Originally Posted by TI:

Gilly

i don't know how that ferry could have sailed from Scotland.

even in Demerara River, it used to rock when a big boat pass by.

Both QUERIMAN and MAKOURIA sailed from Scotland on their own steam. Airplane cyaant fetch am. And dem too big fo fit pon anadda boat.

I never heard of the Queriman.

Isn't that also a name of a fish in Guyana?

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Riya:

Here's another head-scratcher. Look at this photo and guess the locality and purpose of those concrete abutments.

Uitvlugt Railway Bridge

Old bridge way for the railroad?

I would guess somewhere going to Parika

PIC look like Uitvlugt estate rd where the train line used to be.

Absolutely positively correct, Django.

The WCD railway line spanned that bridge. To the left, across the road, was Samlall's cake shop and the railway station. Just after the right concrete abutment, where that bush is, was a big bond that stored sugar that were loaded on barges that transported it to Georgetown. Fire caused by a cigarette butt destroyed that bond in 1958.

Now, the personal part. I learned to swim in that canal in that same spot just before the railway bridge, now marked by those small plants in the foreground. The year was 1964. When I left Guyana in 1996, alligators infested that stretch of the canal. The Uitvlugt Estate management had recruited the alligators to prevent people from accessing sugar cane in the fields on the right bank of the canal.

One more thing: there was a bump on the road at the railway crossing. The road is level now but part of the bump is still seen on the left abutment in picture.

Originally Posted by TI:

Gilly

i don't know how that ferry could have sailed from Scotland.

even in Demerara River, it used to rock when a big boat pass by.

Both QUERIMAN and MAKOURIA sailed from Scotland on their own steam. Airplane cyaant fetch am. And dem too big fo fit pon anadda boat.

I never heard of the Queriman.

Isn't that also a name of a fish in Guyana?

Indeed, Riya, queriman is a fish that looks like a large mullet.

A number of ferryboats were named after fishes in Guyana. Besides Queriman, there were Tarpon, Lukanani and Piranah.

Here's another head-scratcher. Look at this photo and guess the locality and purpose of those concrete abutments.

Uitvlugt Railway Bridge

Old bridge way for the railroad?

I would guess somewhere going to Parika

PIC look like Uitvlugt estate rd where the train line used to be.

Absolutely positively correct, Django.

The WCD railway line spanned that bridge. To the left, across the road, was Samlall's cake shop and the railway station. Just after the right concrete abutment, where that bush is, was a big bond that stored sugar that were loaded on barges that transported it to Georgetown. Fire caused by a cigarette butt destroyed that bond in 1958.

Now, the personal part. I learned to swim in that canal in that same spot just before the railway bridge, now marked by those small plants in the foreground. The year was 1964. When I left Guyana in 1996, alligators infested that stretch of the canal. The Uitvlugt Estate management had recruited the alligators to prevent people from accessing sugar cane in the fields on the right bank of the canal.

One more thing: there was a bump on the road at the railway crossing. The road is level now but part of the bump is still seen on the left abutment in picture.

How come you move around so much in GY, me think you were a GT bai.

I lived most ah me life at Albion and visited other places occasionally.

Catherina was me favourite place on de WC.  

What get me Gil, like you, we swim in the trench at Albion  and if something smooth rub against we leg, we splash the wata and continue swimming.

Years later me go back and see alligators and big snakes  sunning on the bank.

Whea rass dem been when we swimming and we nevva lost  a kid.   

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by ball:

Duh old bridge is in Lenora

Wasn't there a ferry by the name lookanani (sp)  

Le me bax me brain....the three ferry

Makouria,Lukunani and Torani..i think

two of them was built in Guyana by

Prostons Gilly can help ...

Prostons or Sprostons ? Nevva hear of Lukunani or Queriman.

I start using the Dem ferry in the early 60s, to dis gal on de WC. 

GT was like NY fa abee Albion people, but we know back-dam good and how fe graze dankey.

Gilly, not fair, you rass come with WC picta, how abee Berbice people gun know.   

Is Queriman a big fish wid large white  scales that people cut in pieces to sell at the market? 

Move you han no anty, me get plenty pickney fe feed.  

Originally Posted by Tola:

Prostons or Sprostons ? Nevva hear of Lukunani or Queriman.

I start using the Dem ferry in the early 60s, to dis gal on de WC. 

GT was like NY fa abee Albion people, but we know back-dam good and how fe graze dankey.

Gilly, not fair, you rass come with WC picta, how abee Berbice people gun know.   

Is Queriman a big fish wid large white  scales that people cut in pieces to sell at the market? 

Move you han no anty, me get plenty pickney fe feed.  

Tola...my bad i was baxin me brain it is Sprostons

there is a fish name queriman me berbice girlfriend from

PM said it is a big mullet,lukunani is a type bass fish

hard to catch.

Here is my last brain tickler. You may say it's "last licks" to my Berbician friends.

At Fort Canje there is an institution commonly called Berbice Mad House or BMH. What was the original name of that institution?

