Reply to ""Myth" Indians were Second Class Citizens under the PNC."

Zed posted:

Django's level of intelligence amazes me.

First, it is a personal feeling that the individual has. How can he hope to prove it wrong in the absence of that individual saying it doesn't exist in his/her  consciousness. 

Second. It is also a collective feeling. Collectively, Indo-Guyanese have innumerable anecdotal evidence to justify the statement that they felt and were second class citizens during the PNC/Burnham dictatorship. Many stories recounted here. And many others had the same experiences. I have my own experiences which I will not share because I have moved on and do not want to get into back and forth. Do not have the time. 

Third, through acts of commission and omission, the PNC/Burnham dictatorship encouraged acts of discrimination, violence, victimization, disenfranchment against Indo-Guyanese collectively and individually. I vividly remember Burnham giving a speech in one of his support areas to the effect that they searched for the gold, look who wears it and he does not have to tell them what to do to get it back. 

If one looks  there might be some  data to indicate what happened. However, much if the data was generated by the government and their agencies so were suspect. Who has the courage to tell the dictator that he was wearing no clothes?

There were acts of commission by a variety of actors. First, by  the government through its many departments. Second, The PNC as a party which became synonomous with the government and the state. Third, as the PNC/Burnham dictatorship gained control over the commanding heights of the economy, through these agencies. Fourth, through the military -the GDF which became an arm of the PNC and which committed overt and covert acts of violence and intimidation. Fifth,  the Guyana Police Force which also became an arm of the PNC. Sixth, The quasi-military National Service. Seventh, the agencies that the PNC/Burnham dictatorship set up such as the KSI, as it solidified the dictatorship. Seventh, various groups which it co-opted and they became shells to create a facade of representation. Eight, the international community, which for a long time closed their eyes and mouths to what was happening in Guyana. Nine, many Indian-Guyanese who drank the soup and helped to create a facade of inclusiveness. Tenth, as my brother keeps reminding me, the Indian-guyanese themselves because many were timid, unwilling, , intimidated, scared  to take action to protect their rights, "biah, a wah abe go du?" attitude.

Well said Zed. 

The Indians always felt they had more to loose than a Blackman...Family Stability .