Reply to "How Guyana can end it's racial Problem in 2020 and beyond."

VVP posted:
VVP posted:

We don't trust each other and one can see this right here in NYC where black and Indian Guyanese have almost nothing to do with each other.  We don't live under Granger or Jagdeo and yet ethnic mistrust still dominates, to the point where this is highly noticeable even to non Caribbean people.

Speak fuh yuhself cuz. My Guyanese friends are just that, Guyanese. There are quite a few Guyanese working where I work both Indo and Afro and I have yet to see any sort of clannishness or the like. And I am speaking about people from recent college graduates to people close to retirement. I suppose it's all about how you feel and how you treat people. If you think someone is different or inferior or however else you may envision them, then you're very likely to see that sentiment reciprocated.  

Never had a problem with Afro Guyanese over here.  I have met many in social and working environment and they have all been helpful.  The distrust between races were created by politics.  Prior to the 1960s there was not that much distrust.

I disagree.

Indians rarely socialize with Blacks, perhaps bcz what was implied about their backwardness. ie in the early days of vacating the logies

Do not forget, Black people in BG were highly socialized and uppity, even the lowly ones. And many young Indians in the 40's and 60's who mingled outside of the logie communities picked many sociable traits from Black people.

Never had problem at UG with Afro class mates.  We used to socialize heavily...meaning drink rum at the rum shops on UG road 

Ole man used to drink at a rum shop on UG road, left side when yuh going in. Had a Copra mill at the side.