Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Guard chopped to death at Bladen Hall store

A FATHER of three was chopped to death while securing the premises of his employer at Best Buy Hardware Store at Bladen Hall, East Coast Demerara (ECD) Wednesday night. Dead is Abdul Sattaur Kadir, 53, of 389 Ninth Street, Foulis ECD. Police disclosed that about 22:45hrs Wednesday, Kadir, a security guard, was on duty at the Best Buy Hardware Store when he challenged two men who had entered the compound from the back.

Best Buy Hardware Store where Kadir worked and was killed at the rear of the building.

During the struggle, he was attacked by the men who dealt him several chops about his body with cutlasses. The bandits escaped and Kadir was taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival.
In an interview with this publication, the dead man’s wife Maureen Kadir said her son received a phone call Wednesday night with the dreadful news.
“He come and wake me up and tell me answer the phone so I tell him boy I don’t want to answer any phone. He then tell me it important and when meh get up and answer the phone, them tell meh my husband get chopped up and he gone to the hospital,” the tearful woman said.
She said it was after midnight and her son called a taxi and they rushed down to Kadir’s workplace only to be told that he was not there and was at the hospital.
“All I see there was police, they tell me the man was chopped up and he gone to the hospital. They said he get chopped in his head and arms like if he was blocking the chops,” Mrs. Kadir said in tears.
She explained that her husband had started working at the general store last year and never complained of a problem or attack before.
In an emotional state, Mrs. Kadir said: “They [police] need to find these people because my husband was a good and loving person who take care of his family and he didn’t deserve to die like that. They didn’t take nothing from him, they just chop he up and kill he. The President needs to put things in place to catch people who do these things.”
The police are expanding their dragnet in order to capture the assailants.