Reply to "Berbice Bridge, CLICO investments were “criminal” – Finance Minister"

Originally Posted by TK:
Originally Posted by Zed:

Look at these corrupt, incompetent thieves cannot even run the nation's affairs and the talking about the bridge financing.  If it was "criminal", then bring charges you fools.

The investment was made with the hope that it will realize a profit to the BIS. How is this criminal. This is a stretch by the minister. Look how many governments and citizens invested in CLICO. Look what is happening to the stock market. Lots of pension money is invested there.  The mismanagement of the economy and the NIS und the PNC dictatorship is now going to cause problems because many of the people who entered the work force during the dictatorship are now starting to collect their benefits.

It is not as simple as that. You cannot put all your eggs - let alone the eggs of the country's pensioners - in one basket. CLICO was one basket. Yes, I say invest on stock market as an individual. I do it and my returns are quite handsome. But if you are in charge of the people's pensions you cannot put it all in one basket. You've got to find a fund that max returns and min risk. It was indeed reckless, although not criminal. The problem with you Indos like Baseman is you feel all it takes to run a country is to be a good hustler, huckster and smuggler. It turns out that things like investing require nuff nuff nuff book sense and market research. Aluh screw up NIS...and imperil the welfare of the poor. Then again...that is criminal!!

How do you rate the risks of a Govt back-stop national infrastructure, basically backed by the nation's taxpayers?  If it's criminal, then a law was broken so make the case in court. 

Regarding baseman and huckster/hussler, well tell me how datt wuk, have no clue except seeing "Cheap-Street".  If I remember well, "hucksteering" rise under the PNC.

LOL! Same thing ah sey!! Jagdeo teach aluh good...just say or write something...whether nonsense the masses will not get it. Just mek nuff noise.

I asked you a question, how do you rate the riskiness of a Govt backed piece of national infrastructure, regardless of Govt.  Baseman never was a "student" of the PPP or any political personality in Guyana.