Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

No. 2 Village woman choked and robbed; suspect apprehended

A 50-year-old woman was yesterday morning at approximately 8:30 am robbed and harassed by her fellow villager.
Savita Kellawan aka ‘Lalita’ of Lot 126 Lord Street, No. 2 Village is nursing minor injuries to her throat after she was choked by a fellow villager who is a known character in the process of him committing a robbery on her.
The woman who lives with her husband and 92-year-old mother, told this publication that she had just returned home and was about to fix breakfast for herself and mother in the kitchen when she noticed her neighbour.
“Me see me neighbour and me know he does thief but me never thought he woulda do something to me. He come natural as ever but he had a cutlass in his hands and he come straight to me in the kitchen and vice (choke) me with the cutlass in the other hand.”
The woman stated that the man demanded cash and jewellery and threatened to kill her if she did not cooperate. She explained that he then threw her on a bed that was about a foot away from where she was standing.
She said that he and continued choking her while demanding the cash and jewellery. She eventually agreed and ventured to the upper flat while he followed.
“Me go upstairs and inside one ah meh husband shirt pocket me had in a envelope US$90 and $10 Cayman.
Me come downstairs in the hall and inside a cabinet meh had a gold purse with my mother bangle, a gold chain and a gold band. He see the cell phone and I give he all and he gone with it”, Kellawan disclosed.
The woman stated that she immediately contacted the police who arrived minutes later. The suspect was eventually caught at the Canje Bridge Entrance, Palmyra with the stolen cash and jewellery. He was arrested and taken into police custody.
The suspect has been identified as Clifton Ramsarran, aka ‘Witch’ of No 2 Village, he was previously before the courts for break and enter and larceny.
Kellawan was taken to the New Amsterdam Hospital for a medical examination, treated and sent away. She sustained minor lacerations to the throat.