Reply to "Lemme tickle allyuh brain"

Originally Posted by Mars:

Good morning.

Who wants to be a movie star? Yes, you can.

Gilbakka once auditioned for the movie Anmol Bandhan. The auditioner played he was shooting G and told him to drop dead. G didn't drop the way the man wanted so he lost a role.

Anyway, let's move on to our quiz today.

Up to the 1970s Hope Estate on East Coast Demerara was a coconut plantation owned by the Sankar family. The workers in that plantation lived in logies. In the 1960s a young man from one of those logies travelled to Hollywood in the USA to pursue his dream. As it turned out, he got roles in five movies between 1969 and 1980. One of them was Adios Sapata [1970] starring Oscar winning actor Yul Brynner. What is the name of that Guyanese young man?

Joseph Persaud.

Correct. Joseph P. Persaud. He played the role of Gitano, a Mexican revolutionary in Adios Sapata.

Joseph Persaud was the character Juanito in the 1969 movie Burn starring Marlon Brando.

In the 1972 movie A Reason to Live, A Reason to Die starring James Coburn and Telly Savalas, JPP played the role as Apache.

In the 1980 movie Zombie Holocaust JPP acted as Cannibal Orderly.

In the movie Paths of War, he was an Indian Chief.

Here is a pic of Joseph P. Persaud as Apache:

http://www.wearysloth.com/Gallery/ActorsP/57786.gif

And here he is:

http://www.kino-teatr.ru/acter/foto/euro/349910.jpg

Congrats, Mars!!

Riya had the correct answer before I did. The one day I see a quiz before anybody answers it and I give the correct answer. Lo and behold, dem girls are quick on the draw.

My father in law was an actor in his younger days and had a part in the 1951 Hollywood production of the classic novel Native Son.