Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Armed bandits invade #46 grocery shop

–  Elderly couple traumatized

An elderly couple running a grocery store along the Number 46 public road was yesterday

Robbed: Kumarie Kamaldeo

afternoon traumatised by two armed men demanding cash and jewellery.

Brandishing a gun and a knife, the intruders tied up the couple during the 20-minute ordeal. The robbery took place at around 13:30 hrs.

Fifty-seven year-old Kumarie Kamaldeo told reporters that she was in the bottom flat with her husband Kamaldeo, 58, when the men entered the premises under the pretence of being customers.

“One come up to me with a knife and seh don’t scream, don’t mek no noise or me guh bore yuh”.

She said that she attempted to get up, but was pushed to the floor and told not to move.

“Dem tell me nah scream or dem guh shoot we and kill we. Den dem tek de tape and tape meh two hand and mouth and he shove meh ah ground again,” she recounted.

The woman recalled that the men then demanded cash and jewellery while also holding her husband at gunpoint.

“Me show dem weh de money deh and me tell dem it get $10,000 upstairs, but dem tell

The couple’s grocery store.

me how me got to get more jewellery”.

At that point she handed over her two gold rings and a bangle she was wearing at the time. Kamaldeo related that she and her husband pleaded with the men to not kill them.

One of the perpetrators then tied up her husband while the other escorted her to the upper flat in search of more valuables.

“Me tell dem tek wha’eva dem want,” she said.

By that time a customer had ventured into the shop, but the two victims were not allowed to speak while they were tied up and hidden in the house. The customer eventually left.

The woman told Kaieteur News that only one of the men was masked, and both kept asking her if she knew them – she told them no.

After robbing the couple, the men left them tied up and calmly walked out the yard. Not long after, another customer came in and they managed to alert him. They were subsequently untied and the police were contacted.

The men reportedly escaped with $43,000 in local currency, jewellery, and $22,000 in phone cards.

Investigations are continuing.

Someone pointed to me that she might be related to Mr. Ramotar.