Lunatic Asylum

by Achal Prabhala
Stabroek News
July 28, 2002

http://www.landofsixpeoples.com/news022/ns2072813.htm

Asylum Street, on a quiet road opposite the Berbice High School, houses what is now called the National Psychiatric Hospital, the only institution of its kind in Guyana. The buildings and grounds that it occupies were once camps for Dutch and English armies. Later, it was christened the ‘Lunatic Asylum,’ hence the name of the street on which it is located.

There is still abundant evidence of those times, when psychiatry hadn’t developed to what it is now. On the third floor of the Victoria Building - now in disuse - was the electrical therapy ward, where patients would be subjected to shock therapy.

At one point, aggressive patients were permanently kept in sack-like clothing, which did not allow them to move their arms at all. During recreation, these patients were chained to trees.

Here is my last brain tickler. You may say it's "last licks" to my Berbician friends.

At Fort Canje there is an institution commonly called Berbice Mad House or BMH. What was the original name of that institution?

Lunatic Asylum

by Achal Prabhala
Stabroek News
July 28, 2002

Asylum Street, on a quiet road opposite the Berbice High School, houses what is now called the National Psychiatric Hospital, the only institution of its kind in Guyana. The buildings and grounds that it occupies were once camps for Dutch and English armies. Later, it was christened the ‘Lunatic Asylum,’ hence the name of the street on which it is located.

There is still abundant evidence of those times, when psychiatry hadn’t developed to what it is now. On the third floor of the Victoria Building - now in disuse - was the electrical therapy ward, where patients would be subjected to shock therapy.

At one point, aggressive patients were permanently kept in sack-like clothing, which did not allow them to move their arms at all. During recreation, these patients were chained to trees.

I need the exact original name.

Lunatic Asylum

by Achal Prabhala
Stabroek News
July 28, 2002

I give up.... Tola may have the answer.

Lunatic Asylum

by Achal Prabhala
Stabroek News
July 28, 2002

I rode on those grounds once in a cycle meet. It was sad seeing them walk around and around in their white gowns. Very depressing place it was.

What was i thinking,the three ferry look alike

were Malali,Makouria and Torani.

Dis thing hut me head so hard, wid no Limacol,  dat me had to wake up early to answa dis baie question, plus me mek three call to Guyana, especially to me fren Pooch Patch : Dharam Salla, Dem Berbice people ah call am so. Thanks Ma.

Django wha you think ah da and me nevva live dea, but Cain been dea.

Me also get dis strang smoke smell in me house an rite away me think ah Cain. Might be ah jumbie too.

Gil if me correct, by you standard,  you owe ah battle Russian Bear fa election in GY.

We na tek las lik, we gee las lik...or we can pay touch back to settle.   

Alright, everyone. Time up.

Django came close, but a miss is as good as a mile, as the saying goes.

The original name was General Asylum and Hospital.

That name was changed to the Public Lunatic Asylum in accordance with the Lunatic Asylum Ordinance of 1867, passed by the British Guiana legislature and signed by Governor Francis Hincks. 

The Public Lunatic Asylum was shortened to Lunatic Asylum.

Django gets a half point for his effort.

Tola gets a Ducko for his Dharam Salla answer. Tola mad.

Originally Posted by Tola:

That name was changed to the Public Lunatic Asylum in accordance with the Lunatic Asylum Ordinance of 1867, passed by the British Guiana legislature and signed by Governor Francis Hincks. 

Was ConVincing, wasn't it  ?

Me know we can't Con..... Gil.

Sorry Ball, me hope he keep de Russian Beer safe til next Belvedere brain 'Tickler', [who lives in Toronto]. 

Baie Ball,  abee kak ducko.

So Canada being formed  in 1867, has a relationship wid Canje Mad House.

Interesting !! Lots of Berbice people in Canada.

is this the name that is on your release paper

Very informative. Didn't know that.

Give us another trivia

is this the name that is on your release paper

Bai, my release paper has the heading:

beRBicE  MAD  hOuSe

Very informative. Didn't know that.

Give us another trivia

I was thinking of retiring the thread, but let's continue. Give me a little while to come up with another tickler.

This is a sociological brain teaser.

Before the advent of individual pit latrines on the sugar estates, where did sugar workers and their families lawfully relieve themselves?

In the TV show Who Wants to be a Millionaire? you can call a friend for an answer.

For the tickler above, feel free to call your grandfather, grandmother, great aunt, etc.

let me give you guys one which indian movie show the longest in guyana 

Dosti

both you guys wrong,let me give you a hint it show at empire and run for 68 weeks

Give a hint..what year

i think it the seventy 

let me give you guys one which indian movie show the longest in guyana 

Dosti

both you guys wrong,let me give you a hint it show at empire and run for 68 weeks

Give a hint..what year

is it Hathi Mere Saathi

SHAAN

This is a sociological brain teaser.

Before the advent of individual pit latrines on the sugar estates, where did sugar workers and their families lawfully relieve themselves?

In the TV show Who Wants to be a Millionaire? you can call a friend for an answer.

For the tickler above, feel free to call your grandfather, grandmother, great aunt, etc.

Over the trench or canals.