359 more trained teachers join education system – as CPCE hosts 80th graduation exercise

December 20, 2014, Source - Guyana Chronicle

359 more trained teachers join education system –as CPCE hosts 80th graduation exercise
Education Minister Priya Manickchand presenting Duviena Badray, the best graduating student, with a trophy. Badray was also presented with two other awards

TEACHER training is a major area of focus for the Education Ministry (MoE), and the Cyril Potter College of Education (CPCE) yearly turns out large numbers of graduates.

At its 80th graduation ceremony held at the National Cultural Centre on Friday 359 more persons were certified as trained teachers. The ceremony, held under the theme “21st Century Pedagogical Transformers”, saw the graduates gaining certification in three categories: the Associate Degree in Education, the Trained Teacher’s Certificate, and the Teacher Upgrading Programme.

Another outstanding student receiving his trophy from Education Minister Priya Manickchand

Duviena Badray of the Anna Regina Satellite Centre in Region Two was adjudged the top performer and was also winner of the Prime Minister’s Prize for the Best Overall Graduating Student. She, moreover, won the Vice Principal’s (Development) Prize for being the Best Overall Graduating Student in the Distance Education Primary Programme, and the Chief Education Officer’s Prize for being the Best Overall Graduating Student in the Distance Education Programme in Teaching Practice.

A number of her colleagues also received prizes for their respective performances in various specific subject areas, along with the Guyana Improving Teacher Education Programme (GITEP). Among those individuals were Loiselle Robinson of Region One, Anyanna Peters of Region Three, Muneshwar Baskaran of Region Four, Livia Gentle of Region Five, Shemaine Caesar of Region Six, Sylvester Tobin of Region Seven,  Floyd Rodrigues of Region Nine and Clair Ramesar of Region 10.

Speaking at the ceremony, CPCE Principal, Ms. Viola Rowe pointed out during the presentation of her report that 50 of the graduates are trained to cater to the Early Childhood Education level, while 120 are trained to offer Primary level education. A total of 189 are trained to deliver Secondary education.

Rowe noted that challenges such as recruiting part-time staff with the right skills to supervise students on their in-school practicum resulted in full-time staffers having to facilitate in this regard in order to compensate for the shortfall.

She, however, added that, unlike the previous reporting period, wherein several classes were left unattended, this was not the situation this time around; and she credited the effective time-tabling and improved departmental management by section heads and coordinators for this improvement.

Noting that there are also challenges in specialised subject areas, the principal said the students benefited from general course offerings in those areas which were made possible through the successes under the GITEP Programme.

“We graduate students who are not only intellectually, psychologically and professionally prepared for their role in society, but graduates who understand their moral responsibility for the learners with whom they interact,” she stated.

In delivering the charge, former Chief Education Officer Ed Caesar told the students that they should use Martin Luther King’s words as guidance. He quoted: “If you can’t fly, then run; if you can’t run, then walk; if you can’t walk, then crawl; but whatever you do, you have to keep moving forward.”

Caesar also urged the graduates to build on what they have learnt, and to maintain good relationships with their teachers and students.

There are 15,055 teachers at the CPCE, spread across four programmes in nine administrative regions. The two-year associate degree programme is offered to coastal students at Anna Regina, Linden, Georgetown, New Amsterdam, Rose Hall Town, Vreed-en-Hoop and Turkeyen. In September 2014, more than 513 persons enrolled for this programme.

For the trained teachers’ certificate three-year degree programme, 69 students from Moruca, Mabaruma, Aishalton and Lethem enrolled.

The teacher upgrade two-year programme had an enrollment of 250, some of whom are accessing satellite training in Moruca, Mabaruma, Port Kaituma and Upper and Lower Mazaruni.

Teacher training will also include training for teachers in the technical field on a new one-year programme set up for teachers in technical institutes and technical vocational education and training (TVET) programmes. -- (GINA)

Source - http://guyanachronicle.com/359...graduation-exercise/

Ms Manikchand has been sent by God to take care of Guyana's Children. The PPP has allowed her to fulfill this sacred DUTY.  CONGRATS to the HONORABLE MINISTER and the Govt and People of Guyana.

sleep drunk wake up drunk day after day me a know what to do with this bai

Dat is whay yuh saying not the other half.

15,000 being trained to become teachers, would there be jobs for them?? In Canada many trained teachers have to seek jobs other than teaching, because teachers are teaching far beyond their retirement years and not retiring at 65 years.Guyana has a declining population at about 735,000. The country needs more trades people.They can then build Sugar factories , airports, electric dams, roads hotels etc., you know what I mean.

Originally Posted by kp:

15,000 being trained to become teachers, would there be jobs for them?? In Canada many trained teachers have to seek jobs other than teaching, because teachers are teaching far beyond their retirement years and not retiring at 65 years.Guyana has a declining population at about 735,000. The country needs more trades people.They can then build Sugar factories , airports, electric dams, roads hotels etc., you know what I mean.

The excess will go across the Caribbean and help our brothers and sisters there the way Cuba is helping the Caribbean.

Originally Posted by kp:

this is  funny,i see a kid on the road the other in GT and i ask him why he is not in school he told me his teacher did not come to work

Originally Posted by kp:

The excess will go across the Caribbean and help our brothers and sisters there the way Cuba is helping the Caribbean.

You think that the rest of the Caribbean will employ Guyanese teachers in that quantity when they  are already trying to offer teaching jobs for their own people?

Originally Posted by kp:

if you stop drinking for a minute u will say the smart one will run away to the other caribbean countries 

Originally Posted by kp:

this is  funny,i see a kid on the road the other in GT and i ask him why he is not in school he told me his teacher did not come to work

Give me a break. Dis ah wan nancy story you tellin hey man.

Originally Posted by kp:

i swear on this one and u can ask anybody that live in GT if this not what is happening,many times there is no teachers in school to teach the kids  

Originally Posted by kp:

i swear on this one and u can ask anybody that live in GT if this not what is happening,many times there is no teachers in school to teach the kids  

That might be GT. In Corriverton, they have patrols raiding stores, market and even checking children on the roads looking for children under the age of 16. If the children are arrested, the parents have to answer.

Originally Posted by kp:

That might be GT. In Corriverton, they have patrols raiding stores, market and even checking children on the roads looking for children under the age of 16. If the children are arrested, the parents have to answer.

u make me laugh so hard my tummy hurts  

Originally Posted by kp:

You see Warria, I doubt that you ever had a proper education. Parents in Berbice care about their children's education. That's the reason Berbice always produce the best. 

Originally Posted by kp:

You see Warria, I doubt that you ever had a proper education. Parents in Berbice care about their children's education. That's the reason Berbice always produce the best. 

u missing the point the school system in guyana sucks,and i mean the public school,lack of management and funds and it start from the top no pun intend   

Originally Posted by kp:

u missing the point the school system in guyana sucks,and i mean the public school,lack of management and funds and it start from the top no pun intend   

I can see why you believe that. You are a product of it. However, don't blame the educational system, blame yourself and your parents. Education starts at home and school is a continuation of it.

Originally Posted by kp:

I can see why you believe that. You are a product of it. However, don't blame the educational system, blame yourself and your parents. Education starts at home and school is a continuation of it.

i doubt your parents was a bunch of thief

Sorry, D_G, I didn't see your posting. I may be still sleeping from last night partying.  Somebody said something is so nice that they name it twice? I think the same can apply with this subject. Don't you think? 

Ah yes the same wonderful education system the minister would dare not put her children through.

Amazing.........................The dunces and unschooled however are quite easily fooled with a few beads and mirrors.