Reply to "Relgion and Ego"

antabanta posted:

What gives one person the right to arbitrarily dictate hellfire and damnation for the "crime" of belonging to a different belief system? Is it ego that compels one person, because of their "superior" belief, to condemn another because of an "inferior" belief - my god is better than your god, making you less?

When someone jumps and shouts out their epiphany to the world, should the world care because this person is now important? Is that what all this religious sermonizing is about? Broadcasting your importance for supposedly having a communion with god?

Any thoughts?

If we had the answer that, much of the wars would have been prevented. A few years ago I was speaking with my father, I can't remember what exactly about, but he mentioned something about a belief in Judaism. I was much younger then and hot blooded so I asked if he was saying that he believed in Judaism. His answer was, "not at all but let me ask you a question". "You're a Muslim right?", to which I answered indignantly ,"YES". He pointed a man at the corner and said, "let's say that man isn't a muslim, do you believe that because he doesn't believe what you believe he has no god?". I had no response. That question answered volumes. True Religion comes from within. I believe that what we know as religion was created by man to control man and to also impose their will. How much of what was seen as visions and being touched by god can now be explained by modern day medicine? The Honourable Robert Nester Marley was asked if he believed in the bible. He smiled and asked which bible, the King James's bible which has been translated over the years? He added, "meh shore when dem translate dat bible dem nah translate fuh deh benefit of deh blackman". How much of what we are told and taught is true and true according to who?