I don't get it. What is so special about an enamel cup that rallies coolies to the PPP banner?

I recall enamel cups and plates as the dishes we gave poor people food to eat out of when I was a kid in Berbice because since charity was obligatory, we still didn't wanna share their poor people germs.

I don't know of any coolie family that would even wanna admit to ever owning enamel cups or enamel anything.

This is a serious inquiry.

I don't get it. What is so special about an enamel cup that rallies coolies to the PPP banner?

I recall enamel cups and plates as the dishes we gave poor people food to eat out of when I was a kid in Berbice because since charity was obligatory, we still didn't wanna share their poor people germs.

I don't know of any coolie family that would even wanna admit to ever owning enamel cups or enamel anything.

Ayatollah, they do sell enamel cups and plates in the sporting goods store. People use them for camping. I own a set.

hunting wild cabbage 

Sometimes I have to wonder about you.

It's a real question.

What is so special about coolie people and enamel cups?

When did the enamel cup gain some metaphysical meaning to us coolies?

I can almost understand a nice Palm Tree for the PNC. A balisier for the PNM.

But a friggin enamel cup seems out of place in Commonwealth political parties.

Did Jagan run his first election promising poor coolies a free cup a dhall if he won?

I with that there man. I can see how for camping that makes sense. But did like all coolies in 1953 own enamel cups? And it had some special meaning for us or something?

Like how American elections were about "a chicken in every pot"? Did Jagan promise "dhall in every cup"?

Paging Gil.

You can provide the most accurate answer to this valid question.

I'm surprised you went this whole thread and didn't mention Palm Tree and dry coconuts and the PNC

Bhai

Every time I provide an honest feedback, the likes of Storm, Mitwah and Carib pull out the race card.

These chaps need to lighten up.

we did. and even had buttah sause pan too. cooked on a fireside. 

Paging Gil.

You can provide the most accurate answer to this valid question.

I'm surprised you went this whole thread and didn't mention Palm Tree and dry coconuts and the PNC

Bhai

Every time I provide an honest feedback, the likes of Storm, Mitwah and Carib pull out the race card.

have ever see a racist and a crook with a honest respond 

I with that there man. I can see how for camping that makes sense. But did like all coolies in 1953 own enamel cups? And it had some special meaning for us or something?

Like how American elections were about "a chicken in every pot"? Did Jagan promise "dhall in every cup"?

From my recollection, almost every house had enamel dishes. Even at the wedding houses, some men drink from enamel cups(so no one could see how much they poured).

all the man is saying is move on na,who want enamel cup in this time,just go to show the ppp is in the stone age

LOL

Now that makes sense. Haag all de licka.

Come in Aunty Kneeru. Is that what you use to do in Berbice yuh hungry belly daag yuh?

LOL

Now that makes sense. Haag all de licka.

Come in Aunty Kneeru. Is that what you use to do in Berbice yuh hungry belly daag yuh?

YUh Skont drunk nah???

Nah! He promise milk and honey in the cup.

Enamel cups were popular at a particular historical time.

Unfortunately, Like Jesus said, "God, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me."

The PPP's cup is now a bitter cup for the working poor catching hell. Every Race Punishing. 

It's a cup flowing with milk and honey for the parasitic, bourgeois contractor and business friends and family of the PPP Kleptos.

Not my house.  Talk for yourselves Skelly

Sometimes I have to wonder about you.

It's a real question.

What is so special about coolie people and enamel cups?

When did the enamel cup gain some metaphysical meaning to us coolies?

I can almost understand a nice Palm Tree for the PNC. A balisier for the PNM.

But a friggin enamel cup seems out of place in Commonwealth political parties.

Did Jagan run his first election promising poor coolies a free cup a dhall if he won?

It's the best thing to put in you back pack and take to the farm for the day's work.  It don't bruk, easy to wash, and if need be, can be used to boil lil waata.  I have a couple rite here with me.

And this is exactly why the PPP used this.  Remember that when it was started by Jagan and Burnham the elites of BOTH races disdained it, considered it low class, and wondered why educated QC boys like those two were wasting time with riff raff instead of focusing on dentistry and law.

So the enamel cup was a symbol of the PPP affiliation with the working class.

Now whether it is still appropriate in 2015 when the working class aspire for more than that, and many have now moved beyond that, is another story.

This from the man who screams that he is "clean and pure" and that is family will always be, and rants that APNU AFC mean douglarization, which to him is a disease.

To you its like vote APNU AFC and catch AIDS.

But did like all coolies in 1953 own enamel cups? And it had some special meaning for us or something?

I know that you live in perpetual embarrassment of being connected to the "unwashed" Indian masses but enamel wasn't confined to Indians, nor was it even confined to Guyana.  It wouldn't surprise me whether it was also used in the South in those days.

Enamel doesn't break.  China does. Poor people in those days couldn't afford to replace every plate or cup that broke.  In fact my father, who grew up as the son of a head master, had embedded in him that breaking a plate was some great tragedy.  We literally lived in fear of his voice if we accidentally dropped a plate.  It isn't that he couldn't afford to replace it. It was part of his upbringing that having to replace these items because of carelessness was something to be avoided.

Now imagine if he grew up as the son of a stevedore in an era when stevedores starved.