Paging Gil.

You can provide the most accurate answer to this valid question.

In his book The Guyana Story, Odeen Ishmael writes: "The [1953] general election, held under the "first past the post" system, took place on 27 April 1953. The total number of voters registered in a house to house enumeration was 208,939. Almost 150,000 were newly qualified because of the extended franchise resulting from the granting of universal adult suffrage. Of this number, an estimated 40,000 were illiterate, and special arrangements had to be made to enable them to vote. These included the introduction of symbols for political parties and independent candidates, and separate ballot boxes for each candidate. Each ballot box was marked with the name and photograph and symbol of the candidate. The symbols were chosen long before nomination day, and all voters knew whom they represented. The PPP, as a political party, adopted the cup as its symbol and all its candidates used it during their campaign to educate voters, particularly the illiterate, on how to mark their ballots."

@Shaitaan, I have an enamel cup in front of me right now. It's marked THE OFFICIAL MOUNT GAY RUM RATION. I had got it attached to a bottle Barbados rum as a Xmas gift.

Originally Posted by Django:

Man what the r....s alyuh badah with enamel cup

my grandfather (born 1893)had a calabash he used

for bathing.

In fact for those old enough enamel was progress.  Some had to eat on leaves!

We still do at times.  Make it easier at wash time.

for bathing.

Just look it up my great grandpa went to GY 1869

and grandma 1874 they lived in a mixed village

well that tells why i am not like yugi.

for bathing.

Just look it up my great grandpa went to GY 1869

and grandma 1874 they lived in a mixed village

well that tells why i am not like yugi.

Some will inevitably stray.

I don't get it. What is so special about an enamel cup that rallies coolies to the PPP banner?

I recall enamel cups and plates as the dishes we gave poor people food to eat out of when I was a kid in Berbice because since charity was obligatory, we still didn't wanna share their poor people germs.

I don't know of any coolie family that would even wanna admit to ever owning enamel cups or enamel anything.

This is a serious inquiry.

Nice fuh DHAAL.