Six Subway Stations Set to be Renovated

SIX SUBWAY STATIONS SET TO BE RENOVATED

This 3D model shows where the elevator and renovations will be at the Ozone Park-Lefferts Boulevard subway station. The blue indicates where the elevator is to be built and the red, green and brown shows the station repairs. Photo Courtesy of the MTA.

Richmond Hill residents got some welcoming news regarding renovations to several local subway stations, which is something they’ve been petitioning for.

At the Richmond Hill Economic Development Council (RHEDC) meeting on Wednesday, Feb.29, two officials from the Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA) announced that six subway stations in the Richmond Hill/ Ozone Park Area with get renovations that are expected to start in December of this year.

As part of subway renovation projects in Ozone Park and Richmond Hill, The Ozone Park-Lefferts Boulevard A Train subway station will receive an elevator, from street level up to the station. Several of the platforms along the Lefferts-bound A Train, including the Rockaway Boulevard station, will also receive repairs including a new paint job and decorated with sculptures from local artists.

According to Joseph Raskin, Assistant Director of Government and Community Relations at the Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA), the addition of the elevator and platform renovations are, in part, to make access easier for a person with a disability and so that it’s compatible under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

The MTA’s website lists 77 subway stations that are ADA compatible. According to the website, mta.info/accessibility/stations.htm, 14 of those stations are in Queens including the Howard Beach-JFK Airport, Kew Gardens-Union Turnpike and Middle Village-Metropolitan Avenue   train stations. Manhattan has the most ADA  stations with 32.

Raskin said that those stations were chosen for repair because it’s suitable for an elevator and it’s an area that where many people use the subway stations.  He also said that when the MTA does station repairs, it always reflects well in the area the renovated station is in.

“It shows that commitment to improving the stations is always a positive for the community,” said Raskin, who gave a power point presentation of the plan at the Richmond Hill Economic Development Council (RHEDC) Meeting last week. Linda Tonn, a Design Manager of the Station Rehabilitation Program at the MTA, was also on hand to help with the presentation.

As for the plans itself, the Ozone Park-Lefferts Boulevard subway station will  get a three-stop elevator installed that can go from street level  to the mezzanine above the street and a new unmanned control area on the platform. The platform at this station will also undergo some repairs, including replacing the windscreens at the center of the platform, and a full-station repaint.

The other stations along that line are set to receive the same renovations the one on Lefferts Boulevard and Liberty Avenue will get. The subway stations on 111th Street, 104th Street, Rockaway Boulevard, 88th Street and 80th Street

The elevator at the Ozone Park-Lefferts Boulevard will be built behind the staircase at the station's Liberty Avenue entrance. Construction on the elevator, and renovations along the Lefferts A train line, is expected to begin in December of this year and will take about 18-24 months to finish. Photo Courtesy of the MTA.

will also be repainted and corroded panels on the staircases will be replaced.

Vishnu Mahadeo, president of the RHEDC, said that the station refurbishments are much needed and that he is delighted that the MTA will fix the neighborhood’s subway stations.

“We welcome the fact that DOT has finally given attention to the Richmond Hill – Ozone Park area,” he said. “When you get together and you talk the same language, things work out.”

Mahadeo described the current conditions at those train stations as a “sore sight” and had been petitioning the MTA for the renovations. He said that he had originally requested an elevator and an escalator for the Lefferts Boulevard station but he’s elated with just the elevator.

According to Charles Seaton, a spokesman for the MTA, it is not known how much the entire project will cost because it has to be put out to bid for construction. The bidding for the contract will begin on Aug. 31 with construction starting in December. Raskin said that the project is expected to take approximately 18-24 months to complete from when construction begins.

By Luis Gronda

Vish, I know you have been on the MTA for years to get this done. Like a PROGRESSIVE Guyanese, you prove hard work really pays. Congrats AGAIN for making Richman Hill the BEST place on the Planet.

Vish,

Time will tell!! This is NY and not Guyana and you like the Press. Remember how you were quoted in the Daily News that the NYPD was harrasing Phagwah revellers who. Remember how the police arrested you when you intervened ina traffic stop.

I am not sure what you are trying to take credit for here for the MTA are building elevators by stages and areas. However if you feel that your organization  assisted then power to your organization.

As I expected you are always uncomfortable when myself and a few others are pushing ENTITIES for services in our community.

You are not a creditable part of our community. Visiting the Masjid or hanging around your Muslim brothers does not make you an authority on the Richmond Hill Businesses and the community.

You will continue to a FOREIGNER to our community.

Plus you do not put a PENNY in our community in Richmond Hill  with a possible exception in the Masjid.

PS

That was an article from the Queens Forum. 

Not my opinion. 

I guess it hurts to see one of us gets favorable press coverage

Vish M

SIX SUBWAY STATIONS SET TO BE RENOVATED

Richmond Hill residents got some welcoming news regarding renovations to several local subway stations, which is something they’ve been petitioning for. At the Richmond Hill Economic Development Council (RHEDC) meeting on Wednesday, Feb.29, two officials from the Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA) announced that six subway stations in the Richmond Hill/ Ozone Park Area with get renovations that are expected to start in December of this year. As part of subway renovation projects in Ozone Park and Richmond Hill, The Ozone … Continue reading 

Vish M

Bhai Vish, GOD is great. Many on this Board are praying and hoping for Richman Hill and Guyana to FAIL but you know what BOTH PROSPERING and these People continue to have build ups of ACIDS in their stomachs.

Originally Posted by Vish M:

As I expected you are always uncomfortable when myself and a few others are pushing ENTITIES for services in our community.

You are not a creditable part of our community. Visiting the Masjid or hanging around your Muslim brothers does not make you an authority on the Richmond Hill Businesses and the community.

Plus you do not put a PENNY in our community in Richmond Hill  with a possible exception in the Masjid.

PS

Not my opinion. 

WHo the fluck is yuh to tell someone that they are not part of a community??

PS

Not my opinion. 

VISHNU,

YOU WARE YOUR OWN ENEMY AND YOU WILL DESTROY YOURSELF!!

I cannot and again I repeat Icannot understand why you keep telling me that I must support your organization in Richmondhillo. With all your invitations, I have truned you down and the reason for that is that I do not have anything to do with Richmondhill. My business is in Manhattan and has nothing to do with Richmondhill. Why should I put a penny in your organization when I know you are not qualified to head such an economic venture.

I have never professed to be an authorithy on Richmondhill , what I have done like any other Guyanese is to call you out on your silly antice.

Answer my question what is the point of you posting the article? What credit does you deserve for the MTA JUST DID A POWER POINT PRESENTATION AND NOW YOU WANT CREDIT FOR THAT.

The MTA has an open door policy to information and all these elevators were slated to built many moons ago.

fINALLY i AM NOT ONLY UNCOMFORTABLE BUT iAM SCARED OF YOU AND YOUR BOYS FOR YOUR INFIGHING and nastiness among yourselves isshameful and disgraceful. You have been and always will be the center of controversy and you were thaain reason an attorney had to flee Queens. That man has a bhitter taste in his mouth about you and your silly antics.

Reemeber when your friends cut off your hair, you were running and crying to everyone that an injustice has been done, what did I advise you then? Can you remember? Ican go on and on but  I will leave you to self destruct.

Seems as though I need to add a "PPP angle" to get feedback from Chief and many other pontificators

When I give a feedback you start behave like a lil sissy. The MTA made a power point presentation to your associaiton and some one wrote an article wioth your comments. What do you want to hear that you were instrumental in making the MTA BUILD AN ELEVATOR?

Why are begging for a feedback? The last man who had loved the spotlight like you was Baldeo, today the same press eating him up like raw meat.

Vish, posting the article should suffice. There is no need to characterize Chief in the manner above, and make allowance for the contributions of others in promulgating advances in the Guyanese-American communities in South Queens - South-East Queens and Brooklyn for that matter. Follow this and Nehru will still fall heels over you. 

Leh Iman get me a nice big drink an' a bag a' peanuts tomorrow night and get the news on this here fite. This could turn out to be a good ole time Friday scrap.

Iman busy all day so I doan get a chance on a comp but I hope it good.

Yall doan make ma hans fall now yeh, gi we a goon one, cheers.

Nuff man claiming that they built the elevator.

https://www.theindianpanorama....ill-subway-elevator/

OUR RICHMOND HILL SUBWAY ELEVATOR IS HERE

Share on Facebook

Tweet on Twitter

A determined push by community leaders brings elevator to A Train Station Lefferts-Ozone Park. Community advocate Albert Baldeo opens the door for the babies and parents to access the A train.

By Albert Baldeo

Our fight to secure and complete the only subway elevator in the Richmond Hill/ Ozone Park community has been won, and it is now working! Thanks to all, including the Daily News, the West Indian, Caribbean Life, Queens Chronicle, Times Ledger, Kaieteur News, NY Guyana Chronicle, The Indian Panorama, Stabroek News, Guyana Times, and other media for publishing our petitions and public appeals to deliver and complete this important asset in our community-an absolute necessity for seniors, the physically challenged, babies, kids and pregnant mothers.

This $29 million project, commenced since 2014, was scheduled to be finished since the end of 2016, but excuses have abounded each time we enquired about the completion date. Anyway, better late than never! The MTA must be reminded that prompt and proper maintenance is a necessary component of public transportation and services.

We also wish to remind the Mayor to deliver on his promises to increase the amount of senior centers, deliver better schools, hospitals, city services and personnel, transparency in how benefits are awarded in our neighborhood, and to stop the over criminalization of New Yorkers-like stop making criminals of poor people who cannot afford the fare to travel to work on the trains-while transforming this city into a beacon that is in solidarity with the poor and working-class. He must also audit and scrutinize the many failing city agencies that routinely waste and abuse our tax dollars, while preserving New York as a “sanctuary city.”

(Albert Baldeo is a civil rights activist and community advocate, and his political battles placed previously ignored minority communities like Richmond Hill and Ozone Park firmly on the political and economic map. As the President of the Baldeo Foundation and Queens Justice Center, he has continued to fight for equal rights, dignity and inclusion in the decision-making process. He can be contacted at the Baldeo Foundation: AlBaldeo@aol.com or (718) 529-2300).

If you understand indo mentality, they all want credit for the city work and money. I know Vish and his Org has been behind this project a long time. I even attended a meeting of the same, but heard nothing about Baldeo. I am surprised to see him out of jail. Lol