a benevolent dictatorship. The good thing about that, is that both Indos and Afros will be subjected to the same treatment. The bad thing about that is that people in authority will abuse their authority. 

TI
Originally Posted by TI:

Since Guyana will now become a one party state, backed by an adoring military, I have no doubt we will see the emergence of a benevolent dictatorship.

You have always bad talked black people. But you never acknowledge that the PPP regime murdered a lot more people than the previous one. Guyana was a dictatorship where a few decided what went on in the country. Your friend Khan is just a start.

Originally Posted by TI:

Since Guyana will now become a one party state, backed by an adoring military, I have no doubt we will see the emergence of a benevolent dictatorship. The good thing about that, is that both Indos and Afros will be subjected to the same treatment. The bad thing about that is that people in authority will abuse their authority. 

And is a good thing Guyana has oil. Justice will prevail-who knows what the Americans can do. With all the indoes in the USA, a lobby for Indo leadership in Guyana is a possibility. It is good, our future is in good hands. 

Last edited by seignet
Originally Posted by TI:

And is a good thing Guyana has oil. Justice will prevail-who knows what the Americans can do. With all the indoes in the USA, a lobby for Indo leadership in Guyana is a possibility. It is good, our future is in good hands. 

Dream on bai! Oil is the worse thing, it corrupts. Americans look at profit, not people.

TI
Originally Posted by TI:

Dream on bai! Oil is the worse thing, it corrupts. Americans look at profit, not people.

I am counting on all future White Presidents of the USA to look favorably upon East Indians in this hemisphere. Sort of benevolent for treatment to CBJ.  

We've elected a Consul. From Day 1 I knew this Granger chap was a different kettle of hassar. I didn't know how right I was.

Even in small gestures he leaves an impression when he wants to. He gave me a signed copy of his book on national defence after we spoke at length privately in our initial meeting. Even in small gestures, the man is a Roman patrician. And a gentleman who commands respect.

Just look at how that small seemingly insignificant gesture probably had some influence over me in not attacking him throughout the campaign even though I would be prevailed upon some time later into advising the PPP mudheads.

And wid all dis that "you know" about Granger being Gluteus Maximus Pontificus super cali fraggalilstic expee allidocious you chose to offer your services to the cabal. It was because you wanted Indian domination, n'cest pas bai?

And I repeat, did any black in the PPP ever try to be the presidential candidate as Winston Murray attempted to do, with substantial support, I will add.

Given that the answer is no, then why your focus only on who Afro Guyanese wanted to lead them?

I know you know what I'm getting at, but you playing stupid.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

And wid all dis that "you know" about Granger being Gluteus Maximus Pontificus super cali fraggalilstic expee allidocious you chose to offer your services to the cabal. It was because you wanted Indian domination, n'cest pas bai?

I know you know what I'm getting at, but you playing stupid.

Baseman you wish me to endorse your belief that Indo Guyanese are a special people whose considerations deserve priority.

I cannot help you.  Yes Africans have their distrust issues with Indians, and so are reluctant to hand power over to some one who happens to be an Indian.

But Indians are NO DIFFERENT when it comes to Africans.

So why you only focus on the African distrust of the Indian?