Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Gunmen escape with DVR after robbing goldsmith

– “Bandit mek I making fish cake and egg ball to pay 2012 debt” – victim

Armed bandits escaped with over $500,000 in cash and 90 pennyweight of gold after robbing a goldsmith at his Lot 160 Uitvlugt, West Coast Demerara home around 14:00 hrs last Friday.
The three armed bandits attacked 35-year-old Seenan Deru and tied his uncle, Radha Krishna Chandra while demanding cash and gold.
According to information received, the three men called out for Deru, the goldsmith, and told him that they wanted to make a band, similar to what one of the suspects was wearing.
When Deru went into his workshop for a scale to weigh the band, one of the men confronted him with a gun.
Deru’s aunt, Toolsidas Chandra said that her husband, Radha Krishna Chandra left their home to go visit her nephew. Deru’s workshop is located at the back of his home.
Chandra said that Deru left her husband in the workshop and went over to a shop next door to purchase something. On exiting the shop to go home, he saw two men in front of his yard calling out for “the goldsmith.”
“He (Deru) said that one of the guys tell him that he wants to make a band that is similar to the one he wearing so he (nephew) tell him to come in and wait under the house while he go for the scale,” Chandra said.
The woman explained that when her nephew returned with the scale, one of the men told him that he had something to show him and pulled out a gun from his pocket.
“He (bandit) put my nephew to lie down and then he see my husband in the workshop and they tied him up. They took him upstairs and ask him where the gold and money were, but my husband tell them that he didn’t live there,” the woman said.
She further related that one of the bandits returned downstairs and took her nephew up in the house and demanded money and gold.
“My nephew gave them the money and gold and they took other things like phone and the DVR,” the woman related.
A frustrated Chandra said that she reported the matter but the police failed to contact her with any developments.
“This is three times we get robbed. Bandit mek I making fish cake and egg ball to pay out my debts in 2012 when they robbed us,” Chandra said. She explained that after being robbed so many times, she moved from her home and gave her business to her nephew to run.
Divisional Commander, Leslie James could not be reached for a comment on the status of the investigation.