Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Woman narrowly escapes death after lover attacks her with cutlass

An injured Melissa Durga yesterday

Thirty-six year-old Melissa Durga narrowly escaped death yesterday morning after her 59-year-old lover, allegedly attempted to murder her. The incident is believed to have occurred sometime around 04:30 hrs at the couple’s property, lot 79 Walton Hall, Essequibo Coast.
Neighbours said that the man has a reputation in his community of being abusive towards his neighbours and wife.
Durga, who is from the Pomeroon, said that she had been sharing a relationship with the man for a number of years, and although she bore two children for him they never got married. She noted however that the relationship recently became abusive, as such she left for the Pomeroon.
Durga said that she only came back on Monday last to spend Easter with her children. She said that she had no intentions of getting back with the man. The woman said that she recommended they sleep in different rooms, “I tell he that I gun sleep with the two girls downstairs and he can sleep upstairs ’cause I brought my other daughter to see her brother and sister.”
Durga said that on that night, the man was very insistent that they have sex, “he come downstairs two time and try fuh hug me, and I push he off and tell he don’t bother me”.
She said she fell asleep and he came back a third time. She was then awakened by a sharp strike to her back, “after he hit me in me back I jump out me sleep, and when I watch I see he standing over me with a cutlass in he hand. He tried to chop me neck, but he miss and chop me cross me face, when I feel the blood I start pass out but I barely make it to find the door and run through.”
At that time Durga had already had alerted her children and they fled the premises running approximately 400 metres into Paradise village screaming for help. She said that the only person that came out to her aid was her assailant’s aunt. She managed to stop a passing taxi and her daughters rushed her to the Suddie hospital.
Police went to pick up the man from his property sometime around 06:00 hrs yesterday. When they arrived on the scene, they discovered that he had ingested what was believed to be a poisonous substance from a bottle located next to him. He was rushed to the Suddie hospital and immediately treated. He was later taken into police custody.
Durga suffered chop wounds to her fingers and across her face with minor lacerations on her back. Her condition is currently listed as stable.