GuySuCo pays for US-based chairman to fly in every month

July 31, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

-    also pays for lodging

The cash-strapped Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) buys a return ticket every month for its Chairman, Dr Rajendra Singh, who is based in New Jersey, the Minister of Agriculture Dr Leslie Ramsammy confirmed yesterday.

This was revealed following questions in the National Assembly by Opposition Parliamentarian Dr Rupert Roopnaraine.

The Agriculture Minister said that Dr Singh is flown into Guyana every month, on an economy class ticket, and his hotel accommodation and other expenses are met by GuySuCo.

Upon questioning by Opposition Parliamentarian Volda Lawrence, the Agriculture Minister said that indeed there are qualified persons residing in Guyana who could do the job, but that Singh has been on the board for many years.

The Agriculture Minister said that President Donald Ramotar is slated to name a new board to oversee the operations of GuySuCo by the end of the year.

The Corporation’s biggest headache is the Skeldon Estate, which was commissioned in August 2009 at a cost of US$181 million, but has failed to live up to expectations.

Originally, GuySuCo had put US$70 million into the project, Agriculture Minister Dr Leslie Ramsammy has stated.

Now, the Corporation is looking to spend US$8 million to fix various faults at the estate.

Opposition parties had called for the board of GuySuCo to be replaced with professionals so the industry could be better managed.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Even if it's paid for by taxpayers $$$ it is legal. Every pork barrel $$ wasted by politicians in America belong to taxpayers as well.

I agree it's legal but this is abuse of privilege by legal means.

The treasury of Guyana is being plundered for the benefit of the few cronies while the majority are paid low wages. When low paid sugar workers ask for better wages they are made to feel unpatriotic and called all kinds of names.

How can the government justify this travesty when you have locals who are qualified for this position?

That is a "business expense" for the company (Guysuco).

Is there anything that these parasites would do that would not meet with your liking? The company is failing and if there is a need for management that need is for full time staff not another part time hack demanding an expense account to boot.

when i read this shit i could not belive this i know the ppp is low but this is past low this is downright stupit.man as a indian guyanese i can tell you this the ppp goverment have to be kick out of that country or in fact i say hang the mother ****ers

Give a reasonable explanation why you would want a legitimate government to be hang for doing something that is legal?

when i read this shit i could not belive this i know the ppp is low but this is past low this is downright stupit.man as a indian guyanese i can tell you this the ppp goverment have to be kick out of that country or in fact i say hang the mother ****ers

Give a reasonable explanation why you would want a legitimate government to be hang for doing something that is legal?

Bhai, Ah SHIT Head yuh talkin to.