Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Gunmen rob Clonbrook supermarket

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
You Gou Supermarket which was robbed Monday night was still doing business yesterday (photo by Samuel Maughn)

GUNMEN stormed the Chinese operated ‘You Gou Supermarket’ at Clonbrook, East Coast Demerara, and carted off hundreds of thousands of dollars Monday night.
The proprietors of the business, Chinese nationals, had opened the countryside supermarket months ago, but this is the first time it had been attacked by robbers. An employee of ‘You Gou Supermarket’ Angela said she was attending to a customer around 20:40 hours when three masked men carrying guns showed up.

Two friends – Rajesh and Sherman were sitting at a table on the lawns of the supermarket and Sherman walked into the store and ordered another round of Guinness. “I was in the cooler (freezer) at the said time because a boy come and he buy some Guinness…when I pack this thing back, the man (Rajesh) outside who went outside sitting down, all me see a man coming in with he, put the gun on the man and bringing he in the supermarket. And say ‘everybody on the floor don’t move’,” Angela recalled.

She said a quick thought of securing her wedding band came and she hid the ring. “When I see that, by time I see he I had on these things right and I slipped off these things and pelt it in the cooler… and then I lie down on the ground,” she said showing the Guyana Chronicle reporter three rings on her finger.
Angela’s husband, who was also in the supermarket at the time, was already lying face down on the floor after the gunmen ordered everybody down. There were at least two other employees at the supermarket and some customers. The men began tumbling for money but when they found only about over a hundred thousand dollars, they began to shout and display threatening behavior.

“When they came in and they start to tumble up and they find some money, they ask whey the rest of money deh, and they seh ‘you come here cause you working here’. Whey the money is? I say wha yuh see there that is all the money because we buy a lot of stocks today and that is all the money.”
It was then that they robbed her husband of a gold ring he was wearing and a mobile phone. However, both their wedding bands were on her hands and she was able to save them. They also robbed Sherman of his mobile phone and car keys.

But the bandits refused to leave with the money and items they had and demanded more, placing a gun to her chest. “When they start to pull out the money, they say this can never be all the money. They ask for the chest in which the money is hid. So when the Chinee girl see that they put the gun on my stomach and say ‘you need to tell we whey the money deh’, she raise up the black thing so that they could tek out the rest.”

Though the exact sum of money is undisclosed, she said it would amount to hundreds of thousands of dollars. Angela said she had since been traumatized and is afraid to work again after realizing how easily both she and husband could have lost their lives. “This morning they call me back because the CID went here and when they start run back the footage and so on, like me whole body just get cold,” she said, confirming reports that she also fainted.
Meanwhile, the woman’s husband told the Guyana Chronicle he was sitting closer to the cashier when he saw his wife’s facial expression changed. He knew then that something was amiss.

“Me see she turn and watch and she skin up she eye…. That is when the gunman bring Rajesh inside wid the gun… the man seh ‘nobody move, everybody lie down flat’ and me throw down meself. And then them carry she to the cashier and seh ‘you, you know whey the chess deh’. Me lie down deh and me nah know wha go on after that,” he explained.
They said the men carried both big and small guns.

“Them man had big gun. It look like them AK. One of them had a big gun and the rest had small gun.” After collecting the booty, the men ran into a parked white car in which one other man, the driver, was waiting, and they sped north out of the Ann’s Grove/Cloonbrook road. A customer and one of the proprietors of the supermarket ran and cried for help and the police were called. Police have collected video footage of the robbery and are investigating the matter.