Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Here's another brain tickler:

What fruit in Guyana has one seed but sometimes gives you two seeds randomly as in a lottery?

Ginnip

Correct, Mr T. In my neighbourhood we used to call those rare finds by a Hindi name I can't remember. I suppose it means twin seeds.

Originally Posted by Tola:

In 1970, who said 'Just watch me'?

Unfortunately, I was not in the country, but roaming the seas.  

Forbes?

A Canadian guy  picta above,  after La Porte was killed in Quebec by the FLQ in 1970 and  they declared  a State of Emergency. Reporters asked how far he will go and he said 'Just watch me'.   

Originally Posted by IGH:

What fruit in Guyana has one seed but sometimes gives you two seeds randomly as in a lottery?

Ambiguous question..

Genip & mamee....

I was looking for genip but as you're so bright I give you two points.

Plus one more point for making a surprise appearance.

How ya doing? I hope is not the biting cold in New Yark mek yuh visit me thread today. Lots of warmth here.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Oi Riya, open one of dem tings nuh let's see the inside. I want see how much seed it got

but look at you....want me count seed

I done eat it out and it only had one seed It was definitely dunks!

I buy this regularly, the sign says 'beir' in the store... and my 12 year old calls it mini apples .. it is dunks

Now, lemme see who bright in history.

The Demerara ferry between Georgetown and Vreed-en-Hoop was serviced by the motor vessel MAKOURIA from 1959 to 2005.

What is the name of the steamer that preceded the MAKOURIA?

I have lots of nice memories travelling on the MAKOURIA [in photo].

mv MAKOURIA

Torani before it went to Berbice.

On GY one dollar bill.

If this is correct, I am only 43.

Originally Posted by Riya:

If Tola is wrong, then I will guess it was the Malali.....or Barami (sp)?

Riya you might be on to something hea...

I believe the Torani and Malili  are sister ferries, looking almost the same.

I believe one was in Berbice and the Malili in  Essequibo, that I photographed.
I believe it might be the Barami, becaue I remember

the Malili and Torani in the 60s, but  I don't know the Barami, even though I cross the Dem Riva few time in the 60s.

Originally Posted by IGH:

Ambiguous question..

Genip & mamee....

I was looking for genip but as you're so bright I give you two points.

Plus one more point for making a surprise appearance.

How ya doing? I hope is not the biting cold in New Yark mek yuh visit me thread today. Lots of warmth here.

LOL!

Originally Posted by Tola:

The Demerara ferry between Georgetown and Vreed-en-Hoop was serviced by the motor vessel MAKOURIA from 1959 to 2005.

mv MAKOURIA

Torani before it went to Berbice.

On GY one dollar bill.

If this is correct, I am only 43.

Lest I be misunderstood, what is the name of the steamer that preceded MAKOURIA on the G/town-V/Hoop ferry?

In regard to comments you and Riya made, Torani serviced the Berbice ferry, Makouria serviced the Demerara ferry, and Malali serviced the Essequibo ferry.

The three vessels are sisters indeed.

Ferguson Shipbuilders built Makouria in Glasgow, Scotland.

Sprostons built Torani and Malali at its Ruimveldt dockyards, Georgetown, using the Makouria blueprint.

mv MAKOURIA

No one answered this one. Time up.

The ss QUERIMAN preceded the MAKOURIA on the G/town-V/Hoop ferry run.

QUERIMAN was built in Scotland and ran the Demerara river ferry service from 1922 to 1959.

In the Guyana Museum there was a model of the QUERIMAN on display. It's probably still there.

NOTE ON PHOTO ABOVE:

MAKOURIA travelled on its own steam from Scotland to Guyana. The hills in the background are either in Scotland or the West Indies. There are no hills in Georgetown or Vreed-en-Hoop or Rosignol or New Amsterdam, I wish to inform overseas-born grownup kids of Guyanese parents.