Originally Posted by Django:

Good morning.

This plant is commonly found in Guyana. What is its name?

django_smart

Carrion crow bush,this is the common name we called the plant.

Correct. It is known by other names too, such as senna alata.

This plant has antifungal and antibacterial properties. It gets rid of ringworm and skin infections.

Django gets first prize.

Mars gets second prize.

Riya gets third prize.

Congrats!!

@Anjali. I checked for hurricane weed on the Internet. It looks surprisingly similar but it's not carrion crow bush/senna alata.

@Django, I'm smiling here because I presume you might have discovered what I did to file the pic. Check properties.

Next quiz.

In 1831 Essequibo and Demerara joined with Berbice to form British Guiana. What was the population of BG in 1831?

Anjali and Riya clocked in at the same time with the correct answer.

You share the win 50-50.

Congratulations!!

Now, think about this: 184 years ago our population was 98,000. Today it's around 800,000. This means it has grown by 702,000 in 184 years. We ent tekking in dem who dead or leff de country.

Good morning.

django_smart

This plant has antifungal and antibacterial properties. It gets rid of ringworm and skin infections.

Django gets first prize.

Mars gets second prize.

Riya gets third prize.

Congrats!!

@Anjali. I checked for hurricane weed on the Internet. It looks surprisingly similar but it's not carrion crow bush/senna alata.

@Django, I'm smiling here because I presume you might have discovered what I did to file the pic. Check properties.

You smarten up ,soon i saw the pic i know the answer,

in a group of kids we used to crushed the dry leaves roll

in to cigaretes to smoke,we even used papaya leaves and

black sage leaves,boy we were trying to play bigman.

Next quiz.

In 1831 Essequibo and Demerara joined with Berbice to form British Guiana. What was the population of BG in 1831?

Anjali and Riya clocked in at the same time with the correct answer.

You share the win 50-50.

Congratulations!!

Now, think about this: 184 years ago our population was 98,000. Today it's around 800,000. This means it has grown by 702,000 in 184 years. We ent tekking in dem who dead or leff de country.

ANALYSIS OF POPULATION.

According to the Census of 5th October 1841 the whole population
of British Guiana consists of

Creoles, born in British Guiana         65,252
Creoles, immigrant from West Indies   9,899
Africans          15,796
Portuguese from Madeira          2,219
English, Irish and Scotch          2,162
French, Dutch and German          445
Coolies (Asiatic)          343
North Americans          159
Native Country not mentioned          1,320

Total          97,595

Up to 15th October 1841, the following immigrants were yet
landed :
From the West India Islands          2,285
From Madeira          3,066
From Africa          713
Total          6,064
From January 1842 up to January 1843 :
From Madeira          1,663
From the West India Islands          966
From Africa          2,218
Total,          4,847

Including the total number of immigrants from the years 1835 to
1843, it will be seen that in this interval there landed in Guiana :
Portuguese from Madeira          10,458
Inhabitants of the West Indian Islands          6,566
Freed Slaves and Emigrants from Africa          4,610
Coolies from Asia          560
Germans and Maltese          400
Native country not mentioned, who came
partly from over the West Indies Islands,
and from captured slave ships, and took
work          8,397
Total          30,981

Consequently on the 1st January 1843 the total population of British
Guiana, exclusive of aboriginal Indians, amounted to 120,000 souls,
of which 23,000 alone fall to the share of Georgetown, the capital.

Some info on census 1841

KICHARD SCHOMBUEGK'S
TRAVELS IN BRITISH GUIANA
1840-1844.

Good morning.

django_smart

Django gets first prize.

Mars gets second prize.

Riya gets third prize.

Congrats!!

You smarten up ,soon i saw the pic i know the answer,

in a group of kids we used to crushed the dry leaves roll

in to cigaretes to smoke,we even used papaya leaves and

black sage leaves,boy we were trying to play bigman.

no wonder you is a crack head

Sorry I'm late, guys.

The Chronicle newspaper is printed at Lama Avenue, Bel Air Park, Georgetown. Where was the Chronicle newspaper printed before?

Vlissengen Road

Nah bai.

Bhai how many location that printery change,i got the

answer from this quiz.

April 8, 2015 10:32 AM

Our quiz today:

On Vlissengen Road in Georgetown there are three gas stations side by side. Behind those gas stations there is the Demerara Tobacco Company [DEMTOCO] and after that, the Chronicle newspaper compound.

Now, ignore the gas stations. What had existed on the land now occupied by DEMTOCO and Chronicle, and what major historical event took place there?

Sorry I'm late, guys.

The Chronicle newspaper is printed at Lama Avenue, Bel Air Park, Georgetown. Where was the Chronicle newspaper printed before?

Vlissengen Road

Nah bai.

Bhai how many location that printery change,i got the

answer from this quiz.

April 8, 2015 10:32 AM

Our quiz today:

On Vlissengen Road in Georgetown there are three gas stations side by side. Behind those gas stations there is the Demerara Tobacco Company [DEMTOCO] and after that, the Chronicle newspaper compound.

Now, ignore the gas stations. What had existed on the land now occupied by DEMTOCO and Chronicle, and what major historical event took place there?

Still wrong. Chronicle is the oldest newspaper in Guyana. Burnham took it over from D'Aguiar who had bought it from some colonials. Burnham moved the Chronicle from its original location and settled it on Lama Avenue where the Graphic was printed, two doors from Vlissengen Road.

Try again.

Originally Posted by Mars:
Wasn't Chronicle on Main St by Courts?

I have to be fair here, buddy. I had disqualified Riya for giving an answer in the form of a question. So I will say you're asking the correct question.

Yes, the Chronicle newspaper was printed in Main Street for decades. The building stood opposite Hotel Tower. One trivia: in colonial time the first copies of the Chronicle were rushed to Government House down Main Street for the governor's reading pleasure.

http://image.slidesharecdn.com/guyanapictorialhistory-100321135003-phpapp01/95/guyana-pictorial-history-11-728.jpg?cb=1269197648

Originally Posted by Mars:
Wasn't Chronicle on Main St by Courts?

I have to be fair here, buddy. I had disqualified Riya for giving an answer in the form of a question. So I will say you're asking the correct question.

Yes, the Chronicle newspaper was printed in Main Street for decades. The building stood opposite Hotel Tower. One trivia: in colonial time the first copies of the Chronicle were rushed to Government House down Main Street for the governor's reading pleasure.

http://image.slidesharecdn.com/guyanapictorialhistory-100321135003-phpapp01/95/guyana-pictorial-history-11-728.jpg?cb=1269197648

Sorry sir, I didn't see the rules being published. I thought your quiz show was like Jeopardy where you answer with a question. 

I remember looking up those stairs at the side of the Chronicle Building when I was a child and thinking that they were so many of them.

I think there was a disco up there after Chronicle left. Shabari?

Originally Posted by Anjali:

General Hugh Lyle Carmichael.

good morning

Yes! And you might have noticed that Carmichael Street was named after him. He served as Governor of Demerara and Essequibo from 1812 to March 1813 when he died.

You get first prize.

Django gets second prize.

Congrats!!

Thank you, Sir Gil